Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5283 (Asymmetric Twist Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 892 times 23 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/19/10 9:50 AM
Last Updated:3/18/11 11:45 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
Thank you so much for the alternate method. What a cute top on you!!
8/19/10 10:41 AM
Mufffet said...
Nice tops...:) Twist thing does an an interesting touch and is so stylish!
8/19/10 11:16 AM
dingyadi said...
They look great! Both look terrific on you, and yes, very au courant! I have this pattern but haven't tried it because of the double layer thing. Your tips will be really helpful!
8/19/10 11:53 AM
poplin said...
Wow!
8/19/10 12:12 PM
squirrellypoo said...
Very cute! And the alternative finishing method sounds much more sane...
8/19/10 12:20 PM
mochimo said...
Beautiful tops! They look so much better than in the envelope drawings. And that means that I'll have to add another item to my wish list... :-)
8/19/10 2:26 PM
snuzal said...
These look great on you. I love the blue version the most. The twist looks fab, might get the pattern and try your method of finishing!
8/19/10 4:32 PM
michellep74 said...
Very cute--I like both versions. Thanks for the info on the alternate construction method.
8/19/10 4:33 PM
FreyaStark said...
Two cute tops!
8/19/10 5:50 PM
Gordita1616 said...
Yes, thank you for the alternate method. Great tops!
8/31/10 9:30 PM
AnneCarol said...
Thanks, your whole review is very helpful and your tops look great. I'm part-way through making a toile of this pattern. Should have searched Pattern Review before I started:-)
11/14/10 8:11 PM
cactusflower said...
Great job! I have this pattern and checked out the reviews to give me a heads-up on potential problems. Thanks for giving your instructions; this will help me out a great deal when I make it.
1/7/11 12:08 PM
cleverkitty said...
these look so nice on you, enjoy your biking adventure in style.
3/18/11 2:06 PM
Terri A said...
This really really looks great on you!!!! LOVE it!
3/18/11 4:38 PM
SewWil said...
Very cute tops! Super stylish cycling top.
3/18/11 5:51 PM
Taggo said...
I am about to sew this pattern and found your review extremely helpful - so glad I read it before attempting the top
3/18/11 7:04 PM
FreyaStark said...
A really cute top. That blue is wonderful, and very similar to a shade called Gitane bleu (after the cigarettes) that was fashionable in the winter of 1979.
3/18/11 7:39 PM
mad stash said...
This is why I love PR: All the creative problem solving that goes on here. What a great idea to use technical fabric to make a stylish pattern into a bike shirt! I actually think it would add to your safety on the biking tour to wear something to increase your visibility to cars. So go ahead and make the shirts as wild as you REALLY want. :D
3/18/11 8:02 PM
JillyBe said...
Just how stylish can you get for a biking top?! Fabulous! Love the color on you, love the pattern - great review! And btw, I think the sleeve shape is perfect on your body as is - it really balances you out nicely. Darn....another pattern I want!
3/19/11 12:45 PM
LynneMR said...
Great review and such pretty tops. I have a "thing" about twist tops - love them - and the asymmetric twist on the twist is very nice. Love the colours too.
4/1/11 7:26 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

StyleArc Grace Trans-seasonal Coat Grace
photo
Review by Pollycotto... on 7/22/13
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Tribeca Shirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tribeca Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern
SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Gathered Top Digital Pattern
Salme Gathered Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8923
photo
Review by Kendrasews... on 9/30/13
Read Review

Simplicity 2194 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
Simplicity 2194 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8883 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8883 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us