SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3041 (Misses Pants and Shirt)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1707 times 
Reviewed by:MaryBeth
photo

 
 
About MaryBethstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/1/03
Reviews written: 103
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 90
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/30/04 6:47 PM
Last Updated:5/31/04 11:08 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Melissa S. said...
That is a great looking outfit! Nice job!
5/30/04 7:06 PM
SandraB said...
I love your outfit Mary Beth. It looks cool and comfortable and the colours are beautiful.
5/30/04 8:13 PM
JDpenelope said...
What a clever trick for the extra length on the pants! Have you invented your own fashion statement? If so, I like it. If not, I like it. Can't say that I agree about the "disproportionate mass" in the top, but I realize that one view may not accurately depict the overall effect.
5/30/04 8:35 PM
SewingSusan said...
I think the length and color of the shirt look great, a casual, cool effect which goes along well with the adorable pant hem technique. Great job.
5/30/04 8:59 PM
Sew it seams said...
Wow MaryBeth, you have been sewing up a storm. Now you have a wonderful, very creative new wardrobe. Your reveiws have been inspirational. This outfit, like all the others looks really great on you. Nice job!
5/30/04 9:08 PM
ladykick said...
I am coveting your shoes!
5/30/04 10:08 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Mary Beth, I'm so glad you posted this review. I need a couple quick pairs of scrub pants for work, and I had forgotten that I own this pattern. May I say that I think you are being a bit overly critical of your outfit? I think it looks much better than you do. Nice outfit and very helpful review.
5/30/04 10:45 PM
Debbie Cook said...
MB, love the colors!! In fact, I want those shoes. I just sewed up my test of a hybrid Jalie/KS mock wrap T and I NEED shoes that color for the outfit. LOL! I like how you "shortened" the pants. And, I disagree with you that the shirt is not flattering. I think the length is good on you and slimming. It makes a long, lean line to my eyes. Great job!!
5/31/04 0:43 AM
Georgene said...
Great pants MB! I love the ankle detail, it looks fresh with your shoes. I know what you mean about the shirt color. With those pants it would be great to have a shirt that pops with color, but I'm sure that shirt jacket has its mate somewhre else in your closet.
5/31/04 2:10 AM
jlg said...
Mary Beth, cute pants and very nice looking top. I'm with the others in thinking that this top does not look like a disproportionate mass at all.
5/31/04 5:39 AM
MaryBeth said...
What I mean by disproportional mass is that a figure, any figure is brought into more pleasing proprotions by cutting it into 3rds: short top, long skirt; or long top, short skirt. In this case the top and pants are cutting me aproximately in half. There is less visual harmony there and is why the jacket should be worn open over a cami that is high hip. Also the light pink, as a solid amout of color when closed visually widens through the hips. I'll do up a cami today and post an updated photo. Thanks for the lovely comments. It really helps to have more eyes than 2!
5/31/04 9:34 AM
AnneM said...
You have been sewing up a storm. Very nice. I agree, the short top w/ the pants looks even better than the longer top.
5/31/04 12:45 PM
MaryBeth said...
I decided that I needed to get the April sewing into the Endless Combo Contest so I didn't make a new top specifically to go with this outfit.
5/31/04 1:01 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice outfit! I love the colors in your pants and what a clever idea regarding the pant hems. I think the outfit looks nice. I am familiar with the concepts of 3rds. Perhaps shortening the top a tad, will give you what you are looking for. I think it looks good as it is, but with a shorter top, your legs will look longer. I always want to look taller.
5/31/04 3:41 PM
MaryBeth said...
Yeah, Linda L, making it shorter is an option but I wanted to keep it longer for a jacket so I added a top in the very first picture in the body of this review. I think that gets it much better
5/31/04 5:58 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Ottobre Design Magazine 06-2009-34

photo
by: 21wale

Review
You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Buy Now