SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8631 (Misses' Dress)

15 more reviews
Viewed 797 times 
Reviewed by:Kim12469
photo

 
 
About Kim12469starstarstar
MT USA
Member since: 3/27/08
Reviews written: 89
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 33 people
patterns reviewed: 89
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/6/10 9:31 AM
Last Updated:4/14/11 10:40 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
chickenlips said...
I wouldn't have looked twice at this going off the pattern envelope, but this looks great on you. You rock in this!
4/14/11 2:52 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful - the fabric is lovely and so eye catching!!
8/7/10 11:13 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Interesting fabric and it truly made this dress over the top! Love it!
8/7/10 8:08 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Love the fabric! Cute....
8/6/10 6:32 PM
Nancy K said...
Very pretty. I love the fabric on this.
8/6/10 3:59 PM
Lazy Stitching said...
Wow - I didn't even think of doing it in a knit but that would be so comfortable! Where did the long sleeves end up hitting you? Can't wait to see the other version, too! @ONord: One weird thing I noticed on this pattern (and maybe I'm just going blind) was that there weren't any finished measurements for bust, waist or hips printed on any of the pattern pieces. I'm a bit like you as I always look for the finished measurements first - usually because I've bought a pattern that only goes up to an 18 and I'm hoping I can squeeze my size 22 behind into it :)
8/6/10 3:41 PM
Kim12469 said...
I don't think it was an "ease" problem. In the knit, the dress drooped so badly that the waist was down on my hips. I do have a short waist but this was worse than anything I've ever had to deal with. Hence the reason, I went smaller with the next knit one I made. I don't think it'd be so bad with a woven.
8/6/10 2:21 PM
ONord said...
I love your use of the fabric! You're obviously skilled at pattern placement. One thing you may want to consider regarding fit is, sewing for ease. In other words, check for finished measurements and then choose your pattern size accordingly. This ease tip is one that I found in a review somewhere on this site. I've just started using it myself and the idea seems to work. Hallejah!!
8/6/10 1:58 PM
Nan Kay said...
Would love to open your picture, but my system does't like photo bucket for some reason! The fabric looks super in the little bit I can see.
8/6/10 12:17 PM
ImListening said...
What a cool dress. Thanks for the notes about the pattern sizing.
8/6/10 11:58 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Simplicity 2398

photo
by: MaidenJane

Review
McCall's 6278

photo
by: kristy bis...

Review
Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Buy Now