Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3242 (skirts and tops) thumbsup - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 2342 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:drsue
photo
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 184 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/23/04 4:11 PM
Last Updated:2/27/05 1:02 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $11.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mini said...
I NEVER struggle with a pattern that doesn't work on a first or second attempt. Life is too short. Some patterns just don't work and that is that:). This type of wide neckline top with cut-on sleeves looks so easy in concept, but it is actually rather difficult to fit and wear, especially for very petite women. It takes a very broad shoulder to "anchor" this style.However, if you wish to keep going on this one, here are a few ideas. Perhaps you could make this pattern fit better by adding a front and back center seam. Then you can do a basted fitting and take in where needed before doing the final stitching. Regarding a faced neckline on knits, I occasionally see this on ready to wear. It is used when there is a need to stabilize the neckline to support embroidery, button plackets, zippers, or other decorative elements. If you prefer to serge, or turn and topstitch the edge, just do it! You are the best judge of what method works for your fabric.
5/23/04 4:31 PM
sewgirl said...
Dr Sue, I can always tell yuor beautiful work just from the photograph from the home page!! On the Threads magazine web site, there is a video about ataching a neck binding to a knit. That might be helpful to you :)
5/23/04 4:32 PM
MaryBeth said...
I'd say, from what you've told us, that it's the fabric you're using that's causing the edges to stand up rather than lie against the body. You're using facing, right? Each stitch is adding thread and bulk to the seamline and when you turn and topstitch, you're adding more bulk. A "save" would be to zigzag on some nice stretch trim, pulling slightly to draw up the fabric. And these sleeves do not look very "capped" to me either. Next time you can elongate the shoulder line with and downward curving shoulder cap as I'm sure you've made a note to do. I love the pink, though, and I'd wear it! No one knows it needs more "cap" but us chickens!
5/23/04 4:34 PM
jlg said...
Drsue, I tried this pattern with a rayon lycra and made a small based on my measurements. The shoulders were way too wide (I don't have narrow shoulders at all), and I had the same problem with the neckline. I was going to make it in an XS because I liked the simple lines and neckline of this pattern, but based on your review, I think that I'll skip it. Although I'm sorry that you had so much trouble with it, it's reassuring to know that it wasn't just me.
5/23/04 6:34 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I know and understand your frustration. Go to Thread magazine website. Type in knit necklines in the search area. Click on attaching knit necklines. Great video. The articile is in the April/May 2003 Threads. I use this technique now instead of facing and other means of attaching knit neck bindings and I get great results. Sorry this pattern did not work out but love the color of your top.
5/23/04 7:11 PM
Neefer said...
I love cap sleeves. I'm plus sized. And wide necklines look better on me than tight necklines probably because my neck is thick/fat. So my guess is that it's not a good style for small women. I love your top; the color is wonderful.
5/23/04 9:09 PM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Oh, but the top looks so pretty on the dressform! I bought this pattern, too, only for the skirt - which I hope to try this week. Maybe you'd like the skirt, too, and the pattern won't be a total loss.
5/23/04 9:43 PM
gabrielle said...
I've used the facing method, and thought it worked well if I cut the facing shorter than the neckline it and stretched it to fit as one would a binding. I've used facing on boat necks and v-necklines, but not on something this wide. One thing about the video that might not be so helpful is that it shows the binding seamed into a circle before application. I often don't do this, because I like to stretch the binding quite a bit on the curved areas around the shoulders, and less so in the flatter spots. It seems to help fine-tune gappy necklines, but who knows...in any event, your top really looks pretty, and I'm sorry it didn't work out. I do love the shape and color.
5/23/04 11:16 PM
drsue said...
mini: yes, I should have known better, the fewer the pattern pieces, the less room for error there is. Mary Beth: great idea! I don't have any stretch trim currently so I will have to do this later. jlg: interesting that even with wide shoulders this didn't work for you. Did you use the facing as instructed? Were your sleeves cap-like? sewgirl & Linda: I have seen and used the threads article but I never looked at the video. I usually use the threads technique but decided I would use KS's directions. Oopsey: I may make the skirt. My DH has two just like it she bought from Nordstroms. They are made in an interlock and the hem is unfinished - how's that for easy.
5/23/04 11:22 PM
JDpenelope said...
Well, it sure looks good on the form, but from the back view, I do see what you mean. What I get from your review and the comments is that the neckline/shoulder cap on this pattern is probably too wide and also maybe it's not a good idea, at least not with some knits, to use facing with knits...? I just watched the video and picked up a few pointers. Mostly--so far--I've had good luck serging "ribbing" out of the fashion fabric to necklines on knits, but you don't always want that look. Tis a puzzlement.
5/24/04 1:25 AM
mag said...
It looks pretty in the picture. One would never know that it was so difficult to fit.
5/24/04 4:57 PM
cindyann said...
I'm so glad that you got this pattern to work for you. Your mistake on the neckline became an asset. I think that treatment is very pretty.
2/27/05 3:07 PM
Hilary said...
YAH! So glad you got it to work-I think I tried to fit KS's famous wrap top 5-6 times before I finally got it. I was too stubborn to let it win, lol. It looks really pretty, I love the color! Great save on the inside out facing, it looks intentional.
2/27/05 5:20 PM
MickeyFan said...
There is nothing worse than struggling with something you think should take an hour to make up. I admire your perserverance with fitting this top. I really like the neckline, and I may just pick up this pattern myself. You are not the only one who has this experience with KS tops. I have to go down a size and then take it in some. Unfortunately, I see you don't have any smaller sizes to go to! Great job with the neckline detail. I like it and may give it a try.
2/27/05 8:56 PM
Cornelia said...
What a success! You managed to porduce a well fitted top with only two pieces of cloth. Not many places to do any fitting, but you did it. Fitting a much more complicated pattern would probably have been much easier.
2/28/05 2:24 PM
valerie sews said...
Sue, I have trouble getting this type of neckline to fit and I have a sturdy set of shoulders, beleive me. Try taking some width out of the CF and CB by placing the pattern peice 1/4" (or more) over the edge of the pattern. You are on a fitting learning curve. I say Go for it.
3/2/05 0:23 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

New Look 6620
photo
Review by Kaitlinneg... on 1/15/07
Read Review

New Look 6352 Pattern
New Look 6352 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6006 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 6006 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

brerrabbit.com Adele - Violette Field Th
photo
Review by thornberry on 1/5/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )
Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us