SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1209 (Monaco Shell)

18 more reviews
Viewed 1439 times 
Reviewed by:jlg
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About jlgstarstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/03
Reviews written: 190
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 157 people
patterns reviewed: 173
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/31/04 7:07 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewTabby said...
Beautiful top and gorgeous fabric--looks like it was made just for you :)
6/1/04 11:39 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Ooooh, pretty pretty pretty! I love the fabric. I think I'll have to try this one! -Ann
6/1/04 7:12 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Top looks great and fits you very well. I like reading that it has a high armhole, most patterns are always to low for me, so this makes it to my got to try it list.
6/1/04 5:42 AM
jlg said...
Thanks for the compliments and suggestions. Don't think that I'm not considering that coverstitch machine, Mary Beth. I have a serger, but it's a cheapy without many options. I'm thinking Christmas may be the soonest that I can justify any more big purchases. Mini, thanks for reminding me about alternative stitches.
5/31/04 7:35 PM
Mini said...
This top seems to work for everyone! One of the things I like best about Textile Studio patterns is that they don't have excess fabric in the upper chest, and usually have a good fit in the shoulders. Regarding the wrong side topstitching, this is done so that you can see if the hem allowance is being caught in the topstitching. Sometimes this won't be noticed until the hem is finshed, if done from the right side. However, the right way is whatever you prefer:). If your sewing machine has stretch and decorative stitches, it worth experimenting on a sample swatch-some of those stitches make excellent hems and topstitching on knits even though though the machine manual may not tell you that.
5/31/04 2:01 PM
layla said...
An interesting twist on a classic. Looks a cut above the average shell and great on you !
5/31/04 10:29 AM
Modiste Madness said...
You are quite the productive sewer. Your attention to detail will do two things for you: drive you insane and help you create well constructed garments that look great. We are an obsessed lot aren't we? I love your yard also. Seeing it is an added bonus to all the wonderful things you sew.
5/31/04 10:11 AM
Sew it seams said...
Your top is really cute!
5/31/04 10:01 AM
Tee Jay said...
So cute, jlg! I think I need this pattern, too.
5/31/04 9:29 AM
MaryBeth said...
You can call this an afternoon delight, then! Looks darling. If you're going to sew knits and want more finished edges an overlocker or serger just might be in your best interests. You'd love being able to have those seams nicely stitched together. But then there's the question of the coverstitch-separate machine???? or not???? That's the stretchiest hemming technique I've found. Go, jlg!
5/31/04 9:14 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Wow, this top looks really great on you! I often topstitch from the wrong side and tighten my top tension by one number.
5/31/04 8:29 AM
Deepika said...
Very cute top JLG. As usual another winner from you!
5/31/04 7:21 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Butterick 4254

photo
by: Artemisia ...

Review

Pattern

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8825

photo
by: wizechyld

Review