SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2692 (Misses Dress or Gown)

22 more reviews
Viewed 847 times 
Reviewed by:mesewlot
photo

 
 
About mesewlotstar
GA USA
Member since: 4/2/09
Reviews written: 59
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 58
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/21/10 9:00 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jonni Angel said...
...I actually think reading the other reviews that this dress would be better in a knit fabric! I'm going to be using this pattern again soon, and I agree with some of the other reviews that when you make it from a woven fabric, you have to make quite a few adjustments. I will be making mine out of knit fabric and I think I will make it 2 sizes smaller... I will let you know what happens!! ha ha!
1/4/11 2:00 PM
mesewlot said...
Thanks Wordnerd, I wish I could give you a special tip, but it was truly trial and error. I just refitted the dresses to their actual bodies and went from there. The dresses were huge. I would say anywhere from 2-3" too big. So, I just repinned and restitched. One big thing to note is this pattern does not call for knit fabric, but, I thought by cutting to exact body measurements, then taking the normal seam allowances would do the trick, WRONG ANSWER. Ao, I guess a good tip here would be, don't use a knit fabric for a pattern that doesn't call for it. I would love to hear other's perspective on this...I'm ever learning. Thanks!
7/27/10 5:17 PM
WordNerd said...
Thank you for your review! I'm using this pattern (view E) for my mother's dress for my daughter's wedding. It looks comfortable, and even more so in the slinky knit you used. I had to laugh when I read how large the dresses turned out. We (sewing moms) used that fabric for show choir dresses and swore we'd never use it again, it stretches and wiggled all over the place! We had to pin the girls in for their dress rehearsal! You did such a fantastic job working with a difficult fabric, you should post your sewing tips!!
7/27/10 2:49 PM
mesewlot said...
Thanks ladies! @ Eyeadaba, I've added a link to more pictures, just waiting for clearance from PR. Once there, watch the slideshow.
7/23/10 0:48 AM
Karendee said...
Beautiful dresses and women. I am sure this was a lovely wedding.
7/22/10 5:30 PM
Eyeadaba said...
What a stunning bridal party! These ladies surely know how to 'strike a pose'. The imperial purple is a wonderful colour that complements each bridesmaid so perfectly! Great job with the dresses, I really like the how this dress looks with the sleeve added. Very stylish. More pics please! with such a stunning bridal party, the bride must have looked amazing! Well done. Can't wait to see your version.
7/22/10 4:23 PM
ggf2005 said...
dare i say it...AWESOME!
7/22/10 1:17 PM
carolynw said...
You sure tackled ths head on and came out a winner. Dresses fit beautifully and all the ladies look divine!!
7/22/10 9:10 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Beautifully done. What a huge challenge; you're so brave. My compliments to the bride. The dresses and colors are pretty and sophisticated. And not a bow or ruffle in sight.
7/22/10 0:49 AM
mesewlot said...
Thanks everybody!
7/22/10 0:36 AM
candicer said...
I love these dresses! A different look for bridesmaids - which I am always for! Anything other than traditional! The colors are beautiful and they fit beautifully as well!
7/21/10 11:08 PM
Levone said...
Gorgeous! This is such a different look, I love these.
7/21/10 11:02 PM
Amy-may said...
Love 'em! Good job making fitting adjustments at the last minute, they look great!
7/21/10 10:30 PM
ClaireEmily said...
Wow! Amazing dresses. The girls look beautiful.
7/21/10 10:22 PM
Karen Easter said...
Very beautiful!
7/21/10 9:54 PM
persevering said...
What beautiful dresses and they fit each person so well! Congratulations!
7/21/10 9:25 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Butterick 5057

photo
by: RadarRadia...

Review

Pattern

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

More Info
Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

More Info