Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 2694 (Wrap top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2147 times 106 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 192
Favored by: 388 people
patterns reviewed: 179
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/23/04 5:43 PM
Last Updated:5/24/04 11:11 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mel.J said...
Hi Deb, I think this looks alright. The side shaping looks great. I don't know what you think about Trinny & Susannah but they would say definitely experiment with this style &/or a full wrap front. Maybe try a slightly wider neckline & keep the depth, it's not at all indecent (perhaps that's personal preference). Also something from T&S, try shoes that don't come right up around your ankle to 'visually extend the leg'. I have yet to revisit this pattern, I wasn't all that happy with my attempt either, but I think the style is worth a second go. T&S have brainwashed me! I'm intrigued by your idea to modify J2005 - if you do it please review.
5/23/04 6:15 PM
jlg said...
Debbie, I like the neckline on you. I definitely don't think that it is immodest.
5/23/04 6:25 PM
PegL said...
Debbie, I too like the neckline on you! Both the American and the British "What Not to Wear" shows suggest v-necks for we gals that are well endowed. It's actually more flattering than other styles on us. Yours looks very nice and is not the least indecent! Besides -- if you've got it, flaunt it! A lot of gals pay to get what we've been given naturally!
5/23/04 7:05 PM
Modiste Madness said...
You do excellent work. I agree with the others. I like the tshirt on you. In fact, you and I have similiar body types and I was going to avoid that view of the pattern for myself. I think I might reconsider it now.
5/23/04 7:56 PM
drsue said...
I don't have the excess up top problem so if this is a dumb inquiry please excuse me but have you tried it with different bras? Maybe you'd like it if things were pushed into different areas. Also: do you like your new coverstitch machine? I've been contemplating getting one.
5/23/04 8:41 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Thanks everyone! I actually DO like the neckline, just think it could be a smidge higher. Mel, you're right of course about the shoes. These were just the easiest to grab. I'll definitely do a review of the Jalie alteration. PegL ... NO ONE would want (for free or otherwise!) what I've got without a bra. LOL!! Dr. Sue, not a dumb question ... I am wearing my best-fitting bra -- one that I made myself and things are situated the best they can be. :-) I LOVE my CS machine!! It is so nice to move from serger, to sewing machine, to CS without having to switch over anything. I should've NOT bought the TOL serger with a CS, and just bought the CS-only at the same time. I never use the CS on my serger!
5/23/04 9:45 PM
Teri said...
Debbie, your top looks much better than my attempt at this view. My empire waist seam is all distorted and I have wrinkles on the cross over piece. I made up the other view and I just love it. The neckline stays put and no funky seams. I think your top looks great on you and I agree with you about the longer skirt.
5/23/04 10:40 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Like the others I think the top looks very good on you. Longer skirt edit of photo looks nice also, that is not a bad tip to suggest. It might help many like myself to play around with versions on photos then carry it over to designing the look. Tell me more about your CS. I did not know they had just a CS available.
5/24/04 5:45 AM
Linda E. said...
Debbie your top looks good on you . My attempt at this pattern didn't work for me but I am going to play around with wrap tops I want one that works. the Neck line looks good on you. you might try wearing a camsole under it so a bit of lace peeks out.
5/24/04 6:56 AM
JDpenelope said...
Deb, Nice job. Well, I have to agree with others that the style is good for you. I do agree with you about the sleeve position, though. BTW, when I bought my serger, the sales person talked me out of getting a machine with a coverstitch--she said to do what you have done, just buy a separate machine: Too much fiddling with machine settings means you won't use the built-in cs she said.
5/24/04 7:21 AM
Hilary said...
Debbie, I agree with everyone! I think this looks beautiful on you! I have tried and tried w/ this pattern and mine(like Linda L) looks very distorted and there are wrinkles are everywhere! I have a large bust and didn't think it would ever work for me. I wish I could get mine to fit so smoothly and well like yours. Any hints? :o) thanks for the review and for giving me hope :p
5/24/04 7:26 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Debbie, I actually think it looks quite nice on you. Since I've tried View A again, I've made about five versions!
5/24/04 8:55 AM
MaryBeth said...
Debbie: I love seeing this review with an open query. We've got great minds here and it's sew much fun to read the input. I was troubled by the wrinkles in this top, too, so I'm thinking that the wrap in front extends a tad too far from the center for my build. I plan on playing with it a bit and trying the other view also. I topstitched on some stretch elastic and maybe got it a tad tight. I recommend using the stretch elastic to hold the neckline together but not as tight as mine!
5/24/04 10:26 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Hey everyone ... I see that Jalie now has a crossover top of their own!! I am still going to try to modify my 2005, but I'm going to be ordering this new one as well.
5/24/04 11:51 AM
MaryBeth said...
WooHoo, is that a cool pattern or what? http://www.jalie.com/catalog/casual.html#2449
5/24/04 12:08 PM
Debbie Cook said...
MaryBeth, oh YES!! I'm gonna be ordering it ASAP. I'm hoping that I can lay it over my modified 2005 and just start cutting. Just call me Pollyanna ...
5/24/04 1:07 PM
mag said...
It looks like a comfortable top. It is hard to notice the fit problems you mentioned. Only you would know. Blue is your color. I especially like the blue embroidered blouse in your photo album.
5/24/04 4:52 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Pin-up Girls PB-3200
photo
Review by Ros B. on 8/9/13
Read Review

Vogue 8630 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 8630 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1916 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1916 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6026 Misses' Tops
photo
Review by LizzieInBr... on 10/14/12
Read Review

Oliver + S Nature Walk Pullover & Knit Pants Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Nature Walk Pullover & Knit Pants Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Pernille Pencil Dress Digital Pattern Size C
Maria Denmark Pernille Pencil Dress Digital Pattern Size C

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 502 Pattern
Petite Plus 502 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)
Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us