SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2404 (Misses Dresses)

11 more reviews
Viewed 1228 times 
Reviewed by:lareine
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About lareinestar
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 11/10/06
Reviews written: 33
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 33
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/24/10 0:50 AM
Last Updated:8/24/10 0:53 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mm said...
I think it fits you very well and it looks smart.
8/24/10 1:45 AM
jillnjosh said...
Do you have a pic of your pattern FBA? I was wondering how much you added to your side piece, as it looks like you have some gathering on the center piece at the bust. Also, which view did you sew? If it was view B, then it looks like you might have started with a pattern that is too large for your frame, as it looks like the shoulder is sitting a bit far out. To be honest, it doesn't look bad, but being a large busted person myself (14G), I can sympathise with your fitting issues.
8/24/10 4:15 AM
lareine said...
I think the "gathering" is just the fabric pulling because I was not standing straight for the photo, combined with my inferior princess-seam sewing :) I don't know where the pattern is at the moment, but I'll try to update this review with more information on the FBA if/when I make this particular dress again. I know it needs work still! You are quite correct about my using too large a size for the shoulder on View B. This is something I only realised recently (I made this dress several weeks ago) and I'm still struggling to choose the right size for various parts of me. I just put up a review of Butterick 4443 and had the same shoulder problem with that one. I could probably go down to an 18 for my shoulders and neckline, which I'm only learning about now. Thank you both for the comments!
8/24/10 4:29 AM
snuzal said...
I think this actually looks really nice on you! Would love to see it in black and possibly add in a white/cream/silver satin piping? Did you happen to see Rachel on Shortland Sts dress? It was very similar pattern wise to this and looked amazing. This looks a very versatile pattern, and as I said, I think you look great in it! Edited to add - I'd totally discounted this pattern. But after seeing it on you, I think I may have to get it, I love view C. You enabler you ;)
8/24/10 4:52 AM
lareine said...
Eeeek, piping? Not sure I'm ready to go there just yet! But I will bear it in mind for when I am feeling braver :)
8/24/10 5:13 AM
Hilary said...
I also think this looks really nice on you! Its a great style, and piping (don't shriek, lol!) *would* really look fantastic :D Practice on a pillow case or something first!
8/24/10 9:00 AM
MNBarb said...
First of all, the photos for these "amazing fit" patterns HAVE to be airbrushed. Fabric never just sits in that well-behaved fashion. So DON'T be discouraged if you don't look like the model. I can't imagine how you are making dresses that are fitted without a zip, you must have some kind of Houdini way of getting dressed. I think this dress looks quite nice on you and is very flattering to your figure.
8/24/10 11:46 AM
persevering said...
Wow, I think this dress is flattering for you! Hope you persevere and make more. IMHOt will make you feel better about it
8/24/10 12:12 PM
persevering said...
Wow, I think this dress is flattering for you! Hope you persevere and make more. IMHOt will make you feel better about it
8/24/10 12:12 PM
persevering said...
Whoops, I clicked before I had corrected and completed my above posting. Anyways... practise makes perfect... I really think you are onto something with this dress ... you look great in it!
8/24/10 12:15 PM
1SewSweet said...
Love the color and I understand about the fitting issues! Good you didn't use an expensive wool crepe the first time around! I have this pattern and have not made it yet, happy to hear the instructions were easy to follow!
8/25/10 5:24 PM
marec said...
You look wonderful in this dress. Whatever details you would like to improve will not be obvious to the general public. Wear with pride!!
8/25/10 5:34 PM
sewtea said...
You said you did not like this dress on you but I have just looked at several of your reviews for skirt another dress and I think this dress is VERY flattering on you and so is the color. thanks for taking the time to review.
9/1/10 2:38 PM
dressy 123 said...
Just started making this. My high bust is 36 and my bust 38.5. I believe I should be using size 16C. I know this will make the neckline area to large. Started with size 12 C cup pattern, spent sometime altering using Nancy Zieman's fitting instructions. First fitting appears to be good and I feel optimistic that this will be a great wardrobe building pattern.
9/24/10 6:43 AM
teagg said...
Lareine. (edited to correct the iPhone's correcting delights. Typed thru gritted teeth). I think this dress looks really good and very flattering on you. I think it might be worth at least another go. It might also be worth looking on NAncy's Notions website in the Us to see if you can watch her tv section on pattern fitting. She has an interesting take on how to ascertain the initial pattern size you should pick. She measures across the chest/upper bust from arm/torso crease to other side's torso/arm crease. Well she gets someone else to do it! It sounds more complicated here than when you see her doing it. Anyway it might give you a different perspective on the upper body fitting! Good luck! Rgds, Gillian
9/27/10 8:22 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Simplicity 7161

photo
by: Judy Kski

Review
Vogue Patterns 8825

photo
by: Lucinda

Review
SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Buy Now