SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2447 (Choice of tankinis)

6 more reviews
Viewed 497 times 
Reviewed by:donna mel
photo

 
 
About donna melstar
MA USA
Member since: 3/7/08
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/6/10 11:25 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Swimwear    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
okie2thdoc said...
You're giving me the confidence I need to make one. I lost my last swimsuit- don't know how and now need another one that fits. Love the ruffle too. Have you or are you going to try any other patterns?
8/6/10 11:29 AM
Sue Anfang said...
Very nice! thanks for the review!
8/6/10 11:32 AM
Elke said...
Love the ruffle! Very cute swimsuit...great review!
8/6/10 11:50 AM
Noeysmommy said...
Cute suit! Looks great on you!
8/6/10 12:16 PM
BeckyNoSleep said...
love it, very nice job and thanks for your bravery in modeling your suit. Ruffles are a great addition to the suit, one of my favorite RTW one-pieces had a similar neckline with ruffle.
8/6/10 1:37 PM
o3b said...
Your suit is great! Good idea with the ruffle.
8/6/10 2:40 PM
Nessa09 said...
Beautiful swimsuit! The ruffle adds a nice touch!
8/6/10 3:27 PM
JEF said...
Very cute suit! It looks great on you.
8/6/10 5:09 PM
treefrog said...
Great work! Thanks for the review. It is very timely for me as I've been thinking of buying this pattern but a little chicken to actually try sewing swimwear. I'll have to take your advice and "do it"!
8/6/10 7:10 PM
doctorsirena said...
Super cute - LOVE the ruffle! I might steal your idea and use this ruffle technique on a plain T-shirt. Enjoy your vacation!
8/7/10 7:26 AM
Diane333 said...
Very nicely done. It looks great on.
8/7/10 8:55 AM
BrianSews said...
That looks awesome! I'm super glad you were able to use that fabric for muslins. It makes a huge difference being able to practice on actual lycra when you're trying to fit that perfect suit. Love those ruffles!
8/7/10 8:58 AM
ryansmumAria said...
oh my I absolutely love the ruffles. Just wonderful and inspiring.
8/7/10 9:49 AM
becca a said...
Great bathing suit! It looks great on. I love the ruffle detail.
8/7/10 11:14 AM
cindyann said...
Thanks for the review. I've made this suit before and love it but the ruffle is a very cute addition!
8/7/10 11:27 AM
donna mel said...
Thanks for all the nice comments!! okie2thdoc - no, i haven't tried any other bathing suit patterns. now that i've got this one figured out, i'll stick with it!
8/7/10 10:32 PM
CynthiaSue said...
no way!!! totally awesome. going to website now to purchase!!!
8/8/10 0:31 AM
cindyann said...
Donna, I was so inspired by your review I've decided to make another one for my upcoming vacation. I noticed your cups are attached to each other. I really like that and was wondering if you made this adjustment to the pattern before you cut it out. TIA
8/8/10 1:29 PM
donna mel said...
cindyann, are you wondering if i altered the upper front before or after it was cut out? i altered it after i cut it out, creating a seam in the center of the upper front. i cut out the 2 triangles, then sewed them together about an inch in, after i cut them out. see the photo at the CUPS clickable link, and you can see my seam.
8/8/10 4:26 PM
Deepika said...
I love the ruffle! The bathing suit is fabulous. I can see you'll be cranking many more of these now. Super review too.
8/9/10 5:21 PM
LotusMonkey said...
Thank you sooooooo much for taking pics so I could see how the suit ends up with mods for your torso length (I have the opposite: child-length torso! /:-(
4/2/13 11:26 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Butterick 5555

photo
by: busybee cr...

Review
Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Buy Now