Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2008-105 (Balmain) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 416 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Birgitte
photo
About Birgittestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/28/04
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 128 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/12/10 4:02 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sugarduck said...
Wow! I'm extremely impressed by both the final garment and the incredible dedication that this project surely demanded. Great job!
8/12/10 4:10 PM
Robin Denning said...
Wow, thanks for taking the time to summarize the process. This is genius. You really did a fanatastic job and it's so helpful to learn of all the decisions along the way.
8/12/10 5:02 PM
Robin Denning said...
and, I should have said - it looks great on you! You've got the figure for it. I love it with the jeans.
8/12/10 5:06 PM
cindyann said...
It's DONE!!! It's fantastic. { Thunderous applause and a standing ovation}
8/12/10 5:26 PM
Kay Y said...
What an epic voyage! The end result is absolutely fabulous, as anyone would have predicted.
8/12/10 5:28 PM
AMarie said...
Incredible! Amazing! You have such dedication and skill. Thanks so much for sharing this. If anything, I've learned the impossible is possible with a strong dose of determination and some ingenunity.
8/12/10 6:47 PM
Nancy K said...
You've written a wonderful and informative review. I'll have to remember that tip about using boning. It's a beautiful jacket and it looks wonderful on you.
8/12/10 6:59 PM
donna mel said...
WELL worth $14,000! It is YUMMY!!
8/12/10 7:16 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Speechlessly nodding in agreement with all whom precede me here.. OMG! What an undertaking and stunning result!
8/12/10 7:35 PM
Catbird said...
Oh...my...goodness. As one who has eagerly followed your progress with this for ... is it over a year? ... I feel like I've witnessed a birth! This is astounding and exceeds all expectations. I LOVE it with the jeans and loose shirt. You're in the right business to wear such a glorious thing, and I hope you wear it often and get showered with praise. Your 'thinking cap' must be worn to tatters after this escapade! And the review and blog posts are massive amounts of work in themselves -- like an archeological dig with buried treasure at the end. I've gotten too wordy, but one last thing -- CONGRATULATIONS. I'm really blown away.
8/12/10 8:49 PM
CynthiaSue said...
i think I cried.... Do not let your daughter borrow it!!! If I made this, I would want to be buried with it. ;)
8/12/10 10:22 PM
dingyadi said...
Utterly amazing! It is just beautiful. The amount of work and concentration that must be involved is awesome.
8/12/10 11:32 PM
Aroura said...
What CynthiaSue said about sums up my feelings. Although I'm compelled to add that your reviews boggles my mind. Your knowledge and techniques are inspiring.
8/12/10 11:39 PM
arianamaniacs said...
You're awesome, I thought the project photo was the real balmain one at first. wonderful job!
8/13/10 3:14 AM
Amanda S. said...
You did it!!! And it's GORGEOUS! Great attention to detail and that beadwork is breathtaking. I'm a 38 should you ever tire of wearing it... :)
8/13/10 11:54 AM
DorothyK said...
Bravo!
8/13/10 1:20 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
This is over the top. Outstanding. Thanks for the indepth review of your journey.
8/13/10 4:42 PM
Sigrid. said...
Good of you to finish it. Awesome! It was great to follow you along the making of this jacket, truely inspiring, though I wouldn't have any occasion to wear anything half as stunning. Thanks for sharing the process on your blog and this review.
8/13/10 6:12 PM
ChristinePDX said...
Exquisite! Love it paired with the jeans.
8/14/10 10:35 PM
AliceB said...
A'mazing
8/15/10 0:53 AM
Kgrrl said...
Wow, it looks like the designer original. Congratulations on a spectacular jacket!! You are a true artist.
8/16/10 2:15 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Exquisite work! Thank you for sharing!
8/20/10 9:26 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

StyleArc Jade Dress jade
photo
Review by momsurfing on 3/21/12
Read Review

Burda 9828 Pattern
Burda 9828 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6278 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )
New Look 6278 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1716
photo
Review by Willowwear... on 11/19/12
Read Review

Cool Cowl Tank
Cool Cowl Tank

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Chloe Handbag
Chloe Handbag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern
Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us