SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6190 (skirt)

15 more reviews
Viewed 1907 times 
Reviewed by:sewywabbit
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About sewywabbitstar
WA USA
Member since: 3/7/02
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/26/04 5:07 PM
Last Updated:5/26/04 5:19 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewywabbit said...
LOL Candyo, especially funny since she IS a Catholic schoolgirl!
5/29/04 2:15 PM
candyo said...
Great skirt! Yes, I'd watch out for the guys when she's wearing this- for some reason they really go bezerk over the 'catholic schoolgirl' look.
5/28/04 8:44 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Cute. Like the waistband treatment
5/27/04 7:40 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Cute skirt!! Oh to be 18 again and able to wear a short PLAID skirt. NOT!! I really like the trim and bias waist. Nice extras! Harriet, I don't think I could sew without my glue!!
5/27/04 4:41 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Thank for help with this. I'll let you know in some future review if I'm successful with your method. Sounds easy, but glue scares me.
5/27/04 3:10 PM
sewywabbit said...
Thanks everyone for all the nice comments. Harriet, I pressed the seam allowance of the front flap toward the front rather than the back, trimmed it to 1/4" and glue basted ribbon with dots of a product called Roxanne's Glue Baste. I mitered the corner, and stitched in the well right next to the edge of the ribbon on both sides of the ribbon. Needed to do this in daylight as my eyes are starting to go and picking stitches out of the ribbon would not have been fun. Then I just continued construction as normal.
5/27/04 3:04 PM
jen_e said...
Wow, I really like that fabric! Love the ribbon too. Beautiful job!
5/27/04 2:27 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
This is adorable, and your daughter will soon find out that guys heads will be turning when she wears this. I have one question. When you say you stitched the grosgrain ribbon to the front, how did you do it? Does it turn over to the otherside like a binding or did you just attach to the front. Either way, how is it finished: stitch in the ditch? or sewn how far away from edge? I'd love to use this treatment on a skirt I'm making. Thanks, and tell your daughter I think she has a "winner" for a Mom!
5/27/04 8:37 AM
cindyann said...
CUTE! I'm sure your daughter will wear it often.
5/27/04 7:12 AM
Katy M said...
I love this pattern, I've made the wrap skirt and the pants, and both fit me perfectly with no alterations! Let me know how the pleated skirt turns out because I'd like to make that one too!
5/26/04 9:07 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
The skirt is so adorable! DD is very lucky to have a fashion savvy and creative mom.
5/26/04 8:14 PM
Levone said...
Your skirt is very cute. The black trimming addition gives it that "extra" something.
5/26/04 6:08 PM
Meredith P said...
This is so cute! I can just picture this on a teenager. Love the kilt comment!
5/26/04 6:08 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 7854

photo
by: lamstu

Review
Japanese Pattern Books Stylish Dress Book 1

photo
by: JustineSew...

Review
Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

More Info
You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

More Info