Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: V8430 (UNLINED FELTED JACKET) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 463 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:rivergum
photo
About rivergumstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 12/17/06
Reviews written: 128
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 123
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/4/10 5:11 AM
Last Updated:9/4/10 5:13 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolynw said...
Talk about a jaw dropping moment - I just love your jacket but when I realised which pattern you had used my re-action was "no way" - thank goodness I still have that pattern in my stash - this gives it a whole new dimension. Did I tell you already that I love your jacket!!
9/4/10 9:10 AM
moushka said...
Love your jacket. I agree with clin - I did not recognize your version of the pattern. The added length would make it much more wearable for me, too. Thanks for figuring out just how much to add! The binding and belt work so well, brilliant addition.
9/4/10 11:18 AM
Elona said...
Gosh, this looks SO much more attractive than the original! I mean, no comparison. I do agree with you about boiled wool. The stereotype is of a rather stiff, thick fabric, but it comes in many weights, and I love the ones that are just slightly heavier than a normal sweater. Saw a lot of them in France (and bought a shameful number). There are no facings; the edges of even the tailored-looked ones hold their line beautifully with just a row of topstitching about 1/4" from the cut edge.
9/4/10 11:41 AM
marthamyers said...
Gorgeous - I love your interpretation of this pattern!
9/4/10 3:12 PM
sewbehind said...
Me too, I'm surprised with the fabulous results and the pattern that you used. Looks great. Thanks to your review, this pattern is going on my wish list.
9/4/10 5:57 PM
lamstu said...
Great jacket. Your idea to make the mitered corners first is one that I have used before. (To get even top-stitching on both sides requires hand basting for me.) I love seeing how you adapted this pattern to your own purposes!
9/4/10 11:33 PM
lesliez said...
I love your version of this pattern!
9/5/10 0:22 AM
Athene said...
A wonderful jacket.
9/5/10 5:25 AM
Schnauzer said...
What a lovely jacket!
9/5/10 6:12 AM
ChristineBR said...
I had made this and had some of the same concerns about the edges and the body. You did a great job of saving everything for the future! It 's a lovely coat.
9/5/10 5:38 PM
Annette1 said...
WOW, you really dressed this jacket up! I love the details that you've added with your raincoat fabric, as well as the extra length. I've been wanting some boiled wool myself, and you've about talked me into it -- ha! I did find some in several colors online at Mood. :o)
9/8/10 10:29 PM
Bunny7 said...
I am getting ready to make this, I've waited long enough, and was so happy to find your very detailed review of Marcy's pattern. Thank you. Your jacket is stunning and makes me eager to get started on mine. Thanks again for a great review.
2/17/11 7:32 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Understanding Sheer Fabrics
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Understanding Sheer Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2013-3 Ottobre
photo
Review by blue moone... on 6/29/13
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3715 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3715 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 3880 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18 )
Butterick 3880 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4589 Misses' Tops
photo
Review by Secretsuga... on 3/22/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Harper Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Harper Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Digital Pattern
Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern
Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us