Online Sewing Class: Beyond the BoatNeck
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5484 (Misses' Top, Tunic and Dress)

8 more reviews
Viewed 459 times 
Reviewed by:tessalau
photo

 
 
About tessalaustar
Member since: 5/24/08
Reviews: 6 (patterns: 6)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/1/10 11:19 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater Knit Fabrics
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
tessalau said... (8/7/10 9:03 PM) Reply
Thanks for the comments! Can anyone suggest resources for learning to do a SBA on twist-front tops like this one? Maybe that's what I should try next.
obsessed with sewing said... (8/5/10 8:25 PM) Reply
I really like your top, it looks very good on you. Sorry you were disappointed with the results, it may not be what you were looking for but it still is very cute.
ClaireEmily said... (8/2/10 7:08 PM) Reply
I don't think it's matronly - the lovely print really lifts it. I see what you mean about lots of fabric though. =)
sewbehind said... (8/2/10 12:05 PM) Reply
I think this top looks really cute on you. Perhaps a few alterations will give it the sexier look you were going for. It is not a matronly top, though!
AuntieShel said... (8/2/10 8:37 AM) Reply
You look fabulous in your pic and I wondered about the rating you gave the pattern. Then I read your review and looked at more pics and understood the rating, but I still think this top looks great on you. (But you know the look you were after!)
marec said... (8/2/10 0:46 AM) Reply
It's a beautiful design and your fabric is terrific. That is too bad about the fit. I would guess you need to do a SBA (small bust adjustment) on some tops.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Style 2243 Vintage

photo
by: meadowclar...

Review
Pants Sewing DVD

Pants Sewing DVD

Pattern Details
SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

Pattern Details
Lekala Patterns 5018

photo
by: SewButterf...

Review