SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4712 (Men's Banded Collar Shirt)

7 more reviews
Viewed 479 times 
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo

 
 
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/23/10 3:22 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
I love the trim look of this vintage pattern on your trim self.
7/23/10 5:05 PM
FreyaStark said...
A superb shirt. Well done.
7/23/10 6:59 PM
Maree P said...
I really like your shirt Peter, classic styling.
7/23/10 7:54 PM
barebear said...
It looks awesome Peter! Classy shirt.
7/23/10 8:05 PM
MarthaH said...
Great shirt! Your sewing is lovely.
7/23/10 8:27 PM
RLL said...
Very classic and nicely made shirt. Who couldn't use a classic white shirt?
7/23/10 8:42 PM
Snoo said...
Very, very nice fitting shirt. I agree with your feelings toward iron on interfacing. The only iron on kind I ever use is the woven fabric type. It seems to do okay for me.
7/23/10 8:50 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks, all! Yeah, I'll use the weft weight interfacing from time to time, Snoo, and that's about it.
7/23/10 9:21 PM
Annette1 said...
VERY nicely done both in FIT and CONSTRUCTION. That PLACKET is just beautiful! :o)
7/23/10 11:45 PM
paulakiss said...
What a fabulous shirt! It looks so professional and tailored! Very sexy... even with those pants which I love! Thanks for the tips. Your review makes me want to sew one for my hubby!
7/24/10 1:34 AM
valerie sews said...
Lovely classic white shirt. I admired the placket/cuff too!
7/24/10 2:00 AM
tess said...
Your shirt looks great, Peter, will you be posting a photo of Michael in his?
7/24/10 7:23 AM
Rhoda K said...
A beautiful and well made shirt! I love the style.
7/24/10 7:25 AM
carolynw said...
Great looking shirt - cool, casual and elegant!!
7/24/10 9:33 AM
frame said...
great sleeve placket
7/24/10 10:33 AM
Mahler said...
Wonderful shirt, eXcellent sewing skills !
7/24/10 11:33 AM
pterion said...
Great looking shirt, Peter! Beautiful job on those sleeve plackets.
7/24/10 6:43 PM
Jolet said...
Great shirt, very special because of the specific collar. Like you stated: cool and not too casual! Worthwhile making it again. You did a great job regarding the plackets!
7/25/10 9:20 AM
AuntieShel said...
This shirt is amazing. Impeccable sewing. Love that fabric. While I found some good deals on fabric in the garment district, none were as great as yours. Where do you go? Had to comment on that pattern envelope--so very 70's!!!
7/25/10 10:21 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Kashi at Metro Textiles (265 W 37th, 9th Fl) has great mens shirting for $4/ yd. Even cheaper is H&M @ 257 W. 39th -- cotton prints and solids are $2/yd, always. A lot of it is good quality too.
7/25/10 1:28 PM
dilucentelj said...
I love this shirt! Clean lines, simple but elegant styling...and nicely sewn! Great job!
7/26/10 3:24 PM
Hilary said...
This turned out great, both ways-with only the collar stand and with the added collar. I love that this pattern has both a knit and a woven shirt-its a very versatile pattern (now if i can manage to grade up from a size 40 to an XXL for my tall broad shouldered hubby :oP). Thanks for another very helpful review!
8/14/12 6:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

New Look 6119

photo
by: slmstyle

Review
You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Buy Now