SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1209 (Monaco Shell)

18 more reviews
Viewed 1438 times 
Reviewed by:jlg
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About jlgstarstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/03
Reviews written: 189
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 156 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/31/04 7:07 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Deepika said...
Very cute top JLG. As usual another winner from you!
5/31/04 7:21 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Wow, this top looks really great on you! I often topstitch from the wrong side and tighten my top tension by one number.
5/31/04 8:29 AM
MaryBeth said...
You can call this an afternoon delight, then! Looks darling. If you're going to sew knits and want more finished edges an overlocker or serger just might be in your best interests. You'd love being able to have those seams nicely stitched together. But then there's the question of the coverstitch-separate machine???? or not???? That's the stretchiest hemming technique I've found. Go, jlg!
5/31/04 9:14 AM
Tee Jay said...
So cute, jlg! I think I need this pattern, too.
5/31/04 9:29 AM
Sew it seams said...
Your top is really cute!
5/31/04 10:01 AM
Modiste Madness said...
You are quite the productive sewer. Your attention to detail will do two things for you: drive you insane and help you create well constructed garments that look great. We are an obsessed lot aren't we? I love your yard also. Seeing it is an added bonus to all the wonderful things you sew.
5/31/04 10:11 AM
layla said...
An interesting twist on a classic. Looks a cut above the average shell and great on you !
5/31/04 10:29 AM
Mini said...
This top seems to work for everyone! One of the things I like best about Textile Studio patterns is that they don't have excess fabric in the upper chest, and usually have a good fit in the shoulders. Regarding the wrong side topstitching, this is done so that you can see if the hem allowance is being caught in the topstitching. Sometimes this won't be noticed until the hem is finshed, if done from the right side. However, the right way is whatever you prefer:). If your sewing machine has stretch and decorative stitches, it worth experimenting on a sample swatch-some of those stitches make excellent hems and topstitching on knits even though though the machine manual may not tell you that.
5/31/04 2:01 PM
jlg said...
Thanks for the compliments and suggestions. Don't think that I'm not considering that coverstitch machine, Mary Beth. I have a serger, but it's a cheapy without many options. I'm thinking Christmas may be the soonest that I can justify any more big purchases. Mini, thanks for reminding me about alternative stitches.
5/31/04 7:35 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Top looks great and fits you very well. I like reading that it has a high armhole, most patterns are always to low for me, so this makes it to my got to try it list.
6/1/04 5:42 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Ooooh, pretty pretty pretty! I love the fabric. I think I'll have to try this one! -Ann
6/1/04 7:12 AM
SewTabby said...
Beautiful top and gorgeous fabric--looks like it was made just for you :)
6/1/04 11:39 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

New Look 6103

photo
by: BlossomKyl...

Review
Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Buy Now
SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

Buy Now
Self Drafted Pattern 286481-1008

photo
by: MariannaSe...

Review