Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Textile Studio: 1209 (Monaco Shell) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1755 times 18 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Sew it seams
photo
About Sew it seamsstarstar
MT USA
Member since: 7/15/03
Reviews written: 71
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/15/04 11:05 PM
Last Updated:5/16/04 10:21 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ann Smith said...
Terrific top. Love the bias stripes and colors (and the neckline too).
5/15/04 11:50 PM
jlg said...
Very pretty, Debe. I like the bias stripes; I think that they are very becoming on you.
5/16/04 6:49 AM
JDpenelope said...
You improved upon this pattern with your bias stripes. Very original, fits perfectly, too. Isn't lycra great?
5/16/04 7:02 AM
Rebecca D said...
Debe, this looks great! Two questions, I see from your profile that you normally make a FBA, did you do so with this pattern? Your neckline looks to be a deeper V than the pattern photo, did you make any adjustment there? Thanks for the review. By the way, I love the Santa Monica T, the neckline fit is amazing and it goes together with ease.
5/16/04 8:37 AM
SewingSusan said...
Great looking top, love the stripes and you did such a beautiful job matching them. That's a fantastic backdrop by the way.
5/16/04 8:55 AM
Teri said...
Hey neighbor, your top looks great! If you ever get to Boise let me know, we could go fabric shoping:)
5/16/04 9:13 AM
Sew it seams said...
Thanks! Rebecca, Since I bought this fabric for just a muslin, and I had never tried the Textile Studio line, I made no adjustments on this just to see how it fit. I think in the photo it looks a little tight, but it is really very comfortable. As for the V, I didn't make any adjustments to that either, but I think it looks lower because I may have it pulled down a little lower than it is supposed to be and the lycra in the fabric keeps it there, and also, the top part of the stripe is a very light pink which shows up as biege in the photo, so I it kind of looks like my skin instead of the fabric. Actually, in person, the top doesn't match the pants I'm wearing at all, but in this photo it does! I am adding one detail to my review that I think is important.
5/16/04 10:05 AM
Deepika said...
Debe great top! I love the chevron effect. Question: how is the armhole fit? In the other reviews it seems that its a bit loose. Did you feel that way?
5/16/04 4:58 PM
Sew it seams said...
Deepika, I remember reading the other reviews about the armhole being large, but I like the fit of the armhole on mine. I think it may have something to do with the "stretch recovery" of the knit. As long as it recovers 100% or nearly, I think the armhole won't get too stretched out. I have been wearing this top all day and I haven't once thought about having to "adjust" it anywhere, and that is a 'plus' for me!
5/16/04 8:11 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Love the look. Thanks for reviewing this pattern. I have debated getting this pattern. May now decide to give it a try.
5/17/04 5:53 AM
SandraB said...
I love your top Debe. Beautiful job on the matching stripes. I have toyed with the idea of getting this pattern for a while now. I think you just pushed me over the edge! I'm definitely getting it now. Thanks for a great review.
5/17/04 12:24 PM
AuntieShel said...
Wow, your top looks great--love the chevron effect. I, too, love this pattern! You get the tank top effect with lots more style!
5/17/04 12:54 PM
Gigi Louis said...
This looks amazing on you! Yours looks much better than the one on the pattern envelope. I may have to break down and order it.
6/1/04 2:42 PM
CarolynGM said...
Gigi -- I did break down and order this pattern today; Debe's and jlg's review pictures are so inspiring.
6/1/04 5:09 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 1165 Misses' Shirt
photo
Review by Ann Smith on 7/19/10
Read Review

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern
Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt
Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Hang Time Basketball Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Hang Time Basketball Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 6M- 4)
Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 6M- 4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7556 Misses DRESS
photo
Review by lqtang on 12/29/13
Read Review

Butterick 5951 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5951 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1367 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1367 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us