SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5239 (THE PERFECT FIT PANTS - BUT)

10 more reviews
Viewed 597 times 
Reviewed by:carolynw
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About carolynwstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 3/19/05
Reviews written: 111
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 36 people
patterns reviewed: 99
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/8/10 4:43 PM
Last Updated:9/8/10 4:47 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aixoise said...
Have you tried the P/P method of folding out a waist-to-hem crease down the back pattern piece? They usually put lines on the pattern pieces indicating placement of this crease; crease depth is up to you. You might have to add a bit back to the side seam near the waist, depending on your proportions. But it's a fix worth trying if you haven't already. It's worked for me (I have a very flat seat, so there's often too much fabric there). Great looking pants! They're worth tweaking to perfection.
9/8/10 5:26 PM
KathySews said...
great looking pants. I avoid pants but should maybe try P/P
9/8/10 8:21 PM
Annette1 said...
Now that's what I call a great-looking pair of pants, truly a TNT of the first degree! I wish I could help you with the fitting in the back (although they look pretty darn good to me). I wonder if you SHOULD try a smaller size in the back. I guess if it were me, that's what I'd try. I'm going to send you a personal message, as I have a resource that MIGHT help in that regard that I could email to you.
9/8/10 10:04 PM
sew2little said...
These look PDG to me, Carolyn! Since I am pants-phobic, I have no advice, only kudos! Marci
9/9/10 0:06 AM
Peggy L said...
Those pants look great! Definitely a TNT. No suggestions for you but I hope you'll update if you find a fix. By the way, I love your new pic!!! It may not be all that new but I haven't been on here too much the last 6 months. I'm going to pick up this pattern at the next sale.
9/9/10 7:37 AM
Moxie Carol said...
I also would try the "flat butt" adjustment as Aixoise suggested. That should take care of that crease. Your pants are beautiful and inspiring. Who knew denim could look so dressy!
9/9/10 10:36 PM
jewelsew said...
Overall they look really good on you!
9/10/10 1:01 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
BE-YOU-TEE-FULL!!! Crease or no crease. These look like dress pants, not denim.
9/10/10 3:17 PM
loti said...
Great pants, I have this pattern, and I also have the same butt fit on a few of my mine.
10/6/10 1:48 PM
Christas said...
I think your pants look very nice on you!
10/14/10 5:13 PM
sewsabina said...
You did an excellent job and I think they look great on you.
6/1/11 5:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Vogue Patterns 7853

photo
by: JillyBe

Review
Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Buy Now
The Whimsy Bag

The Whimsy Bag

Buy Now