SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1209 (Monaco Shell)

18 more reviews
Viewed 1439 times 
Reviewed by:jlg
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About jlgstarstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/03
Reviews written: 189
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 156 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/31/04 7:07 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewTabby said...
Beautiful top and gorgeous fabric--looks like it was made just for you :)
6/1/04 11:39 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Ooooh, pretty pretty pretty! I love the fabric. I think I'll have to try this one! -Ann
6/1/04 7:12 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Top looks great and fits you very well. I like reading that it has a high armhole, most patterns are always to low for me, so this makes it to my got to try it list.
6/1/04 5:42 AM
jlg said...
Thanks for the compliments and suggestions. Don't think that I'm not considering that coverstitch machine, Mary Beth. I have a serger, but it's a cheapy without many options. I'm thinking Christmas may be the soonest that I can justify any more big purchases. Mini, thanks for reminding me about alternative stitches.
5/31/04 7:35 PM
Mini said...
This top seems to work for everyone! One of the things I like best about Textile Studio patterns is that they don't have excess fabric in the upper chest, and usually have a good fit in the shoulders. Regarding the wrong side topstitching, this is done so that you can see if the hem allowance is being caught in the topstitching. Sometimes this won't be noticed until the hem is finshed, if done from the right side. However, the right way is whatever you prefer:). If your sewing machine has stretch and decorative stitches, it worth experimenting on a sample swatch-some of those stitches make excellent hems and topstitching on knits even though though the machine manual may not tell you that.
5/31/04 2:01 PM
layla said...
An interesting twist on a classic. Looks a cut above the average shell and great on you !
5/31/04 10:29 AM
Modiste Madness said...
You are quite the productive sewer. Your attention to detail will do two things for you: drive you insane and help you create well constructed garments that look great. We are an obsessed lot aren't we? I love your yard also. Seeing it is an added bonus to all the wonderful things you sew.
5/31/04 10:11 AM
Sew it seams said...
Your top is really cute!
5/31/04 10:01 AM
Tee Jay said...
So cute, jlg! I think I need this pattern, too.
5/31/04 9:29 AM
MaryBeth said...
You can call this an afternoon delight, then! Looks darling. If you're going to sew knits and want more finished edges an overlocker or serger just might be in your best interests. You'd love being able to have those seams nicely stitched together. But then there's the question of the coverstitch-separate machine???? or not???? That's the stretchiest hemming technique I've found. Go, jlg!
5/31/04 9:14 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Wow, this top looks really great on you! I often topstitch from the wrong side and tighten my top tension by one number.
5/31/04 8:29 AM
Deepika said...
Very cute top JLG. As usual another winner from you!
5/31/04 7:21 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Simplicity 4076

photo
by: Karen2931

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2010-114

photo
by: Maree P

Review
Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

More Info