SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5106 (Bolero Jacket)

24 more reviews
Viewed 1910 times 
Reviewed by:sewsue
Friend of PR

About sewsuestar
Member since: 4/10/04
Reviews: 37 (patterns: 37)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/30/04 5:03 AM
Last Updated:7/4/04 4:54 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Other Projects by sewsue using this Pattern


Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles

Fabrics for Greater Ideas

O! Jolly! Shop

Sweater Knit Fabrics
Web site

Amulet Swim Fabrics

Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
10Ksteps said... (5/27/05 8:53 PM) Reply
Wow, what a good recovery for an inadvertent mistake. The title Bolero jacket was not what I anticipated when I saw the pattern.
sewsue said... (7/5/04 0:43 AM) Reply
Thanks for all the compliments, you're all too kind. The whole project has changed the look and style of the jacket I know, and I'm not sure what Loes would have to say about the elegance of the finished project. I will do a review of the Shawl neck jacket soon, along with some other garments I enjoyed making. Isn't that the key to our success as sewists! (the enjoyment of what we do I mean!)
Debbie Cook said... (7/4/04 1:41 PM) Reply
Wonderful save and beautiful jacket! Definitely an inspirational review -- reinforces that there's always a solution! Welcome to PR -- I look forward to more reviews from you.
Jennifer West said... (7/4/04 12:58 PM) Reply
Nice jacket. This is one I'd like to try. Good thinking to save this project!
PVA said... (7/4/04 10:30 AM) Reply
Well, I certainly ditto what all the others have said! I hope you will show us the second one with a shawl collar. I'd love to see it. Welcome to PR and let us see your work often. Thank you for this review!
Sew it seams said... (7/4/04 10:18 AM) Reply
Great review and what a great save. This is one of those things that I would have left unfinished for a loooong time. I love your 'stick-to it-tiveness'! Your jacket turned out just as if you had planned it that way. Very nice.
alicia said... (7/4/04 9:13 AM) Reply
Sometimes walking away is the only way to salvage all your work. It looks great!
D1Diva said... (7/4/04 8:35 AM) Reply
I agree with the others. Great fabric and great save! Can't wait to see the other patterns as you make them up!
JDpenelope said... (7/4/04 8:10 AM) Reply
Excellent save--it would have been a shame to waste the beautiful fabric. Well worth the extra effort!
Hilary said... (7/4/04 7:19 AM) Reply
What a pretty jacket, sewsue! I like the fabric you chose. I noticed the lower band right away, but it never occured to me that it was there because of a mistake- it looks great, and intentional. Great job! Welcome to PR, and we will all enjoy seeing your future reviews!
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Butterick 5683

by: mnitts

Butterick B5504

by: StitchyMam...

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Pattern Details
Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Pattern Details