Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 5502 (Bias Cut Tee) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 356 times 12 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Noile
photo
About Noilestarstar
USA
Member since: 7/3/04
Reviews written: 108
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 95
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/9/10 8:11 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Morisot said...
You did a nice job with the top. And I loved your remark about pattern sizing! (I want custom patterns--where you go into your local fabric store, clip on a couple of dozen sensors, the computer "reads" them, and then they print out the pattern for you.)
9/9/10 9:21 AM
marie elise said...
Your top looks amazing! I love what you did with the stripes.
9/9/10 10:20 AM
DorothyK said...
This is a nice pattern. You win the prize for matching stripes. I wonder if there would be a better "slimming" effect if the stripes went the other way, ie, down from the center seam instead of up. You mentioned on your blog not remembering where you heard of using wooly nylon in the bobbin. I know I heard that from Sandra Betzina. Thanks for reminding me about it.
9/9/10 11:36 AM
RLL said...
Expert matching of the stripes. Kudos!! I have had this pattern for years with that top in mind but keep pushing it away, thinking what if I didn't like how it looked on me after the painstaking time to match the stripes. As I am a good deal wider than you, it may be a good thing that I have continued to push it away! I absolutely love yours tho.
9/9/10 11:50 AM
Nessa09 said...
This is a very flattering top!
9/9/10 3:45 PM
carolynw said...
Lovely top - truly am not sure why you think it's not flattering - IMHO it looks great on you!!
9/9/10 4:33 PM
Ann Smith said...
I like it. The stripe matching is perfection and that's just how those kind of sleeves look. I like it.
9/10/10 1:40 AM
sfshaza said...
I love this on you. I don't think you look like a linebacker at all. :) But it does make me wonder if it might not be the best way to wear stripes for my bustline.
9/10/10 3:27 AM
MareeAlison said...
I think you look incredibly slim in this top. It's really stylish. I know people never see themselves as others do, but I promise you, you've got nothing to worry about.
9/10/10 3:34 AM
Diane333 said...
Love the top and also like the idea Morisot had.
9/10/10 7:57 AM
FLFiFiLarue said...
I think the top is very flattering! We are always so critical of ourselves. I think however I would have lost my mind over matching those stripes...lol Great Great Job! May have to make this top. Thank you for the review!
9/10/10 11:22 AM
1SewSweet said...
I love your top!! I have this pattern and have made the version with the ruffle in the front, many, many times but never this version. I will have to now! I think it really looks very nice on you!!
9/10/10 5:48 PM
fuzzygalore said...
I think it's very flattering. And not just because I'm a geek too :-).
9/11/10 4:45 AM
NJcowgirl said...
Your stripe matching is perfect and I think it looks great on you and is flattering.
9/13/12 10:22 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Loes Hinse Designs 5003 Cruise Pant
photo
Review by Nancywin on 2/24/10
Read Review

McCalls 5797 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 5797 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3607 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3607 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Elizabeth Lee Sunrise Designs 302
photo
Review by JenSews2 on 6/13/06
Read Review

Sis Boom Marlo Top Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Marlo Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Tania Culottes Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Tania Culottes Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes
Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $17.65
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us