Online Sewing Class: Fun with Fitting - PANTS
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8631 (Misses' Dress)

15 more reviews
Viewed 799 times 
Reviewed by:Kim12469
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kim12469starstarstar
Member since: 3/27/08
Reviews: 100 (patterns: 99)
Body Type:
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 39 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/6/10 9:31 AM
Last Updated:4/14/11 10:40 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
chickenlips said... (4/14/11 2:52 PM) Reply
I wouldn't have looked twice at this going off the pattern envelope, but this looks great on you. You rock in this!
carolynw said... (8/7/10 11:13 AM) Reply
Beautiful - the fabric is lovely and so eye catching!!
Danvillegirl said... (8/7/10 8:08 AM) Reply
Interesting fabric and it truly made this dress over the top! Love it!
RadarRadiance said... (8/6/10 6:32 PM) Reply
Love the fabric! Cute....
Nancy K said... (8/6/10 3:59 PM) Reply
Very pretty. I love the fabric on this.
Lazy Stitching said... (8/6/10 3:41 PM) Reply
Wow - I didn't even think of doing it in a knit but that would be so comfortable! Where did the long sleeves end up hitting you? Can't wait to see the other version, too! @ONord: One weird thing I noticed on this pattern (and maybe I'm just going blind) was that there weren't any finished measurements for bust, waist or hips printed on any of the pattern pieces. I'm a bit like you as I always look for the finished measurements first - usually because I've bought a pattern that only goes up to an 18 and I'm hoping I can squeeze my size 22 behind into it :)
Kim12469 said... (8/6/10 2:21 PM) Reply
I don't think it was an "ease" problem. In the knit, the dress drooped so badly that the waist was down on my hips. I do have a short waist but this was worse than anything I've ever had to deal with. Hence the reason, I went smaller with the next knit one I made. I don't think it'd be so bad with a woven.
ONord said... (8/6/10 1:58 PM) Reply
I love your use of the fabric! You're obviously skilled at pattern placement. One thing you may want to consider regarding fit is, sewing for ease. In other words, check for finished measurements and then choose your pattern size accordingly. This ease tip is one that I found in a review somewhere on this site. I've just started using it myself and the idea seems to work. Hallejah!!
Nan Kay said... (8/6/10 12:17 PM) Reply
Would love to open your picture, but my system does't like photo bucket for some reason! The fabric looks super in the little bit I can see.
ImListening said... (8/6/10 11:58 AM) Reply
What a cool dress. Thanks for the notes about the pattern sizing.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Simplicity 9658 1990

photo
by: rubyinther...

Review
Candice Paper Pattern

Candice Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Pattern Details