SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5434 ( MISSES'/WOMEN'S TOP, ROBE, BE)

2 more reviews
Viewed 277 times 
Reviewed by:Therisa
photo

 
 
About Therisastarstar
MI USA
Member since: 4/1/07
Reviews written: 138
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 117
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/30/10 3:47 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewsunny37 said...
Thanks so much for the review! You are so smart to make a muslin first. I don't do this and have made some costly mistakes.
7/30/10 7:21 PM
o3b said...
Great review. I hope Connie is able to get the problem fixed. Regardless, your phone call to her can be helpful to many people.
7/31/10 3:12 AM
FreyaStark said...
Thanks for a useful review. Obviously it's a very disappointing experience, especially given that the envelope illustration is quite appealing.
7/31/10 4:47 AM
elsew said...
What a life saver you (and PR) are...I was just looking at this pattern yesterday in the catalog and it caught my eye but I did not purchase it at the time. With the Connie Crawford name one would think it would be flawless. I particularly liked your comment about the difference in the patterns you purchased from her and the ones with her name on it from Butterick. But isn't that robe design lovely?
7/31/10 8:17 AM
AuntieShel said...
Wow, so glad you made a muslin first. Totally amazing that such a grading error could occur. Hello!
7/31/10 10:42 AM
cleverclogs said...
Thanks for the helpful review- it's always good to know when something is radically wrong with a pattern.
8/2/10 8:40 AM
cleverclogs said...
Thanks for the helpful review- it's always good to know when something is radically wrong with a pattern.
8/2/10 8:41 AM
Vintage Joan said...
I have this pattern and I'd never checked the finished measurements before. Thanks!! The same problem occurs on the size XS-XL -- the finished measurements are roughly the same as the body measurement, so for some sizes there's no ease at all... on pj's! I haven't checked the robe measurement, but I wonder if it's the same way. I guess one thing you could do is go up a size or two. Not that you should have to. What were they thinking!!
8/5/10 6:19 PM
bconky said...
I wish I had read this first I cut out in fabric and wasted material finished hip is 6" smaller than pattern hip measurement what a waste of money Arghhh
7/24/11 8:03 AM
CPhT said...
Therisa, did you every make the abayah? That is the same reason I bought this pattern! Glad I checked here for reviews first, but would love to hear how the abayah turned out.
3/21/12 7:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

No Pattern Used couch slip cover

photo
by: Passion4Se...

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 6513

photo
by: NhiHuynh

Review