SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 7812 (Jacket)

2 more reviews
Viewed 503 times 
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Annette1starstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 152
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 202 people
patterns reviewed: 148
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/31/10 11:09 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 30 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
42 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Terri A said...
As usual - amazing detailed review! The diagonal buttonholes are so intriguing too.
8/31/10 11:25 PM
Christas said...
Annette, this is one very pretty jacket! Contrast cuffs/collar and buttonholes on the diagonal really add some very nice style elements. The jacket fits you beautifully - would we expect any less?! Terrific review as always! And....... your hair looks much prettier than Elvis'!
8/31/10 11:25 PM
carolynw said...
Annette you have completely blown me away with this jacket - what can I say besides I LOVE it and now I know exactly what to do with a piece of fabric in my stash that has two usable sides Ha!! Your hair looks lovely - not Elvis lovely - just modern lovely!! Terrific and very helpful review as always
8/31/10 11:41 PM
Mary Nanna said...
Great jacket - you've inspired me to give it a crack - the sleeve detail is fabulous.
9/1/10 0:11 AM
Meggie LuLu said...
Annette, ceci est magnifique ! Je l'aime juste ! La couleur, le tissu, tout ! Il est si joli ! Et vos cheveux !
9/1/10 0:24 AM
Annette1 said...
Bon, Meggie, j'ai dû sortir mon Google dictionnaire pour lire vos commentaires. : O)) Je parie que même Claire-bébé n'a pas besoin de Google. Attendez jusqu'à ce que Anne-Marie nous écoute. Elle sera tellement impressionné! (Eh bien, quand-même.)
9/1/10 0:36 AM
Sigrid. said...
What a terrific jacket. Love the diagonal buttonholes. Great use of a beautiful fabric too. You look great!
9/1/10 2:24 AM
Fluffy bunny said...
This is one amazing jacket! I love the contrast and the diagonal buttonholes. Lastly, you look nothing like Elvis...the hair is great and there's not a white rhinestone suit in sight (unless you intend making one)!
9/1/10 3:09 AM
moushka said...
Love the jacket, Annette, and your hair. You are looking so beautiful! The contrasting serger thread was a great idea, ditto the interfacing along the sleeve seam. Terrific review, as always.
9/1/10 4:57 AM
Peggy L said...
Ditto! Another winner - I also love the diagonal buttonholes and red serger thread. You are looking great.
9/1/10 5:55 AM
Rebecca D said...
Great jacket, great review, love the hair. It was the first thing I noticed in your picture.
9/1/10 6:45 AM
FreyaStark said...
A very snazzy jacket. Your hair looks great, too.
9/1/10 6:47 AM
MNBarb said...
Great reveiw (as always). I'm drooling over the fabric. I'm just getting ready to make a jacket and can't find fabric that has some texture to avoid the lab-coat look. I SO agree with you about cutesy and it can happen when you aren't looking with home sewing. The jacket is great and you look wonderful. I don't call the hair Elvis-like but would describe it as having body.
9/1/10 7:33 AM
HeyJane said...
That jacket is perfect, especially the buttons and buttonholes. The hair looks great!
9/1/10 8:09 AM
marjenann said...
Spectacular jacket! And the details are to die for!! Another designer original.
9/1/10 8:25 AM
Ciclista said...
Stunning jacket and fabulous review. Thank you!!!
9/1/10 8:46 AM
Nan Kay said...
really, really sharp, this looks so designer original and not in the least cutesy! My kids always said cute was a four letter word and they weren't allowed to swear!
9/1/10 8:50 AM
Riesie said...
The jacket is cute, but the hair is cuter! So glad to see you looking so healthy. If you get tired of the Elvis look, you could go for the Billy Idol look and dye it blonde!
9/1/10 9:22 AM
KathySews said...
Annette - it is so good to have you back. I noticed the hair right away. Looking good. Your reviews are a sewing/construction lesson. Another great jacket. And I love the diagonal buttonholes.
9/1/10 9:50 AM
Catbird said...
I'll throw in my deux pence (?) even though I'll just be repeating what everyone else has said -- I love it!! This could easily have been a treasured purchase from a boutique -- it looks professional, polished and super-chic. The details really make a design impact. It's brilliant, and your hair, Elvis darling, is looking lush and oh so elegant! :-))
9/1/10 9:59 AM
eugenia123 said...
I can't believe that you have made this super-fabulous jacket from that pattern - your interpretation of it is so unexpectedly chic and sophisticated. I love all those beautiful details - the way you have used both sides of the fabric, the slanted buttonholes and the covered buttons all make this jacket look like a designer style costing $$$. You are looking GOOD!!!!
9/1/10 11:34 AM
Karendee said...
What can I say? Everyone has said better than ever just how beautiful and gorgeous you look. Your jacket is full of details, elevating it to a TDF garment! The pattern, fabric, original details, workmanship--not to forget your looks, combine to make a real winner. The Jacket Queen reigns!!!
9/1/10 11:52 AM
Mahler said...
Lovely my dear, lovely... and so elegant. Nice details.
9/1/10 1:28 PM
Mahler said...
Meggie, Annnette, votre français m'impressionne ! LOL
9/1/10 1:29 PM
Barbara V said...
Annette, Your jacket is gorgeous and what a creative use of fabric with contrasting surface color and design. I noticed too what a terrific pattern you chose with the well designed seam locations for easier fitting...and you achieved a perfect fit on yours. All details are lovely. I'm with the others too - you look great and I love your hair!
9/1/10 1:33 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Oooooh! Ahhh! Love the diagonal buttonholes too :-)..
9/1/10 2:57 PM
Sweetiebop said...
So glad your hair is growing back. It's going to be as thick and beautiful as ever just watch. Oh Annette you look soooo cool in this jacket. I just love it.
9/1/10 3:41 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
You look absolutely fabulous in that jacket - hair and all! I always love reading your reviews.
9/1/10 4:07 PM
Jane S said...
Fantastic jacket. I love so many things about it...the diagonal buttonholes you added, the perfect extra length, the wonderful red serger thread, fabric contrast. You made wonderful design decisions, nothing cute, just chic. This is one special garment from a very special person.
9/1/10 5:16 PM
janet said...
You are one inspirational lady! What a cutey patootie you are with your new do!! Your DESIGNER jacket is absolutely fabulous. Love your diagonal buttonholes, perfect fit and luscious fabric. TRES ELEGANTE!
9/1/10 7:23 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Great jacket & review as usual I love it on you! & all the special details everyone commented on. Your hair looks great, too!!!
9/1/10 7:24 PM
DaisyEsq said...
What do I love about your jacket? Everything! The fit, the fabric, the slanted buttonholes... You eyeballed your pattern grading; you have great eyeballs. What are cocker spaniel shoulders? Your hair is looking great and very youthful you know.
9/1/10 7:34 PM
Annette1 said...
Thanks, everyone! Ha -- Daisy, "cocker spaniel shoulders" is my mom's term for narrow, sloping (virtually non-existent) shoulders. Both she and I have them. :o)
9/1/10 8:12 PM
sew2little said...
Well, I have nothing original to say, but I will repeat: I love those diagonal buttonholes and your hair is very chic! But then, you probably looked chic bald!
9/1/10 10:00 PM
Jolet said...
Lovely fabric, great result!! Something really special!
9/2/10 4:16 PM
sewtime said...
Annette, I love your jacket, and very pretty hair! :)
9/2/10 8:56 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
;) <3
9/2/10 11:40 PM
Heatherrique said...
What a looker of a jacket, Annette! Your version is much more enticing than Burda's.
9/6/10 3:57 PM
JETrinity said...
My mouth dropped down when I looked at all your pictures. I am awestruck with the beauty of it. Your buttons and buttonholes are so cute. I think all the ladies above me would love to see this go at an auction and I would out bid them all to have it.
9/7/10 2:28 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Outstanding jacket and great review. The contrasting details are beautifully done. You can make a jacket for me anytime. ;-)
9/8/10 11:04 AM
sfshaza said...
Annette, this jacket looks great! Another chic piece and I really love the diagonal buttonholes.
9/9/10 0:58 AM
JillyBe said...
You think this looks like the pattern? I guess...except that yours is about 700X better looking! I would never envision something so beautiful from that pattern pic! LOVE the buttonholes too!
1/4/11 6:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Vogue Patterns 8539

photo
by: canei

Review
Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Buy Now
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Buy Now