Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8631 (Misses' Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 793 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Kim12469
photo
About Kim12469starstarstar
MT USA
Member since: 3/27/08
Reviews written: 82
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 31 people
patterns reviewed: 82
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/6/10 9:31 AM
Last Updated:4/14/11 10:40 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ImListening said...
What a cool dress. Thanks for the notes about the pattern sizing.
8/6/10 11:58 AM
Nan Kay said...
Would love to open your picture, but my system does't like photo bucket for some reason! The fabric looks super in the little bit I can see.
8/6/10 12:17 PM
ONord said...
I love your use of the fabric! You're obviously skilled at pattern placement. One thing you may want to consider regarding fit is, sewing for ease. In other words, check for finished measurements and then choose your pattern size accordingly. This ease tip is one that I found in a review somewhere on this site. I've just started using it myself and the idea seems to work. Hallejah!!
8/6/10 1:58 PM
Kim12469 said...
I don't think it was an "ease" problem. In the knit, the dress drooped so badly that the waist was down on my hips. I do have a short waist but this was worse than anything I've ever had to deal with. Hence the reason, I went smaller with the next knit one I made. I don't think it'd be so bad with a woven.
8/6/10 2:21 PM
Lazy Stitching said...
Wow - I didn't even think of doing it in a knit but that would be so comfortable! Where did the long sleeves end up hitting you? Can't wait to see the other version, too! @ONord: One weird thing I noticed on this pattern (and maybe I'm just going blind) was that there weren't any finished measurements for bust, waist or hips printed on any of the pattern pieces. I'm a bit like you as I always look for the finished measurements first - usually because I've bought a pattern that only goes up to an 18 and I'm hoping I can squeeze my size 22 behind into it :)
8/6/10 3:41 PM
Nancy K said...
Very pretty. I love the fabric on this.
8/6/10 3:59 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Love the fabric! Cute....
8/6/10 6:32 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Interesting fabric and it truly made this dress over the top! Love it!
8/7/10 8:08 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful - the fabric is lovely and so eye catching!!
8/7/10 11:13 AM
chickenlips said...
I wouldn't have looked twice at this going off the pattern envelope, but this looks great on you. You rock in this!
4/14/11 2:52 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Butterick 5533 Misses' Jacket
photo
Review by marec on 10/31/13
Read Review

SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern
SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern
SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2010-104 skirt
photo
Review by olgarosita on 2/17/13
Read Review

Vogue 1003 Pattern ( Size 18 )
Vogue 1003 Pattern ( Size 18 )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4989 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG )
Butterick 4989 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us