SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Studio Tantrum> Feliz (Feliz)

18 more reviews
Viewed 517 times 
Reviewed by:Ghainskom
photo

 
 
About Ghainskomstarstar
Member since: 12/15/08
Reviews written: 120
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 120
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/26/10 8:23 AM
Last Updated:8/17/14 12:29 PM
Project Photo:photo3

Pattern Photo:

More Info provided by Ghainskom

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
Edit:
I sew this dress for my daughter in 2010. It's still one of her favorite garments, as seen on this picture from July 2014:
Feliz 2014

Original review:
Pattern Description:
girl's party dress with apron overlay and optional back ruffles and sleeves. Adjustable width.
The Feliz party dress is an evolutive pattern that's designed to be worn as a dress the first year, as a tunic the following and altered to a skirt on the third. It kind of reminds me of a dirndl.
Happy camper
Label

Pattern Sizing:
86/18 months to 140/9 years

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
The pattern comes on paper with instructions and you can download a booklet with images here if you prefer. That's what I did and did not refer to the written instructions once. I have to say with instructions like "attach the ruffles", they're not really written for beginners. Also, the pattern does not include pattern pieces for the ruffles or doesn't tell you how to cut them la Burda i.e. by solely stating the dimensions of the pieces, neither are the "cap" sleeves. You'll have to draft those yourself.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I like the girliness, the flexibility and the twirling factor.

Fabric Used:
Embroidered cotton for the apron, polka dot cotton for the underskirt and batist for the underlining.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I replaced topstiching in almost all places with understitching. I love understitching: highly effective but invisible.
My main fabric is sheer so I underlined it with white batist.
I embellished the seams with a matching polka dot rickrack to make them stand out a bit.
I hemmed the apron part with a striped cotton bias and the underskirt with a rolled hem.
I used satin ribbon for the back knot instead of the fashion fabrics, to add some drama. I like that the width of the dress can be adjusted with that ribbon.
The dress it finished with french seams.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I will and I do.

Conclusion:
There are so many variations and embellishment possibilities to this pattern! You can make it with or without back ruffles (I'm definitely doing those next time), a hem ruffle, "cap" sleeves, embellishment buttons in the back, and the sky is the limit for any other embellishment in the front. It's insane! This is really a versatile and thought-out pattern.

Visit my blog for my other projects...

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Barbara V said...
Congratulations! What an adorable dress and creative fabric combination.
8/13/10 4:26 PM
Ghainskom said...
Thank you for your nice comments and/or for voting for this garment!
8/12/10 5:59 PM
AnneM said...
Think it will last that long? Looks like it might get a lot of wear!! Very nice.
8/6/10 9:19 PM
callmeRuth said...
Very nice! I love your fabric choice for this pattern. I have the pattern, but I'm too chicken to make it. :)
7/30/10 8:49 PM
JEF said...
Super cute and fantastic twirl factor!
7/29/10 7:15 AM
pterion said...
So cute! Beautiful work!
7/27/10 11:12 AM
Diane333 said...
Very expensive looking and soo cute.
7/27/10 8:21 AM
michalklimer said...
Love this pattern! Love the way the dress turned!
7/27/10 5:12 AM
ClaireEmily said...
That is a beautiful dress and your daughter looks very happy. I love all the trim and the fabric combinations!
7/26/10 9:35 PM
RLL said...
So incredibly adorable.....both dress and child!
7/26/10 2:05 PM
Aroura said...
What a pretty little dress, on such a pretty little girl!
7/26/10 11:50 AM
Dynamo said...
That's adorable, and your work is beautiful.
7/26/10 9:47 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Other Postcard

photo
by: Renren

Review
PerfectFuse Sheer Black

PerfectFuse Sheer Black

More Info
You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

More Info