Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Wild Ginger: PMB3 (Bib Overalls) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 1590 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:MaryBeth
photo
About MaryBethstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/1/03
Reviews written: 103
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 90
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/19/04 1:32 PM
Last Updated:5/19/04 2:09 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Teri said...
MarytBeth, I think your overalls look very nice, and not "hayseed" at all. Of course, my last review was for a western style shirt:) Wear your overalls with pride!
5/19/04 1:53 PM
Sherril Miller said...
MaryBeth, they are adorable and you look cute and ready for summer. I love the color and fit. Enjoy wearing them, just be sure you have other type garments in your closet too. ;-)
5/19/04 1:56 PM
drsue said...
Personally, I think they look cute on you. I love overalls becaue they are sooooo comfortable, but I only wear them when I am in my "house frau doing errands around town" mode. Or if I'm gardening at home.
5/19/04 1:57 PM
Mandolin82 said...
I really like the colors you used!
5/19/04 2:22 PM
Debbie Cook said...
MB, These definitely do NOT look hayseed. Trinnie & Suzanne do not know EVERYTHING! The overalls are very fashionable and feminine. But since you *did* ask , the only change I would make would be to shorten the back "bib" so that it doesn't blouse, as you mentioned, and add the dreaded "bulk." But the colors are just wonderful on you -- I have that same knit and wish I had paid more attention to Ressy's twill. Great review!
5/19/04 3:44 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Aaack ... the dreaded double edited comment. Hopefully this will fix that.
5/19/04 3:45 PM
Gigi Louis said...
I think they look very cute on you. Don't worry I won't telephone Trinny & Susannah! I once had to make DS some white overalls for a costume in one night. They were a breeze with the Kwik-Sew pattern I used. Lots of little pieces, but easy nonetheless.
5/19/04 3:46 PM
sewywabbit said...
MaryBeth, in the town I live in, these would be considered not hayseed, but haute couture! I think it is important to remember context. You probably aren't going to wear these on a job interview or a sales call. They are fun and casual. Personally, I think we should all be encouraged to sew a "fun" thing once in a while--for me, its my dorky campshirts, not the fashionable tropical rayon kind, but the every-pattern-piece-is-a-different-Engelbreit-print kind. The kind my kids beg me not to wear to their school functions. Nice review, enjoy your overalls.
5/19/04 5:08 PM
els said...
Hi MaryBeth, I like to make a suggestion about your bib overall .First of all you look very sunny in those colors and the bib overall is fine and suits you, but I would suggest if you want to make another one, do draft the upper part where the shoulder straps are sewn to, a few inches wider so your back view does look more balanced with the upper back body. I am more plus sized than you so I know the tricks to look more slender (well in my opinion slender) because my upper body is much smaller than the lower part like hips and butt. If the upper part is wider the shoulder straps are also wider spread, which also helps. I hope that I have not offended you in any way because that is not my intention. Enjoy your bib overall and you do not look like a Hilly Billy at all (I think that is another word for hayseed I suppose).
5/19/04 6:59 PM
Sew it seams said...
Mary Beth, I think you look so cute in that outfit! I love your haircut, too. els, that idea for the back sounds like it would work even for a small size as well. And MB, it's deffinately not hayseed or hillbilly!
5/19/04 7:41 PM
MaryBeth said...
Great ideas, ladies! I'm thinking that I didn't plan for a knit top being tucked in and at least one more inch of ease would be good for this lightweight fabric, too. And the belt should be a bit higher, maybe, so the high hip is not so accented.
5/19/04 7:48 PM
Mini said...
That is one cute outfit! Definitely wear it in public. Overalls can be just as stylish as anything else, it's all a matter of attitude:). The color is wonderfull too.
5/19/04 8:11 PM
SouthernStitch said...
I have the same fabric! Soo cute on you! PMB really drafts those pants perfect on you. I love overalls - you have inspired me to try some
5/19/04 8:42 PM
Danvillegirl said...
MaryBeth another good project with PMB and KS all together. I love the overalls and I think they look cute on you. I don't know who Trinnie and Suzanne are, but I think you can wear them whereever you want. Great save on this project.
5/20/04 5:59 AM
lisa m said...
They are adorable. Very hayseed, but isn't that the idea of overalls? Wear them and enjoy them!
5/21/04 2:22 PM
Sew Little Time said...
Now I know where to start to look for the right solution for the same problem. I am going to get the KS2873. Thank you!
8/23/08 1:01 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

New Look 6170
photo
Review by rmusic1 on 8/10/13
Read Review

Vogue 1247 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18 )
Vogue 1247 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6083 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
McCalls 6083 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 6207
photo
Review by Poppycat22... on 1/16/11
Read Review

Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern
Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Jenny Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Jenny Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern
Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us