Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1177 (Misses/Misses' Petite Dress an) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 682 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 21 people   
Reviewed by:Foozy
photo
About Foozystar
WA USA
Member since: 8/21/10
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/21/10 7:07 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lovenicky said...
Sorry you had such a hard time with this pattern. But it's good that you can wear it after all that hard work! Thanks for the detailed review. I am nowhere near your level of sewing expertise so I will stay away from this pattern!
8/21/10 7:57 PM
moushka said...
Beautiful dress! Thanks for such a thorough review. I love the pattern and your dress is really inspiring me. Since I don't have much opportunity to wear dresses, do you think this would work as a tunic, without the skirt part? Despite the work of the pintucks, I think the results are worth it.
8/21/10 8:14 PM
JanieBee said...
Looks lovely. It would be nice to see a photo of whole garment.
8/21/10 8:38 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Excellent result... looks pretty... and world class review. Informative & entertaining to us PR readers... many thanks!
8/22/10 9:39 AM
becca a said...
All that pleating looks lovely in your picture--what a lot of hard work.
8/22/10 10:38 AM
Foozy said...
To Moushka -- it would definitely work as a tunic. I had hoped to wear it that way myself, with leggings, but it turned out to be too long. That said, I wore it to dinner last night bare-legged with sandals and it was perfect. To JaneBe: thanks so much! I did have a whole garment photo but it didn't upload. (I'll get the hang of this eventually!) And the photo didn't tell you much more about the garment anyway. To all: When I finished this dress, I was just bursting with ideas to improve it, and, though I always write extensive notes to myself on the pattern envelope, it didn't seem like enough. I googled the pattern # and VOILA! up comes this site! What a fantastically useful place!
8/22/10 3:50 PM
barbcl said...
What you've photographed shows a really lovely garment. Thanks for the fantastic review. Congratulations on your success in making the pattern.
8/22/10 8:50 PM
janet said...
Gorgeous dress, can't wait to see you in a photo wearing it!
8/23/10 5:55 PM
donna mel said...
Great review. I'm a tiny pleat lover, but yikes, this pattern sounds scary! Would love to see more photos!!
8/24/10 9:07 PM
Foozy said...
To Donna Mel: the pleats are tedious, but not scary, once you discard the instructions ;) And very, very pretty.
8/25/10 8:04 PM
MidnightBleu said...
Thanks so much for writing this review! I bought this pattern on Ebay and am going to make it for our anniversary dinner on the 25th. Your call on lengthing the top and sewing the casing (as 1 piece, not 3) is a great tip for this pattern. It's one of those things you wouldn't think about until you started sewing. Kudos, Foozy, you've made my life easier. Beautiful job on the dress. Great review.
5/18/12 12:07 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Vogue Patterns 2815 Halter top
photo
Review by SueV on 7/5/04
Read Review

Pattern Runway Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sophia Scallop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sophia Scallop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 2880 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by Mary Themo... on 11/2/13
Read Review

Full Bust DVD
Full Bust DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Ikina Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Ikina Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2789 Pattern
Jalie 2789 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6441 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6441 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us