Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2899 (Guy Laroche Paris Original) thumbsup - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 693 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Sarsez
photo
About Sarsezstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 7/2/09
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/10/10 1:55 AM


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
What a stunning dress! Congratulations on mastering silk jersey on your first go-round with it.
12/10/10 2:17 AM
Anniinbc said...
Beautiful!
12/10/10 2:26 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Stunning dress, it's a perfect style for you, glad you got to wear it for an occasion eventually! Do you have a view of the back by any chance?
12/10/10 3:48 AM
Mazzygirl said...
gorgeous dress, my favourite of all reviewed so far & love that colour! so stunning on you! (& great cos you can see the design details better, as much as I love a LBD, this colour is just so elegant!) beautiful result & no doubt you got many compliments!
12/10/10 6:02 AM
ak21 said...
absolutely gorgeous. i love how your seams meet perfectly! well done.
12/10/10 10:01 AM
merteuil said...
Wow! Great version of this dress. Every detail is just perfect!
12/10/10 10:02 AM
annie11 said...
You look amazing in this stunning dress! Your patience paid off in a big way. Congratulations on your 11th anniversary.
12/10/10 10:06 AM
lakaribane said...
That dress KILLS! Great job and congrats for sticking it out with the tricky fabric and all. Would you mind telling me how tall you are? Or is your husband just 6'5"? I'm 5' and am wondering if you are short too (trying to guestimate my chances with this dress, style-wise). TIA!
12/10/10 10:34 AM
nicegirl said...
Gorgeous!!!! I hope you felt like a million bucks in this, because you sure look it.
12/10/10 12:01 PM
luckeyone said...
So pretty. The dress looks lovely on you.
12/10/10 2:51 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Gorgeous. Isn't this a great dress?! I would have thought silk jersey too light/delicate for this dress, but I'm thrilled you had success with it--I imagine it's ultra luxurious to wear. The color is tres sophisticated!
12/10/10 2:52 PM
Kellie R. said...
This is an AMAZING dress!!! I love seeing pics of garments when actually out and about in them. You did a fabulous job working with the silk jersey and your success has put this pattern on my must have list! Congrats on your anniversary!
12/10/10 4:41 PM
Sarsez said...
Thank you everyone for your kind comments. This dress still makes me smile! Lakaribane - I did debate whether or not to post my husbands height because he does make me look short even when I'm wearing incredibly high heels. He's 1.98m tall and I'm 1.68m. I think in "old speak" that's 6'6" and 5'6". I did not have to change the length of the dress but did not take up the recommended 4cm, only 2cm.
12/10/10 8:14 PM
Erin D said...
You look amazing. I just tried on a dress with a similar ruched pocket detail on the sides. Congratulations on your wedding anniversary.
12/10/10 9:36 PM
ColorMeHome said...
You did a beautiful job! Your dress turned out amazing!
12/11/10 0:04 AM
susiestitcher said...
Beautiful! Beautiful! Your dress is stunning and fits you perfectly. Congratulations on your success with silk jersey and on your anniversary!
12/11/10 7:59 AM
AuntieShel said...
OMG, absolutely stunning!!!
12/11/10 8:57 AM
Sirena Sol said...
You did an amazing job and you look stunning. I wish I could wip this up for my 11th anniversary coming up in 11 days! Belated congrats on your beautiful dress and 11 years of marriage.
1/11/11 10:36 PM
ceejayem said...
I love all versions of this fabulous pattern and kudos to you for attempting it in silk jersey and executing it so well. Thanks for the extra detail about your fabric too.
2/1/14 11:11 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2012-130
photo
Review by MissCelie on 12/28/12
Read Review

Butterick 5768 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5768 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8499 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 8499 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4440 Dress
photo
Review by TanyaMT on 7/8/04
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Gracie Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Gracie Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern  ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Claire Handbag
Claire Handbag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern
SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us