SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8653 (Misses' Jacket)

Viewed 905 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 390 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/9/10 9:37 PM
Last Updated:9/9/10 9:51 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 21 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
miausiau said...
I made this up and it's all over me like a cheap suit! Unwearable, but the good news is having omitted the back seam I can re cut into something else.
11/29/12 12:46 PM
gabrielle stanley said...
I have just had a go at making this, and have run across something I am concerned about. I was wondering if you encountered this too, or whether it is only on the L/XL? The curve on the longer edge of the sleeve/side piece does not match where the curve is on the body. Did you just sew around this anyway, or is the S/M different?
5/28/11 9:40 PM
essareff said...
Thank you very much. I am starting to make it today.
5/7/11 3:17 PM
grey ann said...
Thank you, Ann, for reviewing unusual patterns for us! You really do them justice!
9/12/10 10:34 AM
AuntieShel said...
Your jacket looks fabulous on you, every which way!! Thank you so much for the tip on laying out the pattern. I'm sure it will save a lot of people from tearing their hair out.
9/11/10 5:20 PM
AMarie said...
Wow! I can't get over how versatile this jacket is; just depending on which way you wear it. You did such a beautiful job with it too.
9/11/10 12:07 PM
sfshaza said...
This jacket really works! So pretty in this fabric! I am now considering making it. :)
9/10/10 1:30 PM
janet said...
Gorgeous jacket! Outstanding execution! You have out done yourself once again. You are an inspiration to us all.
9/10/10 12:00 PM
DorothyK said...
You did a great job on this jacket. I must say, your version is much nicer than the picture on the envelope. Your solutions to the various problems served to make the piece more interesting. Great choice of fabric. Your review is a must for anyone else making this pattern.
9/10/10 10:40 AM
Patti B said...
Ann, so glad that you led the way in sewing this pattern. It's classy and gorgeous -- great save on the back. The rayon jersey may have been part of the problem as I have a rayon jersey Barcelona dress that grew so much I had to cut off 4 inches -- 6 months after it was finished! It just kept growing...
9/10/10 10:11 AM
lesliez said...
Beautiful jacket. Thanks for the helpful explanations on what seemed to be a mystery pattern.
9/10/10 9:16 AM
missyyz said...
I totally love this jacket. It's casual but classy, and looks beautifully constructed.
9/10/10 8:43 AM
carolynw said...
Another great winner for you Ann- love the save you made at the back seam - really does add an interesting detail. Thanks for the heads up about the grain line!!
9/10/10 8:37 AM
Diane333 said...
You made a marvelous jacket and your skills are outstanding to detail and adjust the pattern to your fit.
9/10/10 8:10 AM
marjenann said...
Wow!! What a fabulous jacket!! It looks amazing and oh so fashion forward. I am making this one for sure and rereading your wonderful review before I begin!! Thanks so much for sharing!
9/10/10 8:07 AM
Rebecca D said...
I so appreciate your thorough review of this one. What a dynamite fabric for this jacket, it's stunning.
9/10/10 6:53 AM
Annette1 said...
Geez, I didn't like this pattern AT ALL when it came out. I thought the gray one just looked CHEAP in the picture, but YOUR jacket is a work of art. I love it upside-down. and the RUCHING detail is SO CUTE!
9/9/10 11:51 PM
GoSewGirl said...
Great jacket and great save! I like the added back detail. it turned out great. Thank you for the warning about the back seam / grainline issue. I have this pattern, and now I will know to cut it with the stretch crosswise.
9/9/10 11:38 PM
marthamyers said...
Wow! You took a pattern with some serious flaws and morphed it into a stand-out, charming and unique look. Simply amazing.
9/9/10 10:58 PM
Barbara V said...
So interesting with four ways to wear it especially with your fabric choice showing nice contrasts. So sorry that you had to deal with all of that stretching, but you creatively and brilliantly made it work. It looks great on you.
9/9/10 10:40 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
You did an amazing job on this fabulous jacket, but the whole thing blows my mind! My hat is off to you for figuring out this pattern and executing it so successfully!
9/9/10 10:18 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 176224-1007

photo
by: Kayseri

Review
J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern

J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern

Buy Now
Veronica Pocketbook

Veronica Pocketbook

Buy Now