SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Wild Ginger> PMB3 (Bib Overalls)

11 more reviews
Viewed 1590 times 
Reviewed by:MaryBeth
photo

 
 
About MaryBethstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/1/03
Reviews written: 103
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 90
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/19/04 1:32 PM
Last Updated:5/19/04 2:09 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Teri said...
MarytBeth, I think your overalls look very nice, and not "hayseed" at all. Of course, my last review was for a western style shirt:) Wear your overalls with pride!
5/19/04 1:53 PM
Sherril Miller said...
MaryBeth, they are adorable and you look cute and ready for summer. I love the color and fit. Enjoy wearing them, just be sure you have other type garments in your closet too. ;-)
5/19/04 1:56 PM
drsue said...
Personally, I think they look cute on you. I love overalls becaue they are sooooo comfortable, but I only wear them when I am in my "house frau doing errands around town" mode. Or if I'm gardening at home.
5/19/04 1:57 PM
Mandolin82 said...
I really like the colors you used!
5/19/04 2:22 PM
Debbie Cook said...
MB, These definitely do NOT look hayseed. Trinnie & Suzanne do not know EVERYTHING! The overalls are very fashionable and feminine. But since you *did* ask , the only change I would make would be to shorten the back "bib" so that it doesn't blouse, as you mentioned, and add the dreaded "bulk." But the colors are just wonderful on you -- I have that same knit and wish I had paid more attention to Ressy's twill. Great review!
5/19/04 3:44 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Aaack ... the dreaded double edited comment. Hopefully this will fix that.
5/19/04 3:45 PM
Gigi Louis said...
I think they look very cute on you. Don't worry I won't telephone Trinny & Susannah! I once had to make DS some white overalls for a costume in one night. They were a breeze with the Kwik-Sew pattern I used. Lots of little pieces, but easy nonetheless.
5/19/04 3:46 PM
sewywabbit said...
MaryBeth, in the town I live in, these would be considered not hayseed, but haute couture! I think it is important to remember context. You probably aren't going to wear these on a job interview or a sales call. They are fun and casual. Personally, I think we should all be encouraged to sew a "fun" thing once in a while--for me, its my dorky campshirts, not the fashionable tropical rayon kind, but the every-pattern-piece-is-a-different-Engelbreit-print kind. The kind my kids beg me not to wear to their school functions. Nice review, enjoy your overalls.
5/19/04 5:08 PM
els said...
Hi MaryBeth, I like to make a suggestion about your bib overall .First of all you look very sunny in those colors and the bib overall is fine and suits you, but I would suggest if you want to make another one, do draft the upper part where the shoulder straps are sewn to, a few inches wider so your back view does look more balanced with the upper back body. I am more plus sized than you so I know the tricks to look more slender (well in my opinion slender) because my upper body is much smaller than the lower part like hips and butt. If the upper part is wider the shoulder straps are also wider spread, which also helps. I hope that I have not offended you in any way because that is not my intention. Enjoy your bib overall and you do not look like a Hilly Billy at all (I think that is another word for hayseed I suppose).
5/19/04 6:59 PM
Sew it seams said...
Mary Beth, I think you look so cute in that outfit! I love your haircut, too. els, that idea for the back sounds like it would work even for a small size as well. And MB, it's deffinately not hayseed or hillbilly!
5/19/04 7:41 PM
MaryBeth said...
Great ideas, ladies! I'm thinking that I didn't plan for a knit top being tucked in and at least one more inch of ease would be good for this lightweight fabric, too. And the belt should be a bit higher, maybe, so the high hip is not so accented.
5/19/04 7:48 PM
Mini said...
That is one cute outfit! Definitely wear it in public. Overalls can be just as stylish as anything else, it's all a matter of attitude:). The color is wonderfull too.
5/19/04 8:11 PM
SouthernStitch said...
I have the same fabric! Soo cute on you! PMB really drafts those pants perfect on you. I love overalls - you have inspired me to try some
5/19/04 8:42 PM
Danvillegirl said...
MaryBeth another good project with PMB and KS all together. I love the overalls and I think they look cute on you. I don't know who Trinnie and Suzanne are, but I think you can wear them whereever you want. Great save on this project.
5/20/04 5:59 AM
lisa m said...
They are adorable. Very hayseed, but isn't that the idea of overalls? Wear them and enjoy them!
5/21/04 2:22 PM
Sew Little Time said...
Now I know where to start to look for the right solution for the same problem. I am going to get the KS2873. Thank you!
8/23/08 1:01 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Kwik Sew 3463

photo
by: Sue Parrot...

Review