SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2442 (Special Occasion)

10 more reviews
Viewed 871 times 
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 245
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 88 people
patterns reviewed: 226
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/14/10 10:55 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
spookyginger said...
THANK YOU for the comment about the straps. I've been struggling with them because like you said, you have to sew convex to concave and it's very counterintuitive. The retro style of the straps are what attracted me to the dress in the first place! I'm using it as a (gasp!) wedding dress and it has to be perfect so I'm glad this is just the muslin.
7/10/13 6:49 AM
Lisa Laree said...
DDSewingmama, I sent you a PM...don't know if I can help much or not...
3/31/11 8:51 AM
DDsewingmama said...
The dress is very pretty I have a question I am making the same dress but I'm having problems with the band under the arms it seems to want to come forward and look like wings!! If you could help that would be great!!
3/30/11 11:51 AM
Lynn67 said...
I think the dress is absolutely beautiful, despite the cheap fabric and the issues you mentioned (I'm a bit cheap myself). Glad all that work paid off - it really does look gorgeous.
1/14/11 7:38 PM
AnitaJJ said...
very pretty
8/17/10 11:40 AM
jennikatten said...
I have been wondering about this pattern. It looks great!
8/16/10 7:50 PM
Kathy in NM said...
This dress fits your daughter nicely - great color for her. It is funny how they one day decide mom can sew cool things, and would you mind changing this, oh, and this....... : ) She looks great in the dress and her "cinderella glass slippers" too!
8/15/10 4:00 PM
RLL said...
This does look lovely and is great on your dtr. Funny, are you sure we don't have the same dtr. You certainly described my dtrs wishes/reactions to a T!
8/15/10 1:21 PM
whirrclunk said...
Lovely! I would have raised the crossover too :) It looks fine with the cami. I can't spot any bulk in the CB. Very nice fit, I hope that it will get lots of wear!
8/15/10 12:02 PM
sewbehind said...
Your daughter looks great. Lovely dress, great review.
8/15/10 10:38 AM
Mazzygirl said...
that looks great, you should definitely make her another one as it looks really nice on her! great review too!
8/15/10 10:22 AM
CarolynGM said...
Excellent review. The dress looks wonderful on your daughter.
8/15/10 10:21 AM
carolynw said...
Lisa this looks terrific - all your good work sure paid off - it may be made from inexpensive fabric but it looks $$$$. Great review
8/15/10 9:46 AM
becca a said...
Both she and the dress are beautiful.
8/15/10 9:03 AM
Rhonda Noah said...
Pretty dress & yes your daughter has grown into a lovely young woman. Your review is excellent, does a great job at describing what to watch out for in construction. I like the change to a neck tie also. It makes a pretty bow in the back.
8/15/10 8:52 AM
coolobreeze said...
Pretty dress on your pretty daughter-- Your review is very thorough and helpful.
8/15/10 8:14 AM
sewmytime said...
very pretty dress!
8/15/10 1:18 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Lovely dress, lovely daughter.
8/15/10 0:18 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Butterick 5676

photo
by: velosewer

Review
You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

More Info
Sew Liberated Bohemian Carpet Bag Pattern

Sew Liberated Bohemian  Carpet Bag Pattern

More Info
Vogue Patterns 8827

photo
by: nicegirl

Review