Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2692 (Misses Dress or Gown) thumbsup - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 820 times 21 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:mesewlot
photo
About mesewlotstar
GA USA
Member since: 4/2/09
Reviews written: 59
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 58
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/21/10 9:00 PM


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $17.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
persevering said...
What beautiful dresses and they fit each person so well! Congratulations!
7/21/10 9:25 PM
Karen Easter said...
Very beautiful!
7/21/10 9:54 PM
ClaireEmily said...
Wow! Amazing dresses. The girls look beautiful.
7/21/10 10:22 PM
Amy-may said...
Love 'em! Good job making fitting adjustments at the last minute, they look great!
7/21/10 10:30 PM
Levone said...
Gorgeous! This is such a different look, I love these.
7/21/10 11:02 PM
candicer said...
I love these dresses! A different look for bridesmaids - which I am always for! Anything other than traditional! The colors are beautiful and they fit beautifully as well!
7/21/10 11:08 PM
mesewlot said...
Thanks everybody!
7/22/10 0:36 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Beautifully done. What a huge challenge; you're so brave. My compliments to the bride. The dresses and colors are pretty and sophisticated. And not a bow or ruffle in sight.
7/22/10 0:49 AM
carolynw said...
You sure tackled ths head on and came out a winner. Dresses fit beautifully and all the ladies look divine!!
7/22/10 9:10 AM
ggf2005 said...
dare i say it...AWESOME!
7/22/10 1:17 PM
Eyeadaba said...
What a stunning bridal party! These ladies surely know how to 'strike a pose'. The imperial purple is a wonderful colour that complements each bridesmaid so perfectly! Great job with the dresses, I really like the how this dress looks with the sleeve added. Very stylish. More pics please! with such a stunning bridal party, the bride must have looked amazing! Well done. Can't wait to see your version.
7/22/10 4:23 PM
Karendee said...
Beautiful dresses and women. I am sure this was a lovely wedding.
7/22/10 5:30 PM
mesewlot said...
Thanks ladies! @ Eyeadaba, I've added a link to more pictures, just waiting for clearance from PR. Once there, watch the slideshow.
7/23/10 0:48 AM
WordNerd said...
Thank you for your review! I'm using this pattern (view E) for my mother's dress for my daughter's wedding. It looks comfortable, and even more so in the slinky knit you used. I had to laugh when I read how large the dresses turned out. We (sewing moms) used that fabric for show choir dresses and swore we'd never use it again, it stretches and wiggled all over the place! We had to pin the girls in for their dress rehearsal! You did such a fantastic job working with a difficult fabric, you should post your sewing tips!!
7/27/10 2:49 PM
mesewlot said...
Thanks Wordnerd, I wish I could give you a special tip, but it was truly trial and error. I just refitted the dresses to their actual bodies and went from there. The dresses were huge. I would say anywhere from 2-3" too big. So, I just repinned and restitched. One big thing to note is this pattern does not call for knit fabric, but, I thought by cutting to exact body measurements, then taking the normal seam allowances would do the trick, WRONG ANSWER. Ao, I guess a good tip here would be, don't use a knit fabric for a pattern that doesn't call for it. I would love to hear other's perspective on this...I'm ever learning. Thanks!
7/27/10 5:17 PM
Jonni Angel said...
...I actually think reading the other reviews that this dress would be better in a knit fabric! I'm going to be using this pattern again soon, and I agree with some of the other reviews that when you make it from a woven fabric, you have to make quite a few adjustments. I will be making mine out of knit fabric and I think I will make it 2 sizes smaller... I will let you know what happens!! ha ha!
1/4/11 2:00 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2008-133 Men's hoodie
photo
Review by crisford on 9/20/09
Read Review

Butterick 4110 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Butterick 4110 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6699 Pattern
New Look 6699 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2599 Dresses
photo
Review by 2BSewing on 5/30/05
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Classic Footed Pajamas Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Classic Footed Pajamas Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cool Cowl Tank
Cool Cowl Tank

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern
Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us