SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Hollywood> 910 (One-piece belted dress)

Viewed 458 times 
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo

 
 
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/4/10 8:21 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
gabrielle said...
I've had a trying day, and it was so nice to see another project showcased by the ever-lovely cousin Cathy. Great fun, and I love the dress. She makes all the other people in the street look sort of schlumpy, but I'm sure they were inspired nonetheless.
8/4/10 8:37 PM
birdmcfarland said...
Lovely!! She looks like a movie star.
8/4/10 9:06 PM
mollyshark said...
This one is a beauty for sure. Another great frock.
8/4/10 11:04 PM
Aroura said...
Wow, this reminds me of Lauren Bacall...I love it! Cathy must be the most well dressed woman in NY! Also, the story is the most creative and entertaining thing ever. I love them every time. I also think she should keep looking, there are lots more fish in the sea. :)
8/4/10 11:13 PM
carolynw said...
Peter your work is amazing and I sdo love when Cathy visits - I think she should keep looking - not go back to Sidney!! Such fun to read your review!!
8/4/10 11:23 PM
drsue said...
Quite terrific. Cathy was made for this vintage dress.
8/4/10 11:26 PM
Schnauzer said...
Beautiful dress, Peter. Cathy's a very lucky girl!
8/5/10 0:42 AM
Athene said...
Great dress, great story, and love the veiled turban.
8/5/10 4:18 AM
FreyaStark said...
Another lovely frock, accessorized to perfection as ever, and a heart-rending human story to go with it.
8/5/10 5:45 AM
Tarrbaby said...
I work as an alterations seamstress in a bridal shop and we all gather around the computer to enjoy your stories and your workmanship. Lovely and keep the reviews coming as they brighten our somewhat hectic(May-Oct.) schedule. Plus the stories help put the bridezilla's rants into perspective. Great dress.
8/5/10 8:03 AM
crazygrad said...
Mame!
8/5/10 8:59 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Cathy looks fabulous in her vintage-era dress! Perfectly accessorized, as always. Enjoyed the photo montage!
8/5/10 9:37 AM
cindyann said...
Another lovely dress! What a fun story.
8/5/10 9:59 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks, all! This was one of my personal favorites .
8/5/10 10:12 AM
JEF said...
Very pretty and once again, loving your reviews.
8/5/10 10:17 AM
MichelleE said...
Forget Sidney, Cathy has all of NY to conquer! Great dress, and story.
8/5/10 10:43 AM
okie2thdoc said...
Fabulous photos and story. Go Cathy!
8/5/10 10:59 AM
msmull3562 said...
I love the wonderful vintage dresses you have sewn. They are wonderful. Great pix. I have a great stash of vintage patterns but have been a little intimidated to start on them because of sizing issues - I am 6 ft tall and size 14 RTW.
8/5/10 12:01 PM
TracyTheMaterialGirl said...
Cathy is my new style icon! A beautiful dress. Showcased to perfection.
8/5/10 12:26 PM
waltzqueen said...
I LOVE the fabric and the dress is terrific. I helps that Cathy knows how to accessorize and wears clothes so well!
8/5/10 2:12 PM
crazycurlgirl said...
Love, love, love the slide show! Cathy leads the most exciting life.
8/5/10 7:46 PM
HLT said...
Very Fab!
8/8/10 0:59 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Storm Mountain Designs 14

photo
by: Seamingly ...

Review
Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now