SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6190 (skirt)

15 more reviews
Viewed 1907 times 
Reviewed by:sewywabbit
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About sewywabbitstar
WA USA
Member since: 3/7/02
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/26/04 5:07 PM
Last Updated:5/26/04 5:19 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Meredith P said...
This is so cute! I can just picture this on a teenager. Love the kilt comment!
5/26/04 6:08 PM
Levone said...
Your skirt is very cute. The black trimming addition gives it that "extra" something.
5/26/04 6:08 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
The skirt is so adorable! DD is very lucky to have a fashion savvy and creative mom.
5/26/04 8:14 PM
Katy M said...
I love this pattern, I've made the wrap skirt and the pants, and both fit me perfectly with no alterations! Let me know how the pleated skirt turns out because I'd like to make that one too!
5/26/04 9:07 PM
cindyann said...
CUTE! I'm sure your daughter will wear it often.
5/27/04 7:12 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
This is adorable, and your daughter will soon find out that guys heads will be turning when she wears this. I have one question. When you say you stitched the grosgrain ribbon to the front, how did you do it? Does it turn over to the otherside like a binding or did you just attach to the front. Either way, how is it finished: stitch in the ditch? or sewn how far away from edge? I'd love to use this treatment on a skirt I'm making. Thanks, and tell your daughter I think she has a "winner" for a Mom!
5/27/04 8:37 AM
jen_e said...
Wow, I really like that fabric! Love the ribbon too. Beautiful job!
5/27/04 2:27 PM
sewywabbit said...
Thanks everyone for all the nice comments. Harriet, I pressed the seam allowance of the front flap toward the front rather than the back, trimmed it to 1/4" and glue basted ribbon with dots of a product called Roxanne's Glue Baste. I mitered the corner, and stitched in the well right next to the edge of the ribbon on both sides of the ribbon. Needed to do this in daylight as my eyes are starting to go and picking stitches out of the ribbon would not have been fun. Then I just continued construction as normal.
5/27/04 3:04 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Thank for help with this. I'll let you know in some future review if I'm successful with your method. Sounds easy, but glue scares me.
5/27/04 3:10 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Cute skirt!! Oh to be 18 again and able to wear a short PLAID skirt. NOT!! I really like the trim and bias waist. Nice extras! Harriet, I don't think I could sew without my glue!!
5/27/04 4:41 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Cute. Like the waistband treatment
5/27/04 7:40 PM
candyo said...
Great skirt! Yes, I'd watch out for the guys when she's wearing this- for some reason they really go bezerk over the 'catholic schoolgirl' look.
5/28/04 8:44 PM
sewywabbit said...
LOL Candyo, especially funny since she IS a Catholic schoolgirl!
5/29/04 2:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

New Look 6675

photo
by: Kiwi Natio...

Review

Pattern

Contest Mini Wardrobe Contest

photo
by: nicegirl

Review
You Sew Girl Panel Bag

You Sew Girl Panel Bag

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Buy Now