Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8552 (MISSES' DRESS) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 859 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Sewing in the Wind
photo
About Sewing in the Windstar
DC USA
Member since: 3/31/10
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/29/10 5:31 PM
Last Updated:8/31/10 2:41 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Athene said...
This is a very nice dress - The fabric, color, large pockets - all very attractive.
8/29/10 5:51 PM
ginnie.wise said...
I think this is so adorable. You're right - very Project Runway! :) The color is great and the solid really shows off the architecture of the dress. Super cute!
8/29/10 6:14 PM
3HoursPast said...
That's a really cool little dress. A tip for working with linen- pre-wash it three or four times, letting it dry between washes. That softens the fibers and rather than creasing with wear, it gently rumples or doesn't bother wrinkling at all.
8/29/10 6:40 PM
JanieBee said...
Terrific! Well done!
8/29/10 8:29 PM
Blooms said...
Chic French school teacher indeed! I love this dress, and yours makes we want to sew it again in a linen.
8/29/10 8:45 PM
Rebecca D said...
It's adorable and pockets on a dress, especially fab pockets like these, I love it.
8/30/10 6:56 AM
AuntieShel said...
You did a fabulous job on this dress, it is so adorable!! LOVE those pockets (although I do not need any added width at my hips.) Am going to go back and reread the instructions for those back pleats, as a few other reviewers have mentioned problems with them as well.
8/30/10 8:50 AM
Sewing in the Wind said...
Thanks, everyone, I really appreciate all your comments. AuntieShel, if you can figure out that back tuck, I'd be all ears! And great prewashing tip for the linen, bellelass -- thanks.
8/31/10 2:45 AM
Auntie Allyn said...
Wow, this is a really cute dress . . . much more attractive and fun-looking than it appears on the pattern! Thanks for a great review . . . I think I'll have to pick up this pattern.
8/31/10 8:31 AM
optimistic said...
OMGosh this dress looks much better than depicted on the pattern! Great Job! I love it! Now I want the pattern.
8/31/10 8:49 AM
cindyann said...
What a great dress! Very cute and you did a wonderful job on it.
8/31/10 9:24 AM
annie11 said...
Love your dress and your image of the french school teacher! I made this in the sleeveless version and it is one of my favorite summer dresses- always gets a compliment.
8/31/10 10:36 AM
narcissaqtpie said...
Cute dress! Loved your review
8/31/10 12:49 PM
The Funky Seamstress said...
You're a beginner? Wow! Excellent job! Your topstitching is impeccable! I've been eyeing this pattern, and I really want to make it now! I love the pleats, and the big pockets. Cute!
9/1/10 11:43 PM
JEF said...
Very striking!
9/5/10 8:02 AM
Fenice Venezia said...
Un joli tissu, de jolis plis, de jolies poches, de la simplicité mais néanmoins de l'élégance ! Toutes mes félicitations.
9/10/10 4:55 AM
stitchywitch said...
Sooo cute... I'm adding this to my queue right away!
9/13/10 2:51 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Vogue Patterns 8663 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by MNBarb on 12/17/11
Read Review

Megan Nielsen Virginia Leggings Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Virginia Leggings Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Pyper Ruffle Cardi Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Pyper Ruffle Cardi Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1317 Misses Dress
photo
Review by Carolyn.S on 5/13/13
Read Review

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King
BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern
Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 9016 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 9016 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7070 Pattern
Burda 7070 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us