Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 2771 (Tops and Skirts) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1570 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:jlg
photo
Friend of PR
About jlgstarstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/03
Reviews written: 187
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 154 people
patterns reviewed: 171
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/30/04 4:34 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewingSusan said...
Your top looks wonderful. I wonder if it would help to hem the sleeves 'on the flat'? I have a really hard time with knits. You seem to be rapidly becoming good with them! Those hydrangeas are gorgeous, too.
5/30/04 4:38 PM
Tinka said...
I too wonder if hemming the sleeves while flat and then sewing the sleeve and side in one continuous seam would work. I have done that on some short sleeved t-shirts and childrens garments. You would have to be certain of the sleeve length first of course. I think your top turned out beautifully. And I love the fabric. Oh to be so slim...
5/30/04 4:43 PM
JDpenelope said...
Looks like a problem-free top to me! Oh, thanks so much for the comment about running the clear elastic through your serger--Do you have a special foot? (I bought an expensive cording foot for my serger that I've never used.) Like you, I prefer not to hem the sleeves flat, but my free arm isn't that small and, like you, I have problems with stretching sometimes.
5/30/04 4:56 PM
ladykick said...
I rarely use my free-arm. Instead I turn the sleeve inside out, and line the hem up on desired length on the 'flatbed of the machine, and topstitch the hem in. You can do blind hems this way, too. I sew a LOT of knits and never have any trouble doing the hems this way. Theresa
5/30/04 5:35 PM
Meredith P said...
I think this top turned out wonderfully! Fits really well too. I also don't use the free arm on small things like long sleeve hems, as Theresa described. I stitch "inside out".
5/30/04 7:07 PM
MaryBeth said...
Really nice fit on this one. I think this neckline is perfect, too. I just stitched in the hem of a buttermilk straight skirt and found that I needed to reduce the pressure on the foot. When I saw that the knit was beginning to buckle up I would stop with the needle in the cloth and raise the pressure foot to let the cloth relax. I do this a lot on knits. It doesn't fix every problem knits can give you but it does help bunches. Can't see a wrinkle on your hems at all from here!
5/30/04 8:49 PM
eleda said...
Your top looks so pretty.
5/30/04 8:53 PM
Sew it seams said...
jlg, your top looks great on you. I am currently using my favorite old machine which does not have a free-arm, and I, like Meredith and Theresa stitch my knit hems "inside-out". Your sleeve and bottom hems look great to me.
5/30/04 9:01 PM
drsue said...
Nice top! Sometimes I use a walking foot to avoid stretching out knits. Also you can stabilize the hems with steam a seam, although you get much less stetch in the hem this way.
5/30/04 11:21 PM
mag said...
I have tried several methods with knits. Serging first, then topstitching, etc. But the last few projects I just used a double needle and trimmed the raw edge and I liked the outcome. Your T shirt is beautiful by the way.
5/31/04 4:54 AM
Skymom said...
Gosh, I"ve had this pattern for years and haven't used it yet. Now I'll have to dig it out and give it a go. It looks great on you. I'm impressed that you had such success with the neckline; I would have thought turning under the edge would cause trouble, esp. at the shoulder seams. BTW, I learned to sew on a flat-bed machine, so I often forget to use the freearm on my current machine. In some ways, I think the flat bed machine gives you more control since it supports the garment better.
5/31/04 10:29 AM
AnneM said...
I've just been thinking about doing this pattern. I had decided to do another one instead, & now you have me doubting that choice! nice top.
5/31/04 12:43 PM
Danvillegirl said...
As always a nice job! The top looks great! I too have this pattern and made the top years ago. I just recently wore the top after it had been sitting my drawer for over a year. It fit great and I found the pattern in my pattern stash. Seeing yours and just getting yet another two packages of knits from EOS, this may be one of the tops I will make. Also like several others said, I don't use the free arm on my sewing machine with knits as it does stretch it a lot. Try it by sewing it flat on the sewing bed.
5/31/04 3:33 PM
jlg said...
Thanks everyone; I'll avoid that free arm while hemming knit sleeves in the future.
5/31/04 7:36 PM
Elemenopeo said...
I just bought this pattern for the skirt but this looks so nice I'll have to try the top too. Thanks for all the good tips.
6/1/04 2:01 PM
Gigi Louis said...
I love your top - it really turned out great! The boatneck is really flattering on you. And the fabric....well, you can't go wrong with EOS, can you? I hem my sleeves the same way Ladykick does - it's really easy to do. Since knits don't ravel, I usually don't bother to overlock hem edges *unless* they will be seen (as in a cardigan). I just hem and trim close to the stitching.
6/1/04 2:19 PM
bkool said...
I'm disappointed that the photo was 'inaccessible' to me. Is there a time limit on photo postings?
12/22/04 9:35 AM
jlg said...
bkool, hope you can see the picture now.
12/22/04 2:41 PM
CSM--Carla said...
jlg, I love your reviews!!! And your pictures. Unfortunately this photo is no longer available. Any chance of reloading it? Thank you in advance.
7/31/06 5:01 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Vintage Pattern Lending Library 1251
photo
Review by lauramae on 4/23/14
Read Review

You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern
SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Bag Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Bag Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3276
photo
Review by Learn To S... on 8/7/06
Read Review

Vogue 8862 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8862 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6917 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 6917 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us