SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Material Things> 108 (Fearless Fitted Jacket & Vest)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1173 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 273 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/20/11 3:49 PM
Last Updated:3/22/11 9:08 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 26 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
52 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
grey ann said...
Kay,a truly beautiful jacket. But I am wondering why you chose Material Things in the first place. You have such a thin physique! Speaking as one of those 'mature' figures - the big 4 NEVER work for us - yes, we are thicker thru the middle, butour shoulders haven't grown wider, and that's the void Cecelia is trying to address. I'm wondering, that if you had started with a Vogue pattern, designed for that size 10 figure, if you would have had fewer fit problems. In any event, the jacket looks stunning on you. Great job.
8/30/11 9:29 AM
mesewlot said...
Beautifully done~ I agree, youmust be so proud of your accomplishments!!
3/28/11 4:50 AM
VirginiasDghter said...
Now this......is a review! Wow! What a gorgeous jacket. It looks soooo soft and just perfect on you! You did a wonderful job on this and such a thorough review too! NICE JOB!
3/26/11 5:08 PM
Raye Ann said...
Absoutely impeccable. Perfection in leather!
3/25/11 0:33 AM
Catbird said...
This is a masterpiece. Your work is phenomenal. You'll be able to wear this for years and years to come. What an accomplishment! Thank you for documenting every step.
3/23/11 8:31 PM
ClioBklyn said...
Wow - what a sleek, chic and stunning jacket!
3/23/11 3:56 PM
Fashionable Stitcher said...
It's simply stunning and I really admire anyone who works with leather! It looks so fabulous on you too! Gorgeous color of leather as well! xoxo, Sunni
3/23/11 9:49 AM
mssewcrazy said...
Awesome jacket!
3/23/11 6:31 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
I am drooling at the sleek, rich perfection that is your leather jacket. Definitely a work of art.
3/23/11 2:40 AM
JillyBe said...
*thud* Stunning! Can I come be your apprentice?
3/23/11 1:45 AM
sew2little said...
Kay--amazing, inspirational, awe-inspiring--these adjectives describe both the jacket and you. Marci
3/23/11 0:43 AM
Twinset said...
Boy, this jacket is H-O-T and you look so fantastic in it!!!
3/22/11 9:54 PM
madronadesign said...
This is the best thing I've seen on PR ever - and that's facing some stiff competition from your other garments! just gorgeous.
3/22/11 9:24 PM
madronadesign said...
This is the best thing I've seen on PR ever - and that's facing some stiff competition from your other garments! just gorgeous.
3/22/11 9:24 PM
Lori V said...
This is an amazing jacket.
3/22/11 9:19 PM
janet said...
PERFECTION!
3/21/11 7:34 PM
Mahler said...
Amazing review and blog and sewing and jacket and extraordinary sewist. You should enter your jacket in an international sewing countest... don't know where but your should
3/21/11 12:49 PM
Q Valley Mary said...
What a wonderful jacket! The care you put into all your work really paid off here. It's leather, it's classic, and you'll be able to wear it forever, so all that time and effort was really worth it.
3/21/11 11:43 AM
Julia C said...
Gorgeous jacket!
3/21/11 11:04 AM
Barbara V said...
Fabulous! Great effort and results. The class sounded wonderful. Thank you for posting pictures of you wearing it. What a perfect fit!
3/21/11 10:04 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
I absolutely love your jacket. Thank you for the very thorough review and the documentation of your process. This jacket was clearly worth the effort!
3/21/11 8:33 AM
Peggy L said...
Stunning!
3/21/11 7:01 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking jacket. Your patience and persistence paid off!
3/21/11 5:29 AM
Athene said...
A beautiful jacket. Always love your meticulous attention to every detail.
3/21/11 1:32 AM
Terri A said...
Very fabulous! I am in awe.
3/21/11 1:07 AM
Scheri said...
Thank you for this incredible learning experience your journey, blog and review have provided. This jacket is just beautiful. Wear it with great pride.
3/20/11 11:54 PM
SewWil said...
WOW!!! This is a gorgeous jacket. Great job! Your hard work comes through in the final product. It looks amazing.
3/20/11 8:12 PM
Kathy in NM said...
This is a beautiful jacket! All of your hard work and time really shows in the final product. Enjoy wearing this!
3/20/11 8:03 PM
sometime said...
Nevermind the jacket...It's to you that "Fearless" applies. Unbelieveable fit and journey to get there. Congratulations...I love your reviews and choices immensely, but this tops them all.
3/20/11 7:53 PM
DorothyK said...
This jacket is awesome. Absolutely beautiful style and workmanship. Can't wait to see it on you.
3/20/11 7:04 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful end result !! You have all the patience I lost but boy does it ever pay off in spades to keep at aproject until finally you can say - "achieved" with pride.
3/20/11 6:22 PM
SexiSadi said...
Your jacket is absolutly gorgeous.
3/20/11 6:08 PM
FreyaStark said...
A magnificent effort. I am deeply impressed.
3/20/11 5:06 PM
Ericaeli said...
Wow! This is such a nice jacket. Thank you for all the information your provided in your review.
3/20/11 5:01 PM
Aixoise said...
Stunning jacket. Thanks for the sizing info on the patterns. I've been curious about her line. You certainly made it work for you. Impeccable fit and workmanship.
3/20/11 4:51 PM
Christas said...
Adjectives fail me! This jacket is absolutely PERFECT. I called my husband to the computer and he could not believe someone actually made a jacket that nice on their own sewing machine. You must be so proud of your accomplishment. Simply amazing.
3/20/11 4:42 PM
KarmenG said...
Holy Cow! What a lot of adjustments. It is looking good.... you are an inspiration to those of us less focused! ; )
9/19/10 8:07 PM
Annette1 said...
Now THAT'S what I call progress! This is looking SO nice, and it's just a muslin!
9/19/10 0:31 AM
mylittleelephant said...
I am always, always, grateful for you to show us your work in progress in such a detail with photos.
9/18/10 3:19 PM
layla said...
Perfect .. I love it !
9/18/10 2:52 PM
marjenann said...
Wow! This jacket is going to be a spectactular piece!! My mouth is watering already!!!
9/18/10 7:20 AM
Athene said...
Always fascinating to read - #2 muslin is definitely much better - am eager to see once you raise the armholes - definitely enjoy reading your work in progress.
9/17/10 11:21 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Kay, I'm following your progress of this jacket with extreme interest. I have an identical RTW jacket I love that I'd like to copy. However, like you I'm not the body shape these patterns are drafted for. Your second muslin is looking very promising.
9/17/10 10:28 PM
Karine said...
The good news is that it looks like a really good fit in the shoulders and upper torso. I would always opt to make alterations below my armpits. I think you're going to have a beautiful jacket - can't wait to see it in leather. Hopefully, too, a well-fitting pattern you can use again after all of your efforts.
9/7/10 9:03 AM
Mahler said...
You are on the right way... Well I could you not ? You have so much experience.
9/7/10 8:21 AM
susiestitcher said...
Your alterations look great so far. You might compare your altered pieces with the smaller size from the pattern to see how they correlate. But...it looks like you were able to pin yourself into a great fit regardless. Can't wait to see the finished jacket.
9/7/10 7:16 AM
marec said...
I am looking forward to seeing your progress, and the beautiful jacket when done. That green jacket is stunning.
9/6/10 7:59 PM
carolynw said...
Oh dear Kay - you do have your work cut out here and showing a remarkable amount of patience. Having seen Kathryn's jacket on you in Montreal I am wondering how much alterations she also had to do - your body frames are somewhat similar although you are smaller. It will be wonderful to see the final results - rooting for you!!
9/6/10 4:18 PM
Annette1 said...
Geez ... you sure you don't want to just buy a leather jacket -- ha! Of course, it wouldn't be NEARLY as nice as YOURS will be when you're finished. I admire your perseverance. And did I mention, I HATE low armholes? They qualify as a pet peeve, in fact. :o) I can't wait to see your finished jacket.
9/6/10 4:02 PM
Athene said...
Well if anyone can make it work, I know you can. It sure is going to be a lot of work. If you do want to look at another option there is McCalls 6171 that is similar (except for the collar) and starts at a size 4 wth different cup sizes - Karen6790 did a review of the McCalls Jacket. I always enjoy your reviews.
9/6/10 2:38 PM
Liana said...
It kind of looks like you're having to grade it down to your size. I think it's going to be great when you get it done, and in the leather, but what a lot of extra work you weren't planning on.
9/6/10 2:23 PM
MNBarb said...
If anyone can make this work, it's you. I love the lines of this jacket and can't wait to see it in leather.
9/6/10 2:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
All About Linings
All About Linings

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2005-103

photo
by: LoriB

Review
Folkwear 209

photo
by: patternadd...

Review
Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

More Info
Full Bust DVD

Full Bust DVD

More Info