SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5434 ( MISSES'/WOMEN'S TOP, ROBE, BE)

2 more reviews
Viewed 276 times 
Reviewed by:Therisa
photo

 
 
About Therisastarstar
MI USA
Member since: 4/1/07
Reviews written: 138
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 117
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/30/10 3:47 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewsunny37 said...
Thanks so much for the review! You are so smart to make a muslin first. I don't do this and have made some costly mistakes.
7/30/10 7:21 PM
o3b said...
Great review. I hope Connie is able to get the problem fixed. Regardless, your phone call to her can be helpful to many people.
7/31/10 3:12 AM
FreyaStark said...
Thanks for a useful review. Obviously it's a very disappointing experience, especially given that the envelope illustration is quite appealing.
7/31/10 4:47 AM
elsew said...
What a life saver you (and PR) are...I was just looking at this pattern yesterday in the catalog and it caught my eye but I did not purchase it at the time. With the Connie Crawford name one would think it would be flawless. I particularly liked your comment about the difference in the patterns you purchased from her and the ones with her name on it from Butterick. But isn't that robe design lovely?
7/31/10 8:17 AM
AuntieShel said...
Wow, so glad you made a muslin first. Totally amazing that such a grading error could occur. Hello!
7/31/10 10:42 AM
cleverclogs said...
Thanks for the helpful review- it's always good to know when something is radically wrong with a pattern.
8/2/10 8:40 AM
cleverclogs said...
Thanks for the helpful review- it's always good to know when something is radically wrong with a pattern.
8/2/10 8:41 AM
Vintage Joan said...
I have this pattern and I'd never checked the finished measurements before. Thanks!! The same problem occurs on the size XS-XL -- the finished measurements are roughly the same as the body measurement, so for some sizes there's no ease at all... on pj's! I haven't checked the robe measurement, but I wonder if it's the same way. I guess one thing you could do is go up a size or two. Not that you should have to. What were they thinking!!
8/5/10 6:19 PM
bconky said...
I wish I had read this first I cut out in fabric and wasted material finished hip is 6" smaller than pattern hip measurement what a waste of money Arghhh
7/24/11 8:03 AM
CPhT said...
Therisa, did you every make the abayah? That is the same reason I bought this pattern! Glad I checked here for reviews first, but would love to hear how the abayah turned out.
3/21/12 7:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

McCall's 6069

photo
by: nicegirl

Review
Pants Fitting DVD

Pants Fitting DVD

Buy Now
Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Downloadable 114A Top

photo
by: DianaSewLe...

Review