SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8552 (MISSES' DRESS)

11 more reviews
Viewed 875 times 
Reviewed by:Sewing in the Wind
photo

 
 
About Sewing in the Windstar
DC USA
Member since: 3/31/10
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/29/10 5:31 PM
Last Updated:8/31/10 2:41 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Athene said...
This is a very nice dress - The fabric, color, large pockets - all very attractive.
8/29/10 5:51 PM
ginnie.wise said...
I think this is so adorable. You're right - very Project Runway! :) The color is great and the solid really shows off the architecture of the dress. Super cute!
8/29/10 6:14 PM
3HoursPast said...
That's a really cool little dress. A tip for working with linen- pre-wash it three or four times, letting it dry between washes. That softens the fibers and rather than creasing with wear, it gently rumples or doesn't bother wrinkling at all.
8/29/10 6:40 PM
JanieBee said...
Terrific! Well done!
8/29/10 8:29 PM
Blooms said...
Chic French school teacher indeed! I love this dress, and yours makes we want to sew it again in a linen.
8/29/10 8:45 PM
Rebecca D said...
It's adorable and pockets on a dress, especially fab pockets like these, I love it.
8/30/10 6:56 AM
AuntieShel said...
You did a fabulous job on this dress, it is so adorable!! LOVE those pockets (although I do not need any added width at my hips.) Am going to go back and reread the instructions for those back pleats, as a few other reviewers have mentioned problems with them as well.
8/30/10 8:50 AM
Sewing in the Wind said...
Thanks, everyone, I really appreciate all your comments. AuntieShel, if you can figure out that back tuck, I'd be all ears! And great prewashing tip for the linen, bellelass -- thanks.
8/31/10 2:45 AM
Auntie Allyn said...
Wow, this is a really cute dress . . . much more attractive and fun-looking than it appears on the pattern! Thanks for a great review . . . I think I'll have to pick up this pattern.
8/31/10 8:31 AM
optimistic said...
OMGosh this dress looks much better than depicted on the pattern! Great Job! I love it! Now I want the pattern.
8/31/10 8:49 AM
cindyann said...
What a great dress! Very cute and you did a wonderful job on it.
8/31/10 9:24 AM
annie11 said...
Love your dress and your image of the french school teacher! I made this in the sleeveless version and it is one of my favorite summer dresses- always gets a compliment.
8/31/10 10:36 AM
narcissaqtpie said...
Cute dress! Loved your review
8/31/10 12:49 PM
The Funky Seamstress said...
You're a beginner? Wow! Excellent job! Your topstitching is impeccable! I've been eyeing this pattern, and I really want to make it now! I love the pleats, and the big pockets. Cute!
9/1/10 11:43 PM
JEF said...
Very striking!
9/5/10 8:02 AM
Fenice Venezia said...
Un joli tissu, de jolis plis, de jolies poches, de la simplicité mais néanmoins de l'élégance ! Toutes mes félicitations.
9/10/10 4:55 AM
stitchywitch said...
Sooo cute... I'm adding this to my queue right away!
9/13/10 2:51 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Buy Now
Beginner Sewing Lab 102 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 102  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2012-128

photo
by: twinkle72

Review