Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4743 (1980s Wedding Dress - Fergie) - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 332 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:timetravelcostumes
photo
About timetravelcostumesstar
FL USA
Member since: 1/28/09
Reviews written: 27
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/14/10 10:43 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aroura said...
Beautiful! I went and looked up images of Fergie's dress, and yours is a fantastic reproduction! I'm sure your customer was very happy. Your butterick pattern link isn't working though :( Beaautiful dress, very helpful review, thanks.
8/14/10 12:37 PM
mary in FL said...
I made that dress for my wedding in 1991! Yours turned out really well.
8/14/10 4:03 PM
Sewnla said...
What a gorgeous gown. Thanks for taking so many pictures. What a wonderful job!
8/15/10 1:45 AM
Auntie Susan said...
OMG! I got married in this dress in 1988 (back when I had a 26" waist)! Exact same pattern, same fabric. I actually found the pattern last year when I moved - and threw it out since it didn't feel right having it in the house with the new marriage. The dress itself went to the Salvation Army years ago as it yellowed in the "air-tight" hermetically sealed box. My mother and I made the dress together. The only difference is that we omitted the shoulder bows, added beaded lace as an overlay on the bodice and appliqued it on the train in various spots. Unfortunately, that marriage lasted only 5 years, but now I am happily married for the 2nd time and decided to splurge on an Alfred Sung designer gown for this marriage.
8/15/10 7:35 PM
kittykate said...
Fun! Good note about the princess seams not drawn correctly. This gives me a great flashback to the 1980's, apparently since they're in fashion again, and I think this dress was the start of the Big Ass Bow trend. That 1980 fashion detail can stay in 1980. This is such a classic gown Thanks again for the review.
8/16/10 9:14 AM
timetravelcostumes said...
kittykate - Personally, I agree with you about the Big Ass Bow trend. In fact, among my friends we like to tell one another that "Friends don't let friends wear Butt Bows."
8/22/10 8:32 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

McCall's 6078 Misses' Tops
photo
Review by Lucinda on 7/17/10
Read Review

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt
Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Hummingbird Skirt Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Hummingbird Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Dixie DIY Movies in the Park Shorts
Dixie DIY Movies in the Park Shorts

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2054
photo
Review by ssmills on 11/6/12
Read Review

New Look 6056 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6056 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5748 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5748 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us