SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2694 (Wrap top)

106 more reviews
Viewed 2149 times 
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo

 
 
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 196
Favored by: 394 people
patterns reviewed: 183
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/23/04 5:43 PM
Last Updated:5/24/04 11:11 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mag said...
It looks like a comfortable top. It is hard to notice the fit problems you mentioned. Only you would know. Blue is your color. I especially like the blue embroidered blouse in your photo album.
5/24/04 4:52 PM
Debbie Cook said...
MaryBeth, oh YES!! I'm gonna be ordering it ASAP. I'm hoping that I can lay it over my modified 2005 and just start cutting. Just call me Pollyanna ...
5/24/04 1:07 PM
MaryBeth said...
WooHoo, is that a cool pattern or what? http://www.jalie.com/catalog/casual.html#2449
5/24/04 12:08 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Hey everyone ... I see that Jalie now has a crossover top of their own!! I am still going to try to modify my 2005, but I'm going to be ordering this new one as well.
5/24/04 11:51 AM
MaryBeth said...
Debbie: I love seeing this review with an open query. We've got great minds here and it's sew much fun to read the input. I was troubled by the wrinkles in this top, too, so I'm thinking that the wrap in front extends a tad too far from the center for my build. I plan on playing with it a bit and trying the other view also. I topstitched on some stretch elastic and maybe got it a tad tight. I recommend using the stretch elastic to hold the neckline together but not as tight as mine!
5/24/04 10:26 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Debbie, I actually think it looks quite nice on you. Since I've tried View A again, I've made about five versions!
5/24/04 8:55 AM
Hilary said...
Debbie, I agree with everyone! I think this looks beautiful on you! I have tried and tried w/ this pattern and mine(like Linda L) looks very distorted and there are wrinkles are everywhere! I have a large bust and didn't think it would ever work for me. I wish I could get mine to fit so smoothly and well like yours. Any hints? :o) thanks for the review and for giving me hope :p
5/24/04 7:26 AM
JDpenelope said...
Deb, Nice job. Well, I have to agree with others that the style is good for you. I do agree with you about the sleeve position, though. BTW, when I bought my serger, the sales person talked me out of getting a machine with a coverstitch--she said to do what you have done, just buy a separate machine: Too much fiddling with machine settings means you won't use the built-in cs she said.
5/24/04 7:21 AM
Linda E. said...
Debbie your top looks good on you . My attempt at this pattern didn't work for me but I am going to play around with wrap tops I want one that works. the Neck line looks good on you. you might try wearing a camsole under it so a bit of lace peeks out.
5/24/04 6:56 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Like the others I think the top looks very good on you. Longer skirt edit of photo looks nice also, that is not a bad tip to suggest. It might help many like myself to play around with versions on photos then carry it over to designing the look. Tell me more about your CS. I did not know they had just a CS available.
5/24/04 5:45 AM
Teri said...
Debbie, your top looks much better than my attempt at this view. My empire waist seam is all distorted and I have wrinkles on the cross over piece. I made up the other view and I just love it. The neckline stays put and no funky seams. I think your top looks great on you and I agree with you about the longer skirt.
5/23/04 10:40 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Thanks everyone! I actually DO like the neckline, just think it could be a smidge higher. Mel, you're right of course about the shoes. These were just the easiest to grab. I'll definitely do a review of the Jalie alteration. PegL ... NO ONE would want (for free or otherwise!) what I've got without a bra. LOL!! Dr. Sue, not a dumb question ... I am wearing my best-fitting bra -- one that I made myself and things are situated the best they can be. :-) I LOVE my CS machine!! It is so nice to move from serger, to sewing machine, to CS without having to switch over anything. I should've NOT bought the TOL serger with a CS, and just bought the CS-only at the same time. I never use the CS on my serger!
5/23/04 9:45 PM
drsue said...
I don't have the excess up top problem so if this is a dumb inquiry please excuse me but have you tried it with different bras? Maybe you'd like it if things were pushed into different areas. Also: do you like your new coverstitch machine? I've been contemplating getting one.
5/23/04 8:41 PM
Modiste Madness said...
You do excellent work. I agree with the others. I like the tshirt on you. In fact, you and I have similiar body types and I was going to avoid that view of the pattern for myself. I think I might reconsider it now.
5/23/04 7:56 PM
PegL said...
Debbie, I too like the neckline on you! Both the American and the British "What Not to Wear" shows suggest v-necks for we gals that are well endowed. It's actually more flattering than other styles on us. Yours looks very nice and is not the least indecent! Besides -- if you've got it, flaunt it! A lot of gals pay to get what we've been given naturally!
5/23/04 7:05 PM
jlg said...
Debbie, I like the neckline on you. I definitely don't think that it is immodest.
5/23/04 6:25 PM
Mel.J said...
Hi Deb, I think this looks alright. The side shaping looks great. I don't know what you think about Trinny & Susannah but they would say definitely experiment with this style &/or a full wrap front. Maybe try a slightly wider neckline & keep the depth, it's not at all indecent (perhaps that's personal preference). Also something from T&S, try shoes that don't come right up around your ankle to 'visually extend the leg'. I have yet to revisit this pattern, I wasn't all that happy with my attempt either, but I think the style is worth a second go. T&S have brainwashed me! I'm intrigued by your idea to modify J2005 - if you do it please review.
5/23/04 6:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Vogue Patterns 9949 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Butterick 5815

photo
by: Heatherriq...

Review