Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5434 ( MISSES'/WOMEN'S TOP, ROBE, BE) - Type:Loungewear    printable version
Viewed 272 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Therisa
photo
About Therisastarstar
MI USA
Member since: 4/1/07
Reviews written: 138
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 117
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/30/10 3:47 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewsunny37 said...
Thanks so much for the review! You are so smart to make a muslin first. I don't do this and have made some costly mistakes.
7/30/10 7:21 PM
o3b said...
Great review. I hope Connie is able to get the problem fixed. Regardless, your phone call to her can be helpful to many people.
7/31/10 3:12 AM
FreyaStark said...
Thanks for a useful review. Obviously it's a very disappointing experience, especially given that the envelope illustration is quite appealing.
7/31/10 4:47 AM
elsew said...
What a life saver you (and PR) are...I was just looking at this pattern yesterday in the catalog and it caught my eye but I did not purchase it at the time. With the Connie Crawford name one would think it would be flawless. I particularly liked your comment about the difference in the patterns you purchased from her and the ones with her name on it from Butterick. But isn't that robe design lovely?
7/31/10 8:17 AM
AuntieShel said...
Wow, so glad you made a muslin first. Totally amazing that such a grading error could occur. Hello!
7/31/10 10:42 AM
cleverclogs said...
Thanks for the helpful review- it's always good to know when something is radically wrong with a pattern.
8/2/10 8:40 AM
cleverclogs said...
Thanks for the helpful review- it's always good to know when something is radically wrong with a pattern.
8/2/10 8:41 AM
Vintage Joan said...
I have this pattern and I'd never checked the finished measurements before. Thanks!! The same problem occurs on the size XS-XL -- the finished measurements are roughly the same as the body measurement, so for some sizes there's no ease at all... on pj's! I haven't checked the robe measurement, but I wonder if it's the same way. I guess one thing you could do is go up a size or two. Not that you should have to. What were they thinking!!
8/5/10 6:19 PM
bconky said...
I wish I had read this first I cut out in fabric and wasted material finished hip is 6" smaller than pattern hip measurement what a waste of money Arghhh
7/24/11 8:03 AM
CPhT said...
Therisa, did you every make the abayah? That is the same reason I bought this pattern! Glad I checked here for reviews first, but would love to hear how the abayah turned out.
3/21/12 7:41 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Burda 8627
photo
Review by PatCSM on 6/29/10
Read Review

Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern
Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Lola Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Lola Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 72819-1000 TNT Slacks
photo
Review by CTBarb on 3/23/11
Read Review

Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern
Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $22.10
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7264 Pattern
Burda 7264 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1418 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 1418 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us