Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: from Fabric.com (peachy beachy poolside coverup) thumbsup - Type:Loungewear    printable version
Viewed 453 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:MaryDB
photo
Friend of PR
About MaryDBstar
WA USA
Member since: 2/9/08
Reviews written: 50
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 43
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:8/10/10 11:57 PM
Last Updated:8/10/10 11:59 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
katie lynne said...
What a nice looking wrap! I was wondering if it'd be worth my time to download/print/tape the pattern, but I can see it's well worth it. I love the fabric's history—you have turned fabric from what was a lemon marriage into a lemonade very cool cover-up! It looks like it's soft too...seems yummy.
8/11/10 0:20 AM
ColorMeHome said...
Great project! Just what I needed for my beach vacation! Love your light and airy fabric!
8/11/10 0:34 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Cute cover-up! Luv the pockets. Thanks for posting.
8/11/10 0:45 AM
julie w said...
What a lovely vacation garment, fabulous as well as functional. Great review, I've downloaded this and was wondering how the sizing goes.
8/11/10 3:03 AM
FreyaStark said...
Very nice. The pattern looks like the sort of loose-fitting tunic-style tops Burda magazine has been offering recently so it might even work as a tunic in a light and colourful fabric and worn with a camisole underneath.
8/11/10 5:30 AM
MNBarb said...
Thanks for posting. This is a great cover-up. I especially like the drawstring to make it pretend to have shape but still be very loose and comfy. I think it was the perfect garment for this fabric.
8/11/10 7:33 AM
Jane S said...
What a fabulous use for this fabric. Hope your vacation was as fun as this cute coverup.
8/11/10 7:40 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Excellent review... will you be doing book reviews soon? particularly of pool side trashy paperbacks? Hope so!
8/11/10 8:35 AM
Cowtown Karen said...
I love this! So cute! Please tell us how you did the pockets. It looks like the top of the pocket has elastic in it. Is that right?
8/11/10 10:32 AM
MaryDB said...
Karen, I cut the pockets free-hand by center-folding the doubled fabric, and cutting it to paperback size. I zig-zagged clear elastic (while holding it stretched) a couple of inches down from the opening.
8/11/10 10:55 AM
Terri A said...
Cool! Love it:-)
8/11/10 2:01 PM
Leu said...
Looks fabulous! I tried the pattern, but since the drawstring wasn't low enough, had to lengthen to top pieces. I also cut the skirt the biggest size the pattern came so I could gather it a little bit. I was working with a beautiful royal blue gauze fabric and I basically made the project more difficult than my skill level. It ended up in the scrap pile. I thought the same about the facings. Maybe I'll try again!
8/11/10 2:13 PM
Ericaeli said...
This is such a pretty cover-up. I love the story of the fabric. The pockets are the perfect addition to this pattern. I think it would be really nice out of french terry too. I have been wanting to make this, but I truly hate patterns that I have to print out! I think I need to just force myself.
8/11/10 2:38 PM
Cowtown Karen said...
Mary, what you did with the pockets is ingenious! I am going to try it.
8/11/10 5:14 PM
Hilary said...
Nice! I like the pockets you added-it looks great!
8/11/10 6:57 PM
mssewcrazy said...
I think this probably is the best coverup ever and free pattern no less. This is just a wonderful combo of fabric and pattern and pockets.
8/12/10 6:19 AM
Karla Kizer said...
A really pretty interpretation of this pattern. I see a "summer bathrobe" in my future. Thanks for the reminder to print out this design. Another tree gone....
8/18/10 7:52 AM
Lisabeth60 said...
It is adorable! I have been looking at the pattern thinking of making it for an upcoming cruise. Thank you for posting!
9/28/10 7:47 PM
AndreaSews said...
I've been eyeing this free pattern for awhile. Yours is so nice, and the pockets are a great idea. I'd skip the facings too.
7/5/11 2:41 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

The Maker's Journal Bunny Bag Bunny Bag
photo
Review by ajhewing on 8/31/13
Read Review

Blank Slate Ruffled Cardigan Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Ruffled Cardigan Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6429
photo
Review by SueV on 2/5/05
Read Review

You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern
You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern
Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3750 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Simplicity 3750 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7070 Pattern
Burda 7070 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us