SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5106 (Bolero Jacket)

23 more reviews
Viewed 1893 times 
Reviewed by:sewsue
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About sewsuestar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 4/10/04
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/30/04 5:03 AM
Last Updated:7/4/04 4:54 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Hilary said...
What a pretty jacket, sewsue! I like the fabric you chose. I noticed the lower band right away, but it never occured to me that it was there because of a mistake- it looks great, and intentional. Great job! Welcome to PR, and we will all enjoy seeing your future reviews!
7/4/04 7:19 AM
JDpenelope said...
Excellent save--it would have been a shame to waste the beautiful fabric. Well worth the extra effort!
7/4/04 8:10 AM
D1Diva said...
I agree with the others. Great fabric and great save! Can't wait to see the other patterns as you make them up!
7/4/04 8:35 AM
alicia said...
Sometimes walking away is the only way to salvage all your work. It looks great!
7/4/04 9:13 AM
Sew it seams said...
Great review and what a great save. This is one of those things that I would have left unfinished for a loooong time. I love your 'stick-to it-tiveness'! Your jacket turned out just as if you had planned it that way. Very nice.
7/4/04 10:18 AM
PVA said...
Well, I certainly ditto what all the others have said! I hope you will show us the second one with a shawl collar. I'd love to see it. Welcome to PR and let us see your work often. Thank you for this review!
7/4/04 10:30 AM
Jennifer West said...
Nice jacket. This is one I'd like to try. Good thinking to save this project!
7/4/04 12:58 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Wonderful save and beautiful jacket! Definitely an inspirational review -- reinforces that there's always a solution! Welcome to PR -- I look forward to more reviews from you.
7/4/04 1:41 PM
sewsue said...
Thanks for all the compliments, you're all too kind. The whole project has changed the look and style of the jacket I know, and I'm not sure what Loes would have to say about the elegance of the finished project. I will do a review of the Shawl neck jacket soon, along with some other garments I enjoyed making. Isn't that the key to our success as sewists! (the enjoyment of what we do I mean!)
7/5/04 0:43 AM
10Ksteps said...
Wow, what a good recovery for an inadvertent mistake. The title Bolero jacket was not what I anticipated when I saw the pattern.
5/27/05 8:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Poncho Pizazz Pattern

SewBaby  Poncho Pizazz Pattern

Buy Now