Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1155 (Misses' Dress) - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 1054 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
Reviewed by:Carolyn.S
photo
Friend of PR
About Carolyn.Sstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 5/6/10
Reviews written: 57
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 71 people
patterns reviewed: 56
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/30/10 5:26 AM
Last Updated:11/13/10 9:56 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
53 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kimmielovesparis said...
WOW! Your dress looks just like the photo on the pattern envelope. Fabulous and edgy.
7/30/10 6:08 AM
CarolynGM said...
This is such a stunning dress! You did a great job on it.
7/30/10 6:08 AM
Rlkataja said...
Amazing Job!! looks great!
7/30/10 6:24 AM
BillieJean said...
You should be excited about wearing this. It is gorgeous. Thanks so much for the review.
7/30/10 6:32 AM
mistygirl902 said...
Stunning! Your dress looks like the high end designer dress that it is. Vogue should post your photo on their website. It would inspire other sewists to tackle this great looking pattern.
7/30/10 6:46 AM
Mazzygirl said...
oh that is just gorgeous & that colour suits your beautiful red hair so well! Looks like it was well worth the effort, what a stunning result!
7/30/10 7:05 AM
margk said...
This. Is. Lovely! Good call on the extra length.
7/30/10 7:32 AM
Re Becca said...
Stunning! You did a fabulous job on the fit and the construction!
7/30/10 7:50 AM
Nancy K said...
Gorgeous, elegant and flattering. Perfect for any formal occasion.
7/30/10 8:01 AM
carolynw said...
Not sure if I was looking at the model on the pattern envelope or you - what a terrific job you have done - IMO even better than Vogue's model!! I agree with you not interfacing all the fabric pieces - for a firm fabric with body I often omit that step and interface only the tradtion pieces
7/30/10 8:26 AM
manola6176 said...
To die for!!!!!!
7/30/10 8:57 AM
Twinset said...
Wonderful in every way! Love the lines and the originality of this beautiful dress, and it is so well executed!
7/30/10 9:18 AM
JanieBee said...
Très chic! Be proud!
7/30/10 9:23 AM
knitmachinequeen said...
Like clin I thought know I was looking at the pattern envelope! Fantastic job.
7/30/10 9:40 AM
Taarna said...
This is beautiful! Great job!
7/30/10 10:07 AM
Elke said...
Looks fabulous on you!
7/30/10 10:21 AM
Sue Anfang said...
Amazing and gorgeous!
7/30/10 11:03 AM
HLT said...
Nicely executed! I like the modern look! It looks exactly like the pattern photo!
7/30/10 12:00 PM
Lisa p said...
Wow this is a stunning dress .
7/30/10 12:15 PM
MissTaraTara said...
ROCK ON!!!!
7/30/10 1:06 PM
mylittleelephant said...
I bought this pattern while ago rather whimsically but your dress makes me feel that I got the right one, just hoping that mine will look as good as yours......you look great in it!
7/30/10 3:01 PM
annie11 said...
Beautiful! Your work is amazing!
7/30/10 4:15 PM
Amanda S. said...
Gorgeous! What a show stopper of a dress! You pull it off beautifully.
7/30/10 4:17 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Very beautiful. Your fabric selection and styling are exquisite, as well. Stunning photos. Lovely, Lily
7/30/10 5:35 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
You did a fabulous job on your gorgeous dress, and it looks great on you! By the way, looks like your loving pets like your new dress!
7/30/10 9:54 PM
rebija said...
Fantastic!
7/30/10 11:13 PM
ColorMeHome said...
You look like a million bucks!!! Well done!
7/31/10 1:52 AM
mesewlot said...
Absolutely gorgeous! And, it looks amazing on you!
7/31/10 2:12 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Gorgeous, you make me want to dig ths pattern out of my stash right now!
7/31/10 7:14 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Absolutely gorgeous!! Find/make up rendez-vous to wear this wonderful dress ;)
7/31/10 8:33 AM
kcstarr49 said...
You are incredible.
7/31/10 6:56 PM
AuntieShel said...
Wow, this is stunning!!!
8/1/10 9:51 AM
narcissaqtpie said...
All I can say is wow-wow-wow!!!!
8/2/10 11:33 AM
Handmade by Carla said...
wow!! I looked at this pattern in my stash yesterday and wondered if I would ever have the nerve to sew it. You did an amazing job! And it does look exactly like the envelope.
8/2/10 10:30 PM
salsera7 said...
You did such a great job and the dress looks wonderful on you. I have this pattern in my stash and I'm more prone now to actually make it give you review and tips.
8/19/10 1:17 PM
dukaqwn said...
How beautiful! Great job....
11/13/10 10:28 PM
Lori V said...
Fabulous.
11/13/10 10:33 PM
Elona said...
Stunning--and SO much prettier than the pattern illustration!
11/13/10 10:35 PM
Scheryka said...
No words...just ...flabberghasted.
11/13/10 11:12 PM
Nancywin said...
sorry I missed this review the first time around. This is just beautiful. Nice work.
11/13/10 11:57 PM
lamstu said...
I love this dress (I'll admit I thought it was a coat when I first saw it). I love it on you, on the envelope, in theory, in practice, in actuality.... However. I am rather curvier and ahem heavier than you and noticeably short-waisted. But I will probably have to try it anyway, because I love this dress and I love it even more after having seen your perfectly sewn and gorgeous version!
11/14/10 6:11 AM
petro said...
This looks super on you. Thanks for the review.
11/14/10 9:27 AM
DorothyK said...
Stunning!
11/14/10 9:36 AM
French.Seam said...
Great dress, great photo, great dog :)
11/14/10 9:43 AM
marec said...
So wonderful! You have a talent for marrying fabric and design perfectly. Love this dress on you.
11/14/10 11:00 AM
cloudyhn said...
So lovely...
11/14/10 1:54 PM
Catbird said...
Wonderful! I hope you have many occasions to wear it. The fabric choice is perfect.
11/14/10 3:31 PM
yummymummy38 said...
looks gorgeous, love the details, make it in a wool and it would be office appropriate, it's the shine that limits its versatility IMO
11/14/10 11:45 PM
KatiCo said...
Absolutely smashing! (And accomplished despite the feline and canine assistance--double wow!)
11/16/10 5:24 PM
Phillis2 said...
I see that the reviews are back 2010 but I just received an email for $5 sale on Vogue patters and was looking at 1155. I decided to go into Pattern Review to see if anyone did a review of this garmet and there you are. WOW! I agree that I had to go back and forth on your picture and the pattern. I couldn't tell if you were the pattern on not! You did a fantastic job. Your garmet looks as good as the pattern view. I sometimes sew Vogue and find that the steps can be more involved than necessary. It's good that I know short cuts. Your review was very helpful. Again you look great in this outfit.
2/3/12 1:51 PM
QueenZ said...
If this was the way it was presented on the envelope, I would have bought it back when. Yours looks way better, you've done a terrific job!
3/25/12 4:32 AM
pinkli said...
This is fantastic!
7/5/12 8:25 AM
morzel said...
Super gorgeous and stunning dress. WOW factor. Thanks for the hint about the slip!
9/29/12 8:24 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Simplicity 5581
photo
Review by Larisa on 6/26/13
Read Review

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )
Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7364 COORDINATES
photo
Review by nickelc624 on 6/22/13
Read Review

Simplicity 1900 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1900 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6960 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6960 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us