SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2771 (Tops and Skirts)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1571 times 
Reviewed by:jlg
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About jlgstarstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/03
Reviews written: 189
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 155 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/30/04 4:34 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewingSusan said...
Your top looks wonderful. I wonder if it would help to hem the sleeves 'on the flat'? I have a really hard time with knits. You seem to be rapidly becoming good with them! Those hydrangeas are gorgeous, too.
5/30/04 4:38 PM
Tinka said...
I too wonder if hemming the sleeves while flat and then sewing the sleeve and side in one continuous seam would work. I have done that on some short sleeved t-shirts and childrens garments. You would have to be certain of the sleeve length first of course. I think your top turned out beautifully. And I love the fabric. Oh to be so slim...
5/30/04 4:43 PM
JDpenelope said...
Looks like a problem-free top to me! Oh, thanks so much for the comment about running the clear elastic through your serger--Do you have a special foot? (I bought an expensive cording foot for my serger that I've never used.) Like you, I prefer not to hem the sleeves flat, but my free arm isn't that small and, like you, I have problems with stretching sometimes.
5/30/04 4:56 PM
ladykick said...
I rarely use my free-arm. Instead I turn the sleeve inside out, and line the hem up on desired length on the 'flatbed of the machine, and topstitch the hem in. You can do blind hems this way, too. I sew a LOT of knits and never have any trouble doing the hems this way. Theresa
5/30/04 5:35 PM
Meredith P said...
I think this top turned out wonderfully! Fits really well too. I also don't use the free arm on small things like long sleeve hems, as Theresa described. I stitch "inside out".
5/30/04 7:07 PM
MaryBeth said...
Really nice fit on this one. I think this neckline is perfect, too. I just stitched in the hem of a buttermilk straight skirt and found that I needed to reduce the pressure on the foot. When I saw that the knit was beginning to buckle up I would stop with the needle in the cloth and raise the pressure foot to let the cloth relax. I do this a lot on knits. It doesn't fix every problem knits can give you but it does help bunches. Can't see a wrinkle on your hems at all from here!
5/30/04 8:49 PM
eleda said...
Your top looks so pretty.
5/30/04 8:53 PM
Sew it seams said...
jlg, your top looks great on you. I am currently using my favorite old machine which does not have a free-arm, and I, like Meredith and Theresa stitch my knit hems "inside-out". Your sleeve and bottom hems look great to me.
5/30/04 9:01 PM
drsue said...
Nice top! Sometimes I use a walking foot to avoid stretching out knits. Also you can stabilize the hems with steam a seam, although you get much less stetch in the hem this way.
5/30/04 11:21 PM
mag said...
I have tried several methods with knits. Serging first, then topstitching, etc. But the last few projects I just used a double needle and trimmed the raw edge and I liked the outcome. Your T shirt is beautiful by the way.
5/31/04 4:54 AM
Skymom said...
Gosh, I"ve had this pattern for years and haven't used it yet. Now I'll have to dig it out and give it a go. It looks great on you. I'm impressed that you had such success with the neckline; I would have thought turning under the edge would cause trouble, esp. at the shoulder seams. BTW, I learned to sew on a flat-bed machine, so I often forget to use the freearm on my current machine. In some ways, I think the flat bed machine gives you more control since it supports the garment better.
5/31/04 10:29 AM
AnneM said...
I've just been thinking about doing this pattern. I had decided to do another one instead, & now you have me doubting that choice! nice top.
5/31/04 12:43 PM
Danvillegirl said...
As always a nice job! The top looks great! I too have this pattern and made the top years ago. I just recently wore the top after it had been sitting my drawer for over a year. It fit great and I found the pattern in my pattern stash. Seeing yours and just getting yet another two packages of knits from EOS, this may be one of the tops I will make. Also like several others said, I don't use the free arm on my sewing machine with knits as it does stretch it a lot. Try it by sewing it flat on the sewing bed.
5/31/04 3:33 PM
jlg said...
Thanks everyone; I'll avoid that free arm while hemming knit sleeves in the future.
5/31/04 7:36 PM
Elemenopeo said...
I just bought this pattern for the skirt but this looks so nice I'll have to try the top too. Thanks for all the good tips.
6/1/04 2:01 PM
Gigi Louis said...
I love your top - it really turned out great! The boatneck is really flattering on you. And the fabric....well, you can't go wrong with EOS, can you? I hem my sleeves the same way Ladykick does - it's really easy to do. Since knits don't ravel, I usually don't bother to overlock hem edges *unless* they will be seen (as in a cardigan). I just hem and trim close to the stitching.
6/1/04 2:19 PM
bkool said...
I'm disappointed that the photo was 'inaccessible' to me. Is there a time limit on photo postings?
12/22/04 9:35 AM
jlg said...
bkool, hope you can see the picture now.
12/22/04 2:41 PM
CSM--Carla said...
jlg, I love your reviews!!! And your pictures. Unfortunately this photo is no longer available. Any chance of reloading it? Thank you in advance.
7/31/06 5:01 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Vogue Patterns 2535

photo
by: lauramae

Review
WhatNots

WhatNots

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Buy Now