Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7726 (Tote bags and cell phone case) - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 2491 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:sailonsilvergirl
photo
About sailonsilvergirlstar
IL USA
Member since: 6/20/03
Reviews written: 29
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/25/04 10:55 PM
Last Updated:5/25/04 10:59 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CatherineN said...
This is a good looking, useful bag. I like the way you made the handles.
5/25/04 11:05 PM
Katy M said...
Wow this looks even better than the patter photo! I love the leather, it looks really professional. I hope your Mum loves it!
5/26/04 2:49 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
What an informative review! You sewed this thoughtfully and very well. Your mom will be honored, and thank you for sharing!
5/26/04 5:18 AM
noreend said...
Gorgeous bag! Love the leather, but wonder if you had any trouble sewing it? I guess I should just try it too, then I'll know!
5/26/04 5:27 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking bag. Your mother will just love this, I would!!! Great job and the review was very helpful. What site on eBay did you get the leather. Makes the bag look very professional.
5/26/04 5:57 AM
marya said...
Great review. I love the treble clef, the thoughtful touches, and the really useful tips.
5/26/04 8:13 AM
debbie.w said...
Your bag looks great! I sew bags also -- I'll have to try this pattern! : )
5/26/04 8:32 AM
Liana said...
Very cute. The lining with its personal touches is extra nice, and the key hook is a great idea.
5/26/04 8:39 AM
Teri said...
Great bag, great review! Thanks.
5/26/04 9:26 AM
Hilary said...
what a beatiful bag! You can't possibly be a beginner, I would say you underestimate yourself! Your patience(slow sewing :o) ) has produced a really unique and wonderful tote I'm sure your parents will love. Thanks for the tip about the handle-looks really good!
5/26/04 1:07 PM
JDpenelope said...
All of your touches are so thoughtful--you learned from past experience and made the most of it with this bag. I'm amazed that you got such good results with leather as a beginner--did you use a leather needle? Love the treble clef--but I think it's so clever and nice-- it should be on the outside!
5/28/04 5:54 AM
sailonsilvergirl said...
Thank you everyone for your nice comments! This is really encouraging & make me want to sew more so I can post more. Regarding the leather, I have leather needles and microtex needles which I think have been recommended for leather, but I used universal needles. The leather needles kept making the leather "jump" & skip. The universal needle (I have a multi-size pack & honestly didn't check size) worked BETTER than leather needle believe it or not. I'm not super informed of the effect of holes from various size needles in the leather & whether universal may weaken the leather. I'm planning to get Sandy Scrivano's book on sewing leather. Regarding where on eBay to get leather, I think if you search for leather remnants or "leather for sewing" -- some search term that would pull up leather that's not sewed already -- you'll find a lot of sellers. I've bought small pieces from leatherwise, & those are nice leathers & sized for tote bags and other smaller projects.
5/31/04 8:09 AM
Sew it seams said...
What a great bag!! Your review is excellent and very helpful. Especially your tip on using the leather on the top side only of the handle. Besides making it sewable, it's a great looking detail.
6/2/04 7:20 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

McCall's 5624
photo
Review by Creative L... on 10/13/10
Read Review

McCalls 6843 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6843 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1418 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 1418 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3529 Jackets
photo
Review by CynthiaSue on 4/30/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sabrina Shirttail Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sabrina Shirttail Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Frayed Rosette Digital Pattern FREE
Sis Boom Frayed Rosette Digital Pattern FREE

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us