SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5502 (Bias Cut Tee)

12 more reviews
Viewed 359 times 
Reviewed by:Noile
photo

 
 
About Noilestarstar
USA
Member since: 7/3/04
Reviews written: 108
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 95
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/9/10 8:11 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Morisot said...
You did a nice job with the top. And I loved your remark about pattern sizing! (I want custom patterns--where you go into your local fabric store, clip on a couple of dozen sensors, the computer "reads" them, and then they print out the pattern for you.)
9/9/10 9:21 AM
marie elise said...
Your top looks amazing! I love what you did with the stripes.
9/9/10 10:20 AM
DorothyK said...
This is a nice pattern. You win the prize for matching stripes. I wonder if there would be a better "slimming" effect if the stripes went the other way, ie, down from the center seam instead of up. You mentioned on your blog not remembering where you heard of using wooly nylon in the bobbin. I know I heard that from Sandra Betzina. Thanks for reminding me about it.
9/9/10 11:36 AM
RLL said...
Expert matching of the stripes. Kudos!! I have had this pattern for years with that top in mind but keep pushing it away, thinking what if I didn't like how it looked on me after the painstaking time to match the stripes. As I am a good deal wider than you, it may be a good thing that I have continued to push it away! I absolutely love yours tho.
9/9/10 11:50 AM
Nessa09 said...
This is a very flattering top!
9/9/10 3:45 PM
carolynw said...
Lovely top - truly am not sure why you think it's not flattering - IMHO it looks great on you!!
9/9/10 4:33 PM
Ann Smith said...
I like it. The stripe matching is perfection and that's just how those kind of sleeves look. I like it.
9/10/10 1:40 AM
sfshaza said...
I love this on you. I don't think you look like a linebacker at all. :) But it does make me wonder if it might not be the best way to wear stripes for my bustline.
9/10/10 3:27 AM
MareeAlison said...
I think you look incredibly slim in this top. It's really stylish. I know people never see themselves as others do, but I promise you, you've got nothing to worry about.
9/10/10 3:34 AM
Diane333 said...
Love the top and also like the idea Morisot had.
9/10/10 7:57 AM
FLFiFiLarue said...
I think the top is very flattering! We are always so critical of ourselves. I think however I would have lost my mind over matching those stripes...lol Great Great Job! May have to make this top. Thank you for the review!
9/10/10 11:22 AM
1SewSweet said...
I love your top!! I have this pattern and have made the version with the ruffle in the front, many, many times but never this version. I will have to now! I think it really looks very nice on you!!
9/10/10 5:48 PM
fuzzygalore said...
I think it's very flattering. And not just because I'm a geek too :-).
9/11/10 4:45 AM
NJcowgirl said...
Your stripe matching is perfect and I think it looks great on you and is flattering.
9/13/12 10:22 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 9475 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Other Simplicity 5685

photo
by: caper81

Review
Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now