SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2442 (Special Occasion)

9 more reviews
Viewed 856 times 
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 243
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 87 people
patterns reviewed: 224
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/14/10 10:55 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Lovely dress, lovely daughter.
8/15/10 0:18 AM
sewmytime said...
very pretty dress!
8/15/10 1:18 AM
coolobreeze said...
Pretty dress on your pretty daughter-- Your review is very thorough and helpful.
8/15/10 8:14 AM
Rhonda Noah said...
Pretty dress & yes your daughter has grown into a lovely young woman. Your review is excellent, does a great job at describing what to watch out for in construction. I like the change to a neck tie also. It makes a pretty bow in the back.
8/15/10 8:52 AM
becca a said...
Both she and the dress are beautiful.
8/15/10 9:03 AM
carolynw said...
Lisa this looks terrific - all your good work sure paid off - it may be made from inexpensive fabric but it looks $$$$. Great review
8/15/10 9:46 AM
CarolynGM said...
Excellent review. The dress looks wonderful on your daughter.
8/15/10 10:21 AM
Mazzygirl said...
that looks great, you should definitely make her another one as it looks really nice on her! great review too!
8/15/10 10:22 AM
sewbehind said...
Your daughter looks great. Lovely dress, great review.
8/15/10 10:38 AM
whirrclunk said...
Lovely! I would have raised the crossover too :) It looks fine with the cami. I can't spot any bulk in the CB. Very nice fit, I hope that it will get lots of wear!
8/15/10 12:02 PM
RLL said...
This does look lovely and is great on your dtr. Funny, are you sure we don't have the same dtr. You certainly described my dtrs wishes/reactions to a T!
8/15/10 1:21 PM
Kathy in NM said...
This dress fits your daughter nicely - great color for her. It is funny how they one day decide mom can sew cool things, and would you mind changing this, oh, and this....... : ) She looks great in the dress and her "cinderella glass slippers" too!
8/15/10 4:00 PM
jennikatten said...
I have been wondering about this pattern. It looks great!
8/16/10 7:50 PM
AnitaJJ said...
very pretty
8/17/10 11:40 AM
Lynn67 said...
I think the dress is absolutely beautiful, despite the cheap fabric and the issues you mentioned (I'm a bit cheap myself). Glad all that work paid off - it really does look gorgeous.
1/14/11 7:38 PM
DDsewingmama said...
The dress is very pretty I have a question I am making the same dress but I'm having problems with the band under the arms it seems to want to come forward and look like wings!! If you could help that would be great!!
3/30/11 11:51 AM
Lisa Laree said...
DDSewingmama, I sent you a PM...don't know if I can help much or not...
3/31/11 8:51 AM
spookyginger said...
THANK YOU for the comment about the straps. I've been struggling with them because like you said, you have to sew convex to concave and it's very counterintuitive. The retro style of the straps are what attracted me to the dress in the first place! I'm using it as a (gasp!) wedding dress and it has to be perfect so I'm glad this is just the muslin.
7/10/13 6:49 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern

SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2005-102

photo
by: Lynnelle

Review