Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2942 (MISSES' JACKET, BELT AND DRESS) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 321 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 183
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 263 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/2/10 3:46 PM
Last Updated:8/2/10 4:14 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
persevering said...
Thanks so much for your review. Kay after seeing and reading about your incredible success sewing, it is encouraging to me to learn that 'you can't make a silk purse out of a sow's ear' every time. Even when you have! :)
8/2/10 4:16 PM
Beek said...
Kay, thanks for heads up on this one. I have this pattern but never made it up. After reading your review, it's going in the trash.
8/2/10 4:55 PM
carolynw said...
Kay thanks for the heads up - I will be honest - I looked at your photo for a long time and thought this is just not you - then I read "woud not recommend" and your trials and tribulations with this strange info/directions pattern. If it gave you this kind of headache then you bet I am not going near this little darling!! Yes move on now!! Carolyn
8/2/10 5:15 PM
CarolynGM said...
Thanks to you, this one won't tempt me. The version in the pattern photo looks decidedly shorter than yours does, but as you say, both look about wrist length.
8/2/10 6:15 PM
Catbird said...
The way you put things makes me laugh, so I got several chuckles from this review, but what a shame that you spent your valuable sewing time on something you might not use except when you're brushing your teeth or making coffee in the morning! You'll actually look very well dressed if you use it for a robe, but I do agree that it's not your usual style. It's beautifully constructed, though, and the color is lovely!
8/2/10 8:29 PM
Re Becca said...
Wow, that is quite a difference in the length. thanks for the heads up.
8/2/10 8:31 PM
Athene said...
The underarm gusset and side seam detailing for belt insertion is gorgeous. I always enjoy viewing your expertise. It is too bad the pattern did not work out as you had hoped. I love the fabric print of the dress you have on under the jacket.
8/2/10 9:37 PM
carnelian said...
In the photo it's enigmatic. Brava for saying that it's a disaster. I couldn't resist buying it either. Love to read Donna Karen's explanation of this design.
8/3/10 3:00 AM
Kayabunga said...
I feel your pain, Kay. The color and construction is gorgeous so good for you on what you brought to the project. It seems to me that Donna Karan and Vogue owe us an explanation ... this pattern weirdness gets tiresome!!
8/3/10 8:51 AM
Mahler said...
oh ho ! Sounds like I will light up my fire place with my copie. Wearing it with cool jeans and a flashy t-shirt could be cool.
8/3/10 9:50 AM
Annette1 said...
Well, even when a garment is not to your liking, you STILL do such a superb job of construction. That's just ONE of your admirable qualities. :o)
8/3/10 2:22 PM
Karendee said...
I'm so glad that you showed us some of the fabulously sewn details you constructed, for I can see none on the full view review photo. Anyway, your work is lovely, as always, but I was unsure this was really you till I saw your face. LOL, at least you can join the "ranks" of the rest of us.
8/3/10 3:13 PM
ryansmumAria said...
I think it's wonderful and love the way it looks. Too bad you don't... I love everything you make.
8/9/10 9:32 PM
Gordita1616 said...
So sorry about the frustrating experience. I actually think the jacket looks nice on you, especially with the dress you are wearing underneath.
8/31/10 9:59 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Vogue Patterns 2449 trench coat
photo
Review by valerie se... on 7/1/10
Read Review

Oliver + S Bedtime Story Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-3T)
Oliver + S Bedtime Story Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-3T)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Lily's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Lily's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6483 misses top
photo
Review by Nana27 on 5/16/13
Read Review

SewBaby Totpacks Pattern
SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7056 Pattern
Burda 7056 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1918 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1918 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us