SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5239 (THE PERFECT FIT PANTS - BUT)

10 more reviews
Viewed 618 times 
Reviewed by:carolynw
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About carolynwstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 3/19/05
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 38 people
patterns reviewed: 101
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/8/10 4:43 PM
Last Updated:9/8/10 4:47 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewsabina said...
You did an excellent job and I think they look great on you.
6/1/11 5:50 PM
Christas said...
I think your pants look very nice on you!
10/14/10 5:13 PM
loti said...
Great pants, I have this pattern, and I also have the same butt fit on a few of my mine.
10/6/10 1:48 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
BE-YOU-TEE-FULL!!! Crease or no crease. These look like dress pants, not denim.
9/10/10 3:17 PM
jewelsew said...
Overall they look really good on you!
9/10/10 1:01 PM
Moxie Carol said...
I also would try the "flat butt" adjustment as Aixoise suggested. That should take care of that crease. Your pants are beautiful and inspiring. Who knew denim could look so dressy!
9/9/10 10:36 PM
Peggy L said...
Those pants look great! Definitely a TNT. No suggestions for you but I hope you'll update if you find a fix. By the way, I love your new pic!!! It may not be all that new but I haven't been on here too much the last 6 months. I'm going to pick up this pattern at the next sale.
9/9/10 7:37 AM
sew2little said...
These look PDG to me, Carolyn! Since I am pants-phobic, I have no advice, only kudos! Marci
9/9/10 0:06 AM
Annette1 said...
Now that's what I call a great-looking pair of pants, truly a TNT of the first degree! I wish I could help you with the fitting in the back (although they look pretty darn good to me). I wonder if you SHOULD try a smaller size in the back. I guess if it were me, that's what I'd try. I'm going to send you a personal message, as I have a resource that MIGHT help in that regard that I could email to you.
9/8/10 10:04 PM
KathySews said...
great looking pants. I avoid pants but should maybe try P/P
9/8/10 8:21 PM
Aixoise said...
Have you tried the P/P method of folding out a waist-to-hem crease down the back pattern piece? They usually put lines on the pattern pieces indicating placement of this crease; crease depth is up to you. You might have to add a bit back to the side seam near the waist, depending on your proportions. But it's a fix worth trying if you haven't already. It's worked for me (I have a very flat seat, so there's often too much fabric there). Great looking pants! They're worth tweaking to perfection.
9/8/10 5:26 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 8117

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Buy Now
McCall's 5978

photo
by: sarah121ha...

Review