Online Sewing Class: Perfectly Fitted Shirt
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1209 (Monaco Shell)

18 more reviews
Viewed 1756 times 
Reviewed by:Sew it seams
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sew it seamsstarstar
Member since: 7/15/03
Reviews: 71 (patterns: 60)
Body Type:
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 40 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/15/04 11:05 PM
Last Updated:5/16/04 10:21 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said... (6/1/04 5:09 PM) Reply
Gigi -- I did break down and order this pattern today; Debe's and jlg's review pictures are so inspiring.
Gigi Louis said... (6/1/04 2:42 PM) Reply
This looks amazing on you! Yours looks much better than the one on the pattern envelope. I may have to break down and order it.
AuntieShel said... (5/17/04 12:54 PM) Reply
Wow, your top looks great--love the chevron effect. I, too, love this pattern! You get the tank top effect with lots more style!
SandraB said... (5/17/04 12:24 PM) Reply
I love your top Debe. Beautiful job on the matching stripes. I have toyed with the idea of getting this pattern for a while now. I think you just pushed me over the edge! I'm definitely getting it now. Thanks for a great review.
Danvillegirl said... (5/17/04 5:53 AM) Reply
Love the look. Thanks for reviewing this pattern. I have debated getting this pattern. May now decide to give it a try.
Sew it seams said... (5/16/04 8:11 PM) Reply
Deepika, I remember reading the other reviews about the armhole being large, but I like the fit of the armhole on mine. I think it may have something to do with the "stretch recovery" of the knit. As long as it recovers 100% or nearly, I think the armhole won't get too stretched out. I have been wearing this top all day and I haven't once thought about having to "adjust" it anywhere, and that is a 'plus' for me!
Deepika said... (5/16/04 4:58 PM) Reply
Debe great top! I love the chevron effect. Question: how is the armhole fit? In the other reviews it seems that its a bit loose. Did you feel that way?
Sew it seams said... (5/16/04 10:05 AM) Reply
Thanks! Rebecca, Since I bought this fabric for just a muslin, and I had never tried the Textile Studio line, I made no adjustments on this just to see how it fit. I think in the photo it looks a little tight, but it is really very comfortable. As for the V, I didn't make any adjustments to that either, but I think it looks lower because I may have it pulled down a little lower than it is supposed to be and the lycra in the fabric keeps it there, and also, the top part of the stripe is a very light pink which shows up as biege in the photo, so I it kind of looks like my skin instead of the fabric. Actually, in person, the top doesn't match the pants I'm wearing at all, but in this photo it does! I am adding one detail to my review that I think is important.
Teri said... (5/16/04 9:13 AM) Reply
Hey neighbor, your top looks great! If you ever get to Boise let me know, we could go fabric shoping:)
SewingSusan said... (5/16/04 8:55 AM) Reply
Great looking top, love the stripes and you did such a beautiful job matching them. That's a fantastic backdrop by the way.
Rebecca D said... (5/16/04 8:37 AM) Reply
Debe, this looks great! Two questions, I see from your profile that you normally make a FBA, did you do so with this pattern? Your neckline looks to be a deeper V than the pattern photo, did you make any adjustment there? Thanks for the review. By the way, I love the Santa Monica T, the neckline fit is amazing and it goes together with ease.
JDpenelope said... (5/16/04 7:02 AM) Reply
You improved upon this pattern with your bias stripes. Very original, fits perfectly, too. Isn't lycra great?
jlg said... (5/16/04 6:49 AM) Reply
Very pretty, Debe. I like the bias stripes; I think that they are very becoming on you.
Ann Smith said... (5/15/04 11:50 PM) Reply
Terrific top. Love the bias stripes and colors (and the neckline too).
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Simplicity 1292

photo
by: Steph huck

Review
SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

Pattern Details
Lolita Patterns Olive Peplum Top Pattern

Lolita Patterns Olive Peplum Top Pattern

Pattern Details
StyleArc Sandra Narrow Leg Jean

photo
by: ScaryMerry

Review