SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2367 (Misses' Skirts, Shorts)

7 more reviews
Viewed 418 times 
Reviewed by:barebear
photo

 
 
About barebearstar
YT CANADA
Member since: 12/1/09
Reviews written: 33
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/31/10 12:57 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Miss Fairchild said...
That's one of the "bears" about using stretch fabrics while trying to learn how to fit jeans--ask me how I know! I wasted a nice piece of stretch poplin, in olive, while taking a fitting class, and using it for such. But truly, for a first time, these pants look great! (better than my first pair..) Just a little more tweaking and you'll have these pants fitting just fine! At least you're brave enough to make them again--don't give up until you've tried everything. I finally got pants to fit after 30 something years, and then my body changes.. What looks like all you need to do is lengthen your crotch curve in front and that will bring those wrinkles out. Also, it appears you have heavy upper thighs (like me because I used to run alot), which is another reason you need to bring that crotch curve out more. HTH.
5/22/11 8:30 AM
lyndle said...
These look good on the story board and they probably fit as well as RTW ones would. It's so easy to spot the defects with your own sewing because you are looking for them. Wear them with pride - they look great in the outfit on your wardrobe. I agree about Burda, their crotch curve is closer to my RTW pants that fit than simplicity ones are for me. You can buy Burda in envelopes as well as in the magazines, and your library might even stock the mags if you are lucky.
9/11/10 0:44 AM
Gordita1616 said...
I have yet to have any luck at all sewing my own pants, so I feel your pain. Thanks for the review.
8/31/10 9:28 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
barebear Simplicity has a wacky crotch curve, maybe try a burda if you want to practice fitting with less headaches :) If you dont get burda WOF I will be more than happy to trace of a size 16 for a basic pant, just pm me OK?? Enjoy these the colour is fabulous with your corals!
8/31/10 6:33 PM
sewsunny37 said...
You are brave! I've only tackled skirts since my one pair of capris was disastrous. I've been tempted to pick up this pattern and might now since all the designs look cute.
8/31/10 5:39 PM
o3b said...
You are funny (they look like the pattern when you're not wearing them). I get what you are talking about with them not fitting as great as you want - especially in the pics you have here that single out the pants - as the review should - BUT in your story board, the overall look is flattering. You are off to a good start, and you should work with this pattern. Keep with your plan to wear them proudly.
8/31/10 5:33 PM
newmama said...
Pants are tough and I haven't made enough of them to offer help. I just wanted to congratulate you on being brave!
8/31/10 1:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Portabello Pixie Market Bags

photo
by: brissmith

Review
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

More Info
Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat

Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat

More Info
Butterick 4957

photo
by: LM2HYD

Review