Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Wild Ginger: Surplice Coat (Duster) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1155 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:MaryBeth
photo
About MaryBethstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/1/03
Reviews written: 103
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 90
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/31/04 12:38 PM
Last Updated:5/31/04 5:44 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said...
Sounds like you're having a lot of fun with that software, Mary Beth. I remember buying patterns with armscye darts a long time ago, but I haven't seen any in many years. I guess you have to draft them yourself if you want them.
5/31/04 3:07 PM
Tessa said...
I like this! Any chance you could post a picture of the pattern piece with the armscye dart? I'm curious about how that works.
5/31/04 3:32 PM
MaryBeth said...
Sure Tessa: I've added a link to one of the armscye dart tops pattern piece at the beginning of the 4th paragraph
5/31/04 5:40 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Very creative. I would not have thought of using the knit that way. I definitely need to learn to think outside of the box when it comes to sewing. I just draft a top and dress with PMB3 using the armsye dart. I think it looks odd also but I know that it will look well when complete. Burda uses these darts in a few tops and dresses also.
5/31/04 6:53 PM
Tessa said...
Thanks MaryBeth. You do realise that with every PMB review you post I want this software more! If they had a version for Mac, I'd have it by now. My husband points out we could get a PC emulator to run it, but I've heard that doesn't work well. Sigh.
6/1/04 12:17 PM
MaryBeth said...
I imagine you that are really wanting this and maybe the programs for the kids and DH, too. I read on the chat that many people have found it works well for them using the PC emulator so maybe the problem lies in the capacity of the Mac being used...I'm not a Mac user so can't help. Does the Wild Ginger 800# work for Canada calls? Best place to start with any Mac inquiry....or email to support
6/1/04 2:28 PM
JDpenelope said...
MaryBeth, All your technical skills came to bear on this project! So interesting to read your details about using this software. The antique pin and omitting the belt no doubt help this jacket look like outerwear and not a robe. Nice learning experience, even if you were a little disappointed.
6/5/04 7:59 AM
SouthernStitch said...
I really like this - I've been wanting a duster and yours is very pretty. I don't think it looks like a bathrobe, either.
6/8/04 12:21 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Other 2007 Wardrobe Contest
photo
Review by boppingbet... on 7/31/07
Read Review

Liesl + Co. Cappuccino Dress & Tunic Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Cappuccino Dress & Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Betsey Apron Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Betsey Apron Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5365
photo
Review by CarolynGM on 9/10/09
Read Review

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern
SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5682 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5682 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1004 Pattern ( Size 8 )
Vogue 1004 Pattern ( Size 8 )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us