SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1209 (Monaco Shell)

18 more reviews
Viewed 1756 times 
Reviewed by:Sew it seams
photo

 
 
About Sew it seamsstarstar
Member since: 7/15/03
Reviews written: 71
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/15/04 11:05 PM
Last Updated:5/16/04 10:21 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said...
Gigi -- I did break down and order this pattern today; Debe's and jlg's review pictures are so inspiring.
6/1/04 5:09 PM
Gigi Louis said...
This looks amazing on you! Yours looks much better than the one on the pattern envelope. I may have to break down and order it.
6/1/04 2:42 PM
AuntieShel said...
Wow, your top looks great--love the chevron effect. I, too, love this pattern! You get the tank top effect with lots more style!
5/17/04 12:54 PM
SandraB said...
I love your top Debe. Beautiful job on the matching stripes. I have toyed with the idea of getting this pattern for a while now. I think you just pushed me over the edge! I'm definitely getting it now. Thanks for a great review.
5/17/04 12:24 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Love the look. Thanks for reviewing this pattern. I have debated getting this pattern. May now decide to give it a try.
5/17/04 5:53 AM
Sew it seams said...
Deepika, I remember reading the other reviews about the armhole being large, but I like the fit of the armhole on mine. I think it may have something to do with the "stretch recovery" of the knit. As long as it recovers 100% or nearly, I think the armhole won't get too stretched out. I have been wearing this top all day and I haven't once thought about having to "adjust" it anywhere, and that is a 'plus' for me!
5/16/04 8:11 PM
Deepika said...
Debe great top! I love the chevron effect. Question: how is the armhole fit? In the other reviews it seems that its a bit loose. Did you feel that way?
5/16/04 4:58 PM
Sew it seams said...
Thanks! Rebecca, Since I bought this fabric for just a muslin, and I had never tried the Textile Studio line, I made no adjustments on this just to see how it fit. I think in the photo it looks a little tight, but it is really very comfortable. As for the V, I didn't make any adjustments to that either, but I think it looks lower because I may have it pulled down a little lower than it is supposed to be and the lycra in the fabric keeps it there, and also, the top part of the stripe is a very light pink which shows up as biege in the photo, so I it kind of looks like my skin instead of the fabric. Actually, in person, the top doesn't match the pants I'm wearing at all, but in this photo it does! I am adding one detail to my review that I think is important.
5/16/04 10:05 AM
Teri said...
Hey neighbor, your top looks great! If you ever get to Boise let me know, we could go fabric shoping:)
5/16/04 9:13 AM
SewingSusan said...
Great looking top, love the stripes and you did such a beautiful job matching them. That's a fantastic backdrop by the way.
5/16/04 8:55 AM
Rebecca D said...
Debe, this looks great! Two questions, I see from your profile that you normally make a FBA, did you do so with this pattern? Your neckline looks to be a deeper V than the pattern photo, did you make any adjustment there? Thanks for the review. By the way, I love the Santa Monica T, the neckline fit is amazing and it goes together with ease.
5/16/04 8:37 AM
JDpenelope said...
You improved upon this pattern with your bias stripes. Very original, fits perfectly, too. Isn't lycra great?
5/16/04 7:02 AM
jlg said...
Very pretty, Debe. I like the bias stripes; I think that they are very becoming on you.
5/16/04 6:49 AM
Ann Smith said...
Terrific top. Love the bias stripes and colors (and the neckline too).
5/15/04 11:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

HotPatterns 1031

photo
by: Iloverowin...

Review
McCall's 6519

photo
by: volvogirl

Review
Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

Buy Now