SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8631 (Misses' Dress)

15 more reviews
Viewed 797 times 
Reviewed by:Kim12469
photo

 
 
About Kim12469starstarstar
MT USA
Member since: 3/27/08
Reviews written: 86
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 33 people
patterns reviewed: 86
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/6/10 9:31 AM
Last Updated:4/14/11 10:40 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ImListening said...
What a cool dress. Thanks for the notes about the pattern sizing.
8/6/10 11:58 AM
Nan Kay said...
Would love to open your picture, but my system does't like photo bucket for some reason! The fabric looks super in the little bit I can see.
8/6/10 12:17 PM
ONord said...
I love your use of the fabric! You're obviously skilled at pattern placement. One thing you may want to consider regarding fit is, sewing for ease. In other words, check for finished measurements and then choose your pattern size accordingly. This ease tip is one that I found in a review somewhere on this site. I've just started using it myself and the idea seems to work. Hallejah!!
8/6/10 1:58 PM
Kim12469 said...
I don't think it was an "ease" problem. In the knit, the dress drooped so badly that the waist was down on my hips. I do have a short waist but this was worse than anything I've ever had to deal with. Hence the reason, I went smaller with the next knit one I made. I don't think it'd be so bad with a woven.
8/6/10 2:21 PM
Lazy Stitching said...
Wow - I didn't even think of doing it in a knit but that would be so comfortable! Where did the long sleeves end up hitting you? Can't wait to see the other version, too! @ONord: One weird thing I noticed on this pattern (and maybe I'm just going blind) was that there weren't any finished measurements for bust, waist or hips printed on any of the pattern pieces. I'm a bit like you as I always look for the finished measurements first - usually because I've bought a pattern that only goes up to an 18 and I'm hoping I can squeeze my size 22 behind into it :)
8/6/10 3:41 PM
Nancy K said...
Very pretty. I love the fabric on this.
8/6/10 3:59 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Love the fabric! Cute....
8/6/10 6:32 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Interesting fabric and it truly made this dress over the top! Love it!
8/7/10 8:08 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful - the fabric is lovely and so eye catching!!
8/7/10 11:13 AM
chickenlips said...
I wouldn't have looked twice at this going off the pattern envelope, but this looks great on you. You rock in this!
4/14/11 2:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Colette Patterns 0003

photo
by: Joyatee

Review
Simplicity 3559

photo
by: lobstah.12...

Review
Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now