Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4712 (Men's Banded Collar Shirt) thumbsup - Type:Mens - Shirts    printable version
Viewed 472 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 120 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/23/10 3:22 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
I love the trim look of this vintage pattern on your trim self.
7/23/10 5:05 PM
FreyaStark said...
A superb shirt. Well done.
7/23/10 6:59 PM
Maree P said...
I really like your shirt Peter, classic styling.
7/23/10 7:54 PM
barebear said...
It looks awesome Peter! Classy shirt.
7/23/10 8:05 PM
MarthaH said...
Great shirt! Your sewing is lovely.
7/23/10 8:27 PM
RLL said...
Very classic and nicely made shirt. Who couldn't use a classic white shirt?
7/23/10 8:42 PM
Snoo said...
Very, very nice fitting shirt. I agree with your feelings toward iron on interfacing. The only iron on kind I ever use is the woven fabric type. It seems to do okay for me.
7/23/10 8:50 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks, all! Yeah, I'll use the weft weight interfacing from time to time, Snoo, and that's about it.
7/23/10 9:21 PM
Annette1 said...
VERY nicely done both in FIT and CONSTRUCTION. That PLACKET is just beautiful! :o)
7/23/10 11:45 PM
paulakiss said...
What a fabulous shirt! It looks so professional and tailored! Very sexy... even with those pants which I love! Thanks for the tips. Your review makes me want to sew one for my hubby!
7/24/10 1:34 AM
valerie sews said...
Lovely classic white shirt. I admired the placket/cuff too!
7/24/10 2:00 AM
tess said...
Your shirt looks great, Peter, will you be posting a photo of Michael in his?
7/24/10 7:23 AM
Rhoda K said...
A beautiful and well made shirt! I love the style.
7/24/10 7:25 AM
carolynw said...
Great looking shirt - cool, casual and elegant!!
7/24/10 9:33 AM
frame said...
great sleeve placket
7/24/10 10:33 AM
Mahler said...
Wonderful shirt, eXcellent sewing skills !
7/24/10 11:33 AM
pterion said...
Great looking shirt, Peter! Beautiful job on those sleeve plackets.
7/24/10 6:43 PM
Jolet said...
Great shirt, very special because of the specific collar. Like you stated: cool and not too casual! Worthwhile making it again. You did a great job regarding the plackets!
7/25/10 9:20 AM
AuntieShel said...
This shirt is amazing. Impeccable sewing. Love that fabric. While I found some good deals on fabric in the garment district, none were as great as yours. Where do you go? Had to comment on that pattern envelope--so very 70's!!!
7/25/10 10:21 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Kashi at Metro Textiles (265 W 37th, 9th Fl) has great mens shirting for $4/ yd. Even cheaper is H&M @ 257 W. 39th -- cotton prints and solids are $2/yd, always. A lot of it is good quality too.
7/25/10 1:28 PM
dilucentelj said...
I love this shirt! Clean lines, simple but elegant styling...and nicely sewn! Great job!
7/26/10 3:24 PM
Hilary said...
This turned out great, both ways-with only the collar stand and with the added collar. I love that this pattern has both a knit and a woven shirt-its a very versatile pattern (now if i can manage to grade up from a size 40 to an XXL for my tall broad shouldered hubby :oP). Thanks for another very helpful review!
8/14/12 6:45 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Oliver + S OS001TP
photo
Review by Cristinagf on 11/27/11
Read Review

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern
SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Peplum Top Digital Pattern
Salme Peplum Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Just a Tank Top Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Just a Tank Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2896
photo
Review by reethi on 5/18/09
Read Review

Simplicity 2154 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 2154 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1360 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 1360 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us