SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 04-2010-102 (102)

6 more reviews
Viewed 406 times 
Reviewed by:Izzie
photo

 
 
About Izziestarstar
GA USA
Member since: 6/28/03
Reviews written: 78
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 75
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/4/10 6:22 PM
Last Updated:9/4/10 6:38 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
threadandthumb said...
Thanks for posting this! I didn't like the sheen of some dupioni I bought and threw it in the wash - one wash didn't tone it enough, but now that I see it can withstand more washings then throwing it in the washer again will not be so scary. I bet that blouse is comfy after conditioning the fabric!
1/17/12 12:42 PM
JillyBe said...
That's the 'slouch blouse', isn't it? Great use of dupioni - I hadn't considered it for this shirt. And fabulous info on the distressing as well!
6/19/11 3:01 PM
KatieA said...
I was just searching for tops to make with some silk dupioni I will NEVER make the bust part of a strapless dress.. came across this - technique looks fabulous, thanks!
6/13/11 10:25 AM
mylittleelephant said...
Very very cool! Thanks a lot for a link about distressing silk, I would love to try one.
9/6/10 6:31 PM
michellep74 said...
Very stylish blouse! Thanks for your review--I liked this blouse in the magazine but never thought that it would work on my figure...but after seeing how great yours is, I think it might work for me with a drapey enough fabric. Love what you did to your fabric, too!
9/5/10 1:56 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice top and cool distressed silk
9/5/10 11:04 AM
Lizz said...
I have just finished two versions of this blouse and love both of them. The boxy styling is great for my hippy frame. I added 4" slits at the side seams and shortened the sleeves and was very happy - reviews to follow after vacation.
9/5/10 11:01 AM
lakaribane said...
I love your fabric and you are right: it's boxy but flattering in an inexplicable way. I may have to make one for my mother.
9/5/10 8:33 AM
RLL said...
I LOVE this and the distressed silk too.
9/4/10 8:16 PM
corinne kelly said...
Love this on you and how the fabric turned out! Now I know what you've been up to...
9/4/10 6:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2008-20

photo
by: 21wale

Review
McCall's 5094

photo
by: Jasst282

Review
Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Buy Now