SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2447 (Choice of tankinis)

6 more reviews
Viewed 503 times 
Reviewed by:donna mel
photo

 
 
About donna melstar
MA USA
Member since: 3/7/08
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/6/10 11:25 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Swimwear    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
okie2thdoc said...
You're giving me the confidence I need to make one. I lost my last swimsuit- don't know how and now need another one that fits. Love the ruffle too. Have you or are you going to try any other patterns?
8/6/10 11:29 AM
Sue Anfang said...
Very nice! thanks for the review!
8/6/10 11:32 AM
Elke said...
Love the ruffle! Very cute swimsuit...great review!
8/6/10 11:50 AM
Noeysmommy said...
Cute suit! Looks great on you!
8/6/10 12:16 PM
BeckyNoSleep said...
love it, very nice job and thanks for your bravery in modeling your suit. Ruffles are a great addition to the suit, one of my favorite RTW one-pieces had a similar neckline with ruffle.
8/6/10 1:37 PM
o3b said...
Your suit is great! Good idea with the ruffle.
8/6/10 2:40 PM
Nessa09 said...
Beautiful swimsuit! The ruffle adds a nice touch!
8/6/10 3:27 PM
JEF said...
Very cute suit! It looks great on you.
8/6/10 5:09 PM
treefrog said...
Great work! Thanks for the review. It is very timely for me as I've been thinking of buying this pattern but a little chicken to actually try sewing swimwear. I'll have to take your advice and "do it"!
8/6/10 7:10 PM
doctorsirena said...
Super cute - LOVE the ruffle! I might steal your idea and use this ruffle technique on a plain T-shirt. Enjoy your vacation!
8/7/10 7:26 AM
Diane333 said...
Very nicely done. It looks great on.
8/7/10 8:55 AM
BrianSews said...
That looks awesome! I'm super glad you were able to use that fabric for muslins. It makes a huge difference being able to practice on actual lycra when you're trying to fit that perfect suit. Love those ruffles!
8/7/10 8:58 AM
ryansmumAria said...
oh my I absolutely love the ruffles. Just wonderful and inspiring.
8/7/10 9:49 AM
becca a said...
Great bathing suit! It looks great on. I love the ruffle detail.
8/7/10 11:14 AM
cindyann said...
Thanks for the review. I've made this suit before and love it but the ruffle is a very cute addition!
8/7/10 11:27 AM
donna mel said...
Thanks for all the nice comments!! okie2thdoc - no, i haven't tried any other bathing suit patterns. now that i've got this one figured out, i'll stick with it!
8/7/10 10:32 PM
CynthiaSue said...
no way!!! totally awesome. going to website now to purchase!!!
8/8/10 0:31 AM
cindyann said...
Donna, I was so inspired by your review I've decided to make another one for my upcoming vacation. I noticed your cups are attached to each other. I really like that and was wondering if you made this adjustment to the pattern before you cut it out. TIA
8/8/10 1:29 PM
donna mel said...
cindyann, are you wondering if i altered the upper front before or after it was cut out? i altered it after i cut it out, creating a seam in the center of the upper front. i cut out the 2 triangles, then sewed them together about an inch in, after i cut them out. see the photo at the CUPS clickable link, and you can see my seam.
8/8/10 4:26 PM
Deepika said...
I love the ruffle! The bathing suit is fabulous. I can see you'll be cranking many more of these now. Super review too.
8/9/10 5:21 PM
LotusMonkey said...
Thank you sooooooo much for taking pics so I could see how the suit ends up with mods for your torso length (I have the opposite: child-length torso! /:-(
4/2/13 11:26 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Vogue Patterns 8590

photo
by: Fabric Hog

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

Buy Now