SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2899 (Guy Laroche Paris Original)

11 more reviews
Viewed 703 times 
Reviewed by:Sarsez
photo

 
 
About Sarsezstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 7/2/09
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/10/10 1:55 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
What a stunning dress! Congratulations on mastering silk jersey on your first go-round with it.
12/10/10 2:17 AM
Anniinbc said...
Beautiful!
12/10/10 2:26 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Stunning dress, it's a perfect style for you, glad you got to wear it for an occasion eventually! Do you have a view of the back by any chance?
12/10/10 3:48 AM
Mazzygirl said...
gorgeous dress, my favourite of all reviewed so far & love that colour! so stunning on you! (& great cos you can see the design details better, as much as I love a LBD, this colour is just so elegant!) beautiful result & no doubt you got many compliments!
12/10/10 6:02 AM
ak21 said...
absolutely gorgeous. i love how your seams meet perfectly! well done.
12/10/10 10:01 AM
merteuil said...
Wow! Great version of this dress. Every detail is just perfect!
12/10/10 10:02 AM
annie11 said...
You look amazing in this stunning dress! Your patience paid off in a big way. Congratulations on your 11th anniversary.
12/10/10 10:06 AM
lakaribane said...
That dress KILLS! Great job and congrats for sticking it out with the tricky fabric and all. Would you mind telling me how tall you are? Or is your husband just 6'5"? I'm 5' and am wondering if you are short too (trying to guestimate my chances with this dress, style-wise). TIA!
12/10/10 10:34 AM
nicegirl said...
Gorgeous!!!! I hope you felt like a million bucks in this, because you sure look it.
12/10/10 12:01 PM
luckeyone said...
So pretty. The dress looks lovely on you.
12/10/10 2:51 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Gorgeous. Isn't this a great dress?! I would have thought silk jersey too light/delicate for this dress, but I'm thrilled you had success with it--I imagine it's ultra luxurious to wear. The color is tres sophisticated!
12/10/10 2:52 PM
Kellie R. said...
This is an AMAZING dress!!! I love seeing pics of garments when actually out and about in them. You did a fabulous job working with the silk jersey and your success has put this pattern on my must have list! Congrats on your anniversary!
12/10/10 4:41 PM
Sarsez said...
Thank you everyone for your kind comments. This dress still makes me smile! Lakaribane - I did debate whether or not to post my husbands height because he does make me look short even when I'm wearing incredibly high heels. He's 1.98m tall and I'm 1.68m. I think in "old speak" that's 6'6" and 5'6". I did not have to change the length of the dress but did not take up the recommended 4cm, only 2cm.
12/10/10 8:14 PM
Erin D said...
You look amazing. I just tried on a dress with a similar ruched pocket detail on the sides. Congratulations on your wedding anniversary.
12/10/10 9:36 PM
ColorMeHome said...
You did a beautiful job! Your dress turned out amazing!
12/11/10 0:04 AM
susiestitcher said...
Beautiful! Beautiful! Your dress is stunning and fits you perfectly. Congratulations on your success with silk jersey and on your anniversary!
12/11/10 7:59 AM
AuntieShel said...
OMG, absolutely stunning!!!
12/11/10 8:57 AM
Sirena Sol said...
You did an amazing job and you look stunning. I wish I could wip this up for my 11th anniversary coming up in 11 days! Belated congrats on your beautiful dress and 11 years of marriage.
1/11/11 10:36 PM
ceejayem said...
I love all versions of this fabulous pattern and kudos to you for attempting it in silk jersey and executing it so well. Thanks for the extra detail about your fabric too.
2/1/14 11:11 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

McCall's 6163

photo
by: ShanniLove...

Review
Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

Buy Now