SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2344 (Misses' & Plus Size Sportswear)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1037 times 
Reviewed by:DonnaC
photo

 
 
About DonnaCstar
RI USA
Member since: 9/14/06
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/17/10 11:08 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 7 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coordinates    Vests    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    Plus    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
4u2cme said...
I love your colors. Cute top. I have this pattern in my stash and plan to make several of the pieces.
8/18/10 0:10 AM
Woolygal said...
If that sleeve is comfortable,keep it. It's very flattering.
8/18/10 7:43 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
You look great in your top! Look forward to seeing more reviews from you.
8/18/10 2:56 PM
Tall Mary said...
I have that pattern and am so glad that you thoroughly reviewed it. I am quite a bit taller than you but about the same pattern size. Now I need to start sewing this one.
8/18/10 4:29 PM
o3b said...
Do you normally cut a 22 in Simplicity patterns and think this one runs smaller than usual? I cut essentially the same size as you - I usually cut a 22 through the shoulders and add an FBA so it runs closer to a 24 along the side seams. I'm wondering if I, too, should start with a 24 through the shoulders.
8/18/10 4:31 PM
DonnaC said...
o3b, I usually do cut a 22 in the shoulders. But, I think the Ali patterns are just better designed than many others, and that's why the shoulders fit more snugly. Hope that makes sense! Put another way, most patterns for plus sizes seem to have hanging, square shoulders that come halfway down my arm. The shoulders on this garment actually fit more like a tailored shirt style. Like I said, they are actually comfortable, but I'm so used to wearing drop shoulder styles, this might take a little getting used to!
8/18/10 10:55 PM
LauraJ said...
Your top looks great. I've been considering this pattern and may have to take a closer look. I have several other of her patterns and I will have to stop sitting on the fence!
8/19/10 10:12 AM
AdaH said...
I noticed the neckline also. Really liked the way it fit. I have the pattern and will have to move it up on the to-do list.
8/21/10 1:14 AM
Marie-Claude said...
Great looking top!
8/23/10 1:20 AM
moushka said...
Super top! How exciting to be able to cut out a pattern with so few adjustments. I can see I'll have to give this pattern a try. It looks great on you.
8/23/10 9:22 AM
eemaw said...
I love the fabric! It looks great! Amazing price. I'll have to check my local Walmart again. I have this pattern in my stash and haven't gotten around to sewing it, but I will get it out and look at it as my next project. Thanks for the review.
9/9/10 7:51 PM
iSewQuiltArt said...
Great top, I'm about to sew this so was happy to find your review. I'm going to make it in a slub rayon knit and love the look of the neckline and sleeve gathering, as its very feminine.
12/5/10 3:21 AM
Maryna said...
Beautiful top. I also enjoy the Khaliah Ali designs.
5/30/11 9:11 AM
Cynthia Peacock said...
You answered my question: whether it was mumu-like or not. So many blouses that are gathered at the top have too much gathering. This one happily is perfect! I laughed when you spoke of your $2/yard fabric. I call this the "nonmuslin muslin" or a "wearable muslin". And I tell you what, I would have never guessed that was "sales table" fabric. I have the pattern and am going to make one this weekend! Thanks for the inspiration!
8/9/13 1:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

Buy Now
Jackets for Real People DVD

Jackets for Real People DVD

Buy Now