Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2344 (Misses' & Plus Size Sportswear) thumbsup - Type:Suits / Separates    printable version
Viewed 1018 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 7 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:DonnaC
photo
About DonnaCstar
RI USA
Member since: 9/14/06
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/17/10 11:08 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Coordinates    Vests    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    Plus    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
4u2cme said...
I love your colors. Cute top. I have this pattern in my stash and plan to make several of the pieces.
8/18/10 0:10 AM
Woolygal said...
If that sleeve is comfortable,keep it. It's very flattering.
8/18/10 7:43 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
You look great in your top! Look forward to seeing more reviews from you.
8/18/10 2:56 PM
Tall Mary said...
I have that pattern and am so glad that you thoroughly reviewed it. I am quite a bit taller than you but about the same pattern size. Now I need to start sewing this one.
8/18/10 4:29 PM
o3b said...
Do you normally cut a 22 in Simplicity patterns and think this one runs smaller than usual? I cut essentially the same size as you - I usually cut a 22 through the shoulders and add an FBA so it runs closer to a 24 along the side seams. I'm wondering if I, too, should start with a 24 through the shoulders.
8/18/10 4:31 PM
DonnaC said...
o3b, I usually do cut a 22 in the shoulders. But, I think the Ali patterns are just better designed than many others, and that's why the shoulders fit more snugly. Hope that makes sense! Put another way, most patterns for plus sizes seem to have hanging, square shoulders that come halfway down my arm. The shoulders on this garment actually fit more like a tailored shirt style. Like I said, they are actually comfortable, but I'm so used to wearing drop shoulder styles, this might take a little getting used to!
8/18/10 10:55 PM
LauraJ said...
Your top looks great. I've been considering this pattern and may have to take a closer look. I have several other of her patterns and I will have to stop sitting on the fence!
8/19/10 10:12 AM
AdaH said...
I noticed the neckline also. Really liked the way it fit. I have the pattern and will have to move it up on the to-do list.
8/21/10 1:14 AM
Marie-Claude said...
Great looking top!
8/23/10 1:20 AM
moushka said...
Super top! How exciting to be able to cut out a pattern with so few adjustments. I can see I'll have to give this pattern a try. It looks great on you.
8/23/10 9:22 AM
eemaw said...
I love the fabric! It looks great! Amazing price. I'll have to check my local Walmart again. I have this pattern in my stash and haven't gotten around to sewing it, but I will get it out and look at it as my next project. Thanks for the review.
9/9/10 7:51 PM
iSewQuiltArt said...
Great top, I'm about to sew this so was happy to find your review. I'm going to make it in a slub rayon knit and love the look of the neckline and sleeve gathering, as its very feminine.
12/5/10 3:21 AM
Maryna said...
Beautiful top. I also enjoy the Khaliah Ali designs.
5/30/11 9:11 AM
Cynthia Peacock said...
You answered my question: whether it was mumu-like or not. So many blouses that are gathered at the top have too much gathering. This one happily is perfect! I laughed when you spoke of your $2/yard fabric. I call this the "nonmuslin muslin" or a "wearable muslin". And I tell you what, I would have never guessed that was "sales table" fabric. I have the pattern and am going to make one this weekend! Thanks for the inspiration!
8/9/13 1:57 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Simplicity 5465
photo
Review by Sewlovelie... on 12/27/08
Read Review

Megan Nielsen Briar Sweater & T-shirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Briar Sweater & T-shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Red Velvet Dress Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Red Velvet Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $14.06
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5006
photo
Review by misscreati... on 10/18/10
Read Review

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt
Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $40.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3126 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3126 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3942 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3942 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us