Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 07-2010-118 (Peplum Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 727 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Birgitte
photo
About Birgittestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/28/04
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 128 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/26/10 7:26 PM
Last Updated:8/26/10 7:28 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Catbird said...
How beautiful! I'm amazed by your expert handling of that difficult (and gorgeous) fabric. The seaming, sleeve caps, EVERYTHING really, is extraordinary to look at. I wish I could see it on. Love the zipper pulls. This jacket is on my project list, so I'm especially grateful to have you as a guide when I get started on it. Thank you!
8/26/10 8:10 PM
Terri A said...
Super nice! The fabric is stunning.
8/26/10 9:53 PM
Aixoise said...
Your beading is amazing. What an accomplishment! The whole jacket comes together beautifully. Definitely one of a kind - of the high-end variety.
8/26/10 10:09 PM
carolynw said...
TYhi is a show stopper - gorgeous and your work is just so perfect. The fabric helps to make this so very distinctive.
8/26/10 10:14 PM
DaisyEsq said...
Stunning and masterfully done!
8/26/10 10:24 PM
marec said...
Thank you so much for sharing this extraordinary project. I learn so much reading reviews of garments that are so far beyond my competency right now. I am entranced with the fabric-and the lining! It shows as an apple green on my screen...so vibrant! Beautiful and interesting.
8/27/10 0:43 AM
manola6176 said...
This another absolute maspterpiece
8/27/10 4:55 AM
Lori V said...
Beautiful jacket, Brigitte, your work is always so amazing and your reviews so informative.
8/27/10 7:01 AM
Nancy K said...
Gorgeous as always
8/27/10 8:31 AM
Nancy K said...
Gorgeous as always
8/27/10 8:31 AM
sugarduck said...
Amazing work! Thanks for this review!
8/27/10 9:24 AM
ChristinePDX said...
This is fantastic, I was dying to see this pattern made up with the peplum variation, and to see how it could be worked when done in another fabric than leather. Very inspiring review and garment.
8/27/10 10:44 AM
michellep74 said...
Absolutely gorgeous! I love how this looks in the metallic fabric. Everything about your jacket is stunning!
8/27/10 11:24 AM
DorothyK said...
Absolutely amazing. Thanks for the great review.
8/27/10 12:12 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Exquisite, Birgitte! Love the chartruse lining and beaded pull, too. Having deciphered the instructions, your review will be must-read for anyone attempting this sleek garment. Lovely, Lily
8/27/10 3:50 PM
ChristineX said...
GREAT take on that jacket!! Love it!!
8/28/10 1:09 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
Thank you SO MUCH for your helpful review and photos. I've spent my evenings this week tracing the pattern and wondering how it's all supposed to go together.
9/1/10 11:12 AM
Donna Likes Golf said...
Wow!! I am speechless. Absolutely beautiful!
9/1/10 8:07 PM
inkstain said...
Birgitte, I'm such a fan, I'm wondering where you are and why you've stopped blogging. I miss your great "eye."
10/19/11 9:07 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

New Look 6674
photo
Review by myeclectic... on 6/7/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Sketchbook Shirt + Shorts Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Sketchbook Shirt + Shorts Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Lemon Drop Dress Digital Pattern ( XXS-L)
SBCC Patterns Lemon Drop Dress Digital Pattern ( XXS-L)

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6003 Misses' Skirts
photo
Review by ak21 on 10/9/13
Read Review

PerfectFuse Medium White
PerfectFuse Medium White

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 151 Pattern
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6709 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
McCalls 6709 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1450 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )
Simplicity 1450 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us