SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5283 (Asymmetric Twist Top)

23 more reviews
Viewed 897 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 320
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 311 people
patterns reviewed: 320
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/19/10 9:50 AM
Last Updated:3/18/11 11:45 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
Thank you so much for the alternate method. What a cute top on you!!
8/19/10 10:41 AM
Mufffet said...
Nice tops...:) Twist thing does an an interesting touch and is so stylish!
8/19/10 11:16 AM
dingyadi said...
They look great! Both look terrific on you, and yes, very au courant! I have this pattern but haven't tried it because of the double layer thing. Your tips will be really helpful!
8/19/10 11:53 AM
poplin said...
Wow!
8/19/10 12:12 PM
squirrellypoo said...
Very cute! And the alternative finishing method sounds much more sane...
8/19/10 12:20 PM
mochimo said...
Beautiful tops! They look so much better than in the envelope drawings. And that means that I'll have to add another item to my wish list... :-)
8/19/10 2:26 PM
snuzal said...
These look great on you. I love the blue version the most. The twist looks fab, might get the pattern and try your method of finishing!
8/19/10 4:32 PM
michellep74 said...
Very cute--I like both versions. Thanks for the info on the alternate construction method.
8/19/10 4:33 PM
FreyaStark said...
Two cute tops!
8/19/10 5:50 PM
Gordita1616 said...
Yes, thank you for the alternate method. Great tops!
8/31/10 9:30 PM
AnneCarol said...
Thanks, your whole review is very helpful and your tops look great. I'm part-way through making a toile of this pattern. Should have searched Pattern Review before I started:-)
11/14/10 8:11 PM
cactusflower said...
Great job! I have this pattern and checked out the reviews to give me a heads-up on potential problems. Thanks for giving your instructions; this will help me out a great deal when I make it.
1/7/11 12:08 PM
cleverkitty said...
these look so nice on you, enjoy your biking adventure in style.
3/18/11 2:06 PM
Terri A said...
This really really looks great on you!!!! LOVE it!
3/18/11 4:38 PM
SewWil said...
Very cute tops! Super stylish cycling top.
3/18/11 5:51 PM
Taggo said...
I am about to sew this pattern and found your review extremely helpful - so glad I read it before attempting the top
3/18/11 7:04 PM
FreyaStark said...
A really cute top. That blue is wonderful, and very similar to a shade called Gitane bleu (after the cigarettes) that was fashionable in the winter of 1979.
3/18/11 7:39 PM
mad stash said...
This is why I love PR: All the creative problem solving that goes on here. What a great idea to use technical fabric to make a stylish pattern into a bike shirt! I actually think it would add to your safety on the biking tour to wear something to increase your visibility to cars. So go ahead and make the shirts as wild as you REALLY want. :D
3/18/11 8:02 PM
JillyBe said...
Just how stylish can you get for a biking top?! Fabulous! Love the color on you, love the pattern - great review! And btw, I think the sleeve shape is perfect on your body as is - it really balances you out nicely. Darn....another pattern I want!
3/19/11 12:45 PM
LynneMR said...
Great review and such pretty tops. I have a "thing" about twist tops - love them - and the asymmetric twist on the twist is very nice. Love the colours too.
4/1/11 7:26 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Butterick 5351

photo
by: IreneDAdle...

Review
StyleArc Jodie Dress / Pinafore

photo
by: Anita56

Review
Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Buy Now