SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8552 (MISSES' DRESS)

11 more reviews
Viewed 874 times 
Reviewed by:Sewing in the Wind
photo

 
 
About Sewing in the Windstar
DC USA
Member since: 3/31/10
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/29/10 5:31 PM
Last Updated:8/31/10 2:41 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Athene said...
This is a very nice dress - The fabric, color, large pockets - all very attractive.
8/29/10 5:51 PM
ginnie.wise said...
I think this is so adorable. You're right - very Project Runway! :) The color is great and the solid really shows off the architecture of the dress. Super cute!
8/29/10 6:14 PM
3HoursPast said...
That's a really cool little dress. A tip for working with linen- pre-wash it three or four times, letting it dry between washes. That softens the fibers and rather than creasing with wear, it gently rumples or doesn't bother wrinkling at all.
8/29/10 6:40 PM
JanieBee said...
Terrific! Well done!
8/29/10 8:29 PM
Blooms said...
Chic French school teacher indeed! I love this dress, and yours makes we want to sew it again in a linen.
8/29/10 8:45 PM
Rebecca D said...
It's adorable and pockets on a dress, especially fab pockets like these, I love it.
8/30/10 6:56 AM
AuntieShel said...
You did a fabulous job on this dress, it is so adorable!! LOVE those pockets (although I do not need any added width at my hips.) Am going to go back and reread the instructions for those back pleats, as a few other reviewers have mentioned problems with them as well.
8/30/10 8:50 AM
Sewing in the Wind said...
Thanks, everyone, I really appreciate all your comments. AuntieShel, if you can figure out that back tuck, I'd be all ears! And great prewashing tip for the linen, bellelass -- thanks.
8/31/10 2:45 AM
Auntie Allyn said...
Wow, this is a really cute dress . . . much more attractive and fun-looking than it appears on the pattern! Thanks for a great review . . . I think I'll have to pick up this pattern.
8/31/10 8:31 AM
optimistic said...
OMGosh this dress looks much better than depicted on the pattern! Great Job! I love it! Now I want the pattern.
8/31/10 8:49 AM
cindyann said...
What a great dress! Very cute and you did a wonderful job on it.
8/31/10 9:24 AM
annie11 said...
Love your dress and your image of the french school teacher! I made this in the sleeveless version and it is one of my favorite summer dresses- always gets a compliment.
8/31/10 10:36 AM
narcissaqtpie said...
Cute dress! Loved your review
8/31/10 12:49 PM
The Funky Seamstress said...
You're a beginner? Wow! Excellent job! Your topstitching is impeccable! I've been eyeing this pattern, and I really want to make it now! I love the pleats, and the big pockets. Cute!
9/1/10 11:43 PM
JEF said...
Very striking!
9/5/10 8:02 AM
Fenice Venezia said...
Un joli tissu, de jolis plis, de jolies poches, de la simplicité mais néanmoins de l'élégance ! Toutes mes félicitations.
9/10/10 4:55 AM
stitchywitch said...
Sooo cute... I'm adding this to my queue right away!
9/13/10 2:51 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Marfy 0692

photo
by: Re Becca

Review
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 1549

photo
by: becca a

Review