Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 07-2008-108 (tunic) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1032 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 338
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 283 people
patterns reviewed: 239
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/30/10 1:37 PM
Last Updated:9/28/10 4:36 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FloraNature said...
Cute top, I like the pleats, and I think the colour is lovely!!!
7/30/10 1:53 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Glad we agree, Deepika... Saw the photo and thought, "No... not very flattering on 'ya." You're TOO PRETTY to wear this top!! ;) ;)
7/30/10 1:54 PM
drsue said...
Bummer, its not a great style on you anyway.
7/30/10 2:33 PM
Knitters Delight said...
I attempted this one and it was a wadder for me too. Oh well. It was cute on others, but not for me either.
7/30/10 3:26 PM
Sue Anfang said...
I like it! (Of course I just like the top) I think the colour is great - very sophisticated looking.
7/30/10 3:49 PM
ryansmumAria said...
If nothing else, you have a great figure!
7/30/10 5:24 PM
CynthiaSue said...
so great to have the summer tunic! glad to see you sewing. great fit on your top!
7/31/10 0:12 AM
becca a said...
It is so disappointing to work on something and then have it turn out to be less than you had imagined. I love the color on you, and agree that the back shaping is flattering.
7/31/10 0:13 AM
Jali said...
I think the style would have been nicer on you with longer sleeves. The colour is very flattering on you though without a doubt.
7/31/10 0:27 AM
Terri A said...
Great review! Thanks:-)
8/1/10 2:03 PM
fuzzygalore said...
I had basically the same problems with the top than you did. But I'm beginning to think that the main thing wrong with it is that the pleat looks funny when you're looking down at it from the face, because all of them actually look pretty nice in pictures on other people... It is comfortable, perfect for summer, and the sleeve shape is very good, which are nice traits.
8/4/10 5:48 AM
arianamaniacs said...
I actually like it, and the color is lovely. I do see what you mean about the pleats pulling open though. I wonder if you'd be happier with it if you put gathers instead of pleats on the front yoke.
8/9/10 1:21 PM
Deepika said...
Thanks everyone for such encouraging comments. arianamaniacs , I love that idea! I am definitely going to sew this again and I will put gathers. Thanks!!
8/10/10 7:59 AM
MissCelie said...
You're totally right about the way the pleat opens up in the front. But, I do love this cranberry / wine color on you.
8/10/10 9:19 AM
WildWyoming said...
Deepika, I loved this pattern in the magazine too, and yours is actually really cute on you. However, your hourglass figure is probably shown to greater advantage in a top with a more defined waistline, not necessarily fitted but a curve inward at the waist. Someone made a version in drapey satin tucked it in. Perhaps a drapier fabric belted would give you an effect you like better. Still, you actually look upscale in your custom sewn non-mall bought linen top. I'd wear it out if I were you.
9/28/10 10:52 PM
carolynw said...
I love the color on you - like the way it looks from the back but this is one time I have to say I agree with the reviewer - I am not at all sold on the front. You have a lovely little figure and this does not do anything to show that off. Bummer!!
9/28/10 11:05 PM
Renren said...
I guess I have lower standards than everyone else--I think it's cute. The color, the styling, the pleat, the linen, the neckline, the back view, everything. Maybe it's a sleeper and you will come to love it?
9/29/10 0:39 AM
Deepika said...
Since I wrote this review, this top has grown on me. I have worn it many times and am now considering making another one! I guess it was a sleeper
9/29/10 9:17 AM
Vintage Joan said...
It's cute! :) Deepika, your pattern info. link (and other reviewers' links as well) is leading to an out-of-date page from someone's photo collection.
9/29/10 9:52 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Butterick 5472
photo
Review by PittyPat on 12/1/10
Read Review

Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Hide and Seek Tunic (5-12) Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Hide and Seek Tunic (5-12) Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 2002 Sewing for Beginners Wrap Skirt
photo
Review by celeste on 5/29/06
Read Review

Petite Plus 151 Pattern
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 8517 Pattern
Burda 8517 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6741 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
McCalls 6741 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us