Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Textile Studio: 1209 (Monaco Shell) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1438 times 18 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:jlg
photo
Friend of PR
About jlgstarstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/03
Reviews written: 187
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 154 people
patterns reviewed: 171
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/31/04 7:07 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Deepika said...
Very cute top JLG. As usual another winner from you!
5/31/04 7:21 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Wow, this top looks really great on you! I often topstitch from the wrong side and tighten my top tension by one number.
5/31/04 8:29 AM
MaryBeth said...
You can call this an afternoon delight, then! Looks darling. If you're going to sew knits and want more finished edges an overlocker or serger just might be in your best interests. You'd love being able to have those seams nicely stitched together. But then there's the question of the coverstitch-separate machine???? or not???? That's the stretchiest hemming technique I've found. Go, jlg!
5/31/04 9:14 AM
Tee Jay said...
So cute, jlg! I think I need this pattern, too.
5/31/04 9:29 AM
Sew it seams said...
Your top is really cute!
5/31/04 10:01 AM
Modiste Madness said...
You are quite the productive sewer. Your attention to detail will do two things for you: drive you insane and help you create well constructed garments that look great. We are an obsessed lot aren't we? I love your yard also. Seeing it is an added bonus to all the wonderful things you sew.
5/31/04 10:11 AM
layla said...
An interesting twist on a classic. Looks a cut above the average shell and great on you !
5/31/04 10:29 AM
Mini said...
This top seems to work for everyone! One of the things I like best about Textile Studio patterns is that they don't have excess fabric in the upper chest, and usually have a good fit in the shoulders. Regarding the wrong side topstitching, this is done so that you can see if the hem allowance is being caught in the topstitching. Sometimes this won't be noticed until the hem is finshed, if done from the right side. However, the right way is whatever you prefer:). If your sewing machine has stretch and decorative stitches, it worth experimenting on a sample swatch-some of those stitches make excellent hems and topstitching on knits even though though the machine manual may not tell you that.
5/31/04 2:01 PM
jlg said...
Thanks for the compliments and suggestions. Don't think that I'm not considering that coverstitch machine, Mary Beth. I have a serger, but it's a cheapy without many options. I'm thinking Christmas may be the soonest that I can justify any more big purchases. Mini, thanks for reminding me about alternative stitches.
5/31/04 7:35 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Top looks great and fits you very well. I like reading that it has a high armhole, most patterns are always to low for me, so this makes it to my got to try it list.
6/1/04 5:42 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Ooooh, pretty pretty pretty! I love the fabric. I think I'll have to try this one! -Ann
6/1/04 7:12 AM
SewTabby said...
Beautiful top and gorgeous fabric--looks like it was made just for you :)
6/1/04 11:39 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Kwik Sew 2439 Fleece tops
photo
Review by julesberry on 2/14/06
Read Review

Victory Ava Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Ava Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern  ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 4471 Bandeau bikini
photo
Review by Kaitlinneg... on 7/5/08
Read Review

Summer Tote
Summer Tote

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2916 Pattern
Jalie 2916 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6603 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6603 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us