SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5283 (Asymmetric Twist Top)

23 more reviews
Viewed 901 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 323
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 319 people
patterns reviewed: 323
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/19/10 9:50 AM
Last Updated:3/18/11 11:45 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LynneMR said...
Great review and such pretty tops. I have a "thing" about twist tops - love them - and the asymmetric twist on the twist is very nice. Love the colours too.
4/1/11 7:26 PM
JillyBe said...
Just how stylish can you get for a biking top?! Fabulous! Love the color on you, love the pattern - great review! And btw, I think the sleeve shape is perfect on your body as is - it really balances you out nicely. Darn....another pattern I want!
3/19/11 12:45 PM
mad stash said...
This is why I love PR: All the creative problem solving that goes on here. What a great idea to use technical fabric to make a stylish pattern into a bike shirt! I actually think it would add to your safety on the biking tour to wear something to increase your visibility to cars. So go ahead and make the shirts as wild as you REALLY want. :D
3/18/11 8:02 PM
FreyaStark said...
A really cute top. That blue is wonderful, and very similar to a shade called Gitane bleu (after the cigarettes) that was fashionable in the winter of 1979.
3/18/11 7:39 PM
Taggo said...
I am about to sew this pattern and found your review extremely helpful - so glad I read it before attempting the top
3/18/11 7:04 PM
SewWil said...
Very cute tops! Super stylish cycling top.
3/18/11 5:51 PM
Terri A said...
This really really looks great on you!!!! LOVE it!
3/18/11 4:38 PM
cleverkitty said...
these look so nice on you, enjoy your biking adventure in style.
3/18/11 2:06 PM
cactusflower said...
Great job! I have this pattern and checked out the reviews to give me a heads-up on potential problems. Thanks for giving your instructions; this will help me out a great deal when I make it.
1/7/11 12:08 PM
AnneCarol said...
Thanks, your whole review is very helpful and your tops look great. I'm part-way through making a toile of this pattern. Should have searched Pattern Review before I started:-)
11/14/10 8:11 PM
Gordita1616 said...
Yes, thank you for the alternate method. Great tops!
8/31/10 9:30 PM
FreyaStark said...
Two cute tops!
8/19/10 5:50 PM
michellep74 said...
Very cute--I like both versions. Thanks for the info on the alternate construction method.
8/19/10 4:33 PM
snuzal said...
These look great on you. I love the blue version the most. The twist looks fab, might get the pattern and try your method of finishing!
8/19/10 4:32 PM
mochimo said...
Beautiful tops! They look so much better than in the envelope drawings. And that means that I'll have to add another item to my wish list... :-)
8/19/10 2:26 PM
squirrellypoo said...
Very cute! And the alternative finishing method sounds much more sane...
8/19/10 12:20 PM
poplin said...
Wow!
8/19/10 12:12 PM
dingyadi said...
They look great! Both look terrific on you, and yes, very au courant! I have this pattern but haven't tried it because of the double layer thing. Your tips will be really helpful!
8/19/10 11:53 AM
Mufffet said...
Nice tops...:) Twist thing does an an interesting touch and is so stylish!
8/19/10 11:16 AM
marec said...
Thank you so much for the alternate method. What a cute top on you!!
8/19/10 10:41 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Other Autumn love

photo
by: MiniandMer...

Review
You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

Buy Now