Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2367 (Misses' Skirts, Shorts) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 413 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:barebear
photo
About barebearstar
YT CANADA
Member since: 12/1/09
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/31/10 12:57 PM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
newmama said...
Pants are tough and I haven't made enough of them to offer help. I just wanted to congratulate you on being brave!
8/31/10 1:52 PM
o3b said...
You are funny (they look like the pattern when you're not wearing them). I get what you are talking about with them not fitting as great as you want - especially in the pics you have here that single out the pants - as the review should - BUT in your story board, the overall look is flattering. You are off to a good start, and you should work with this pattern. Keep with your plan to wear them proudly.
8/31/10 5:33 PM
sewsunny37 said...
You are brave! I've only tackled skirts since my one pair of capris was disastrous. I've been tempted to pick up this pattern and might now since all the designs look cute.
8/31/10 5:39 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
barebear Simplicity has a wacky crotch curve, maybe try a burda if you want to practice fitting with less headaches :) If you dont get burda WOF I will be more than happy to trace of a size 16 for a basic pant, just pm me OK?? Enjoy these the colour is fabulous with your corals!
8/31/10 6:33 PM
Gordita1616 said...
I have yet to have any luck at all sewing my own pants, so I feel your pain. Thanks for the review.
8/31/10 9:28 PM
lyndle said...
These look good on the story board and they probably fit as well as RTW ones would. It's so easy to spot the defects with your own sewing because you are looking for them. Wear them with pride - they look great in the outfit on your wardrobe. I agree about Burda, their crotch curve is closer to my RTW pants that fit than simplicity ones are for me. You can buy Burda in envelopes as well as in the magazines, and your library might even stock the mags if you are lucky.
9/11/10 0:44 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
That's one of the "bears" about using stretch fabrics while trying to learn how to fit jeans--ask me how I know! I wasted a nice piece of stretch poplin, in olive, while taking a fitting class, and using it for such. But truly, for a first time, these pants look great! (better than my first pair..) Just a little more tweaking and you'll have these pants fitting just fine! At least you're brave enough to make them again--don't give up until you've tried everything. I finally got pants to fit after 30 something years, and then my body changes.. What looks like all you need to do is lengthen your crotch curve in front and that will bring those wrinkles out. Also, it appears you have heavy upper thighs (like me because I used to run alot), which is another reason you need to bring that crotch curve out more. HTH.
5/22/11 8:30 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 7837
photo
Review by jetgirl707 on 11/21/10
Read Review

Pants Sewing DVD
Pants Sewing DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern
Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 4-8 )
Oliver   S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 4-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 3576 1 hour top
photo
Review by arianamani... on 3/10/10
Read Review

Vogue 8873 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8873 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7095 Pattern
Burda 7095 Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us