SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2942 (MISSES' JACKET, BELT AND DRESS)

2 more reviews
Viewed 329 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 273 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/2/10 3:46 PM
Last Updated:8/2/10 4:14 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gordita1616 said...
So sorry about the frustrating experience. I actually think the jacket looks nice on you, especially with the dress you are wearing underneath.
8/31/10 9:59 PM
ryansmumAria said...
I think it's wonderful and love the way it looks. Too bad you don't... I love everything you make.
8/9/10 9:32 PM
Karendee said...
I'm so glad that you showed us some of the fabulously sewn details you constructed, for I can see none on the full view review photo. Anyway, your work is lovely, as always, but I was unsure this was really you till I saw your face. LOL, at least you can join the "ranks" of the rest of us.
8/3/10 3:13 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, even when a garment is not to your liking, you STILL do such a superb job of construction. That's just ONE of your admirable qualities. :o)
8/3/10 2:22 PM
Mahler said...
oh ho ! Sounds like I will light up my fire place with my copie. Wearing it with cool jeans and a flashy t-shirt could be cool.
8/3/10 9:50 AM
Kayabunga said...
I feel your pain, Kay. The color and construction is gorgeous so good for you on what you brought to the project. It seems to me that Donna Karan and Vogue owe us an explanation ... this pattern weirdness gets tiresome!!
8/3/10 8:51 AM
carnelian said...
In the photo it's enigmatic. Brava for saying that it's a disaster. I couldn't resist buying it either. Love to read Donna Karen's explanation of this design.
8/3/10 3:00 AM
Athene said...
The underarm gusset and side seam detailing for belt insertion is gorgeous. I always enjoy viewing your expertise. It is too bad the pattern did not work out as you had hoped. I love the fabric print of the dress you have on under the jacket.
8/2/10 9:37 PM
Re Becca said...
Wow, that is quite a difference in the length. thanks for the heads up.
8/2/10 8:31 PM
Catbird said...
The way you put things makes me laugh, so I got several chuckles from this review, but what a shame that you spent your valuable sewing time on something you might not use except when you're brushing your teeth or making coffee in the morning! You'll actually look very well dressed if you use it for a robe, but I do agree that it's not your usual style. It's beautifully constructed, though, and the color is lovely!
8/2/10 8:29 PM
CarolynGM said...
Thanks to you, this one won't tempt me. The version in the pattern photo looks decidedly shorter than yours does, but as you say, both look about wrist length.
8/2/10 6:15 PM
carolynw said...
Kay thanks for the heads up - I will be honest - I looked at your photo for a long time and thought this is just not you - then I read "woud not recommend" and your trials and tribulations with this strange info/directions pattern. If it gave you this kind of headache then you bet I am not going near this little darling!! Yes move on now!! Carolyn
8/2/10 5:15 PM
Beek said...
Kay, thanks for heads up on this one. I have this pattern but never made it up. After reading your review, it's going in the trash.
8/2/10 4:55 PM
persevering said...
Thanks so much for your review. Kay after seeing and reading about your incredible success sewing, it is encouraging to me to learn that 'you can't make a silk purse out of a sow's ear' every time. Even when you have! :)
8/2/10 4:16 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

StyleArc Anthea Dress

photo
by: clothingen...

Review
Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

More Info
Petite Plus 401 Pattern

Petite Plus 401 Pattern

More Info