Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8615 (SPEC OCCASION) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 941 times 26 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:jorth
photo
About jorthstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 3/27/06
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 69
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/12/10 1:19 AM
Last Updated:9/12/10 5:06 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $22.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Camerio said...
Very nice work with a pattern that is not highly recommended!
9/12/10 7:12 AM
Rlkataja said...
Soooo Adorable!! Great job!
9/12/10 8:03 AM
nellc said...
Your dress looks great despite your problems with the pattern. I love what you have done with the skirt.
9/12/10 8:11 AM
BeckyW said...
Very nice dress. Your version is much cuter that the pattern envelope indicates. I would have past right by it in the pattern book.
9/12/10 8:58 AM
ladylola said...
I love your dress, it's just stunning! Great work, your creativity makes up for the poor pattern... big time!
9/12/10 9:21 AM
happytobehere said...
Love the dress too! Curious to know how you did the pick ups in the skirt, was there a plan or are they just random? I'd like to try that with a vintagey dress I made that seems too plain.
9/12/10 9:51 AM
crisford said...
Beautiful dress, gorgeous photo!
9/12/10 11:01 AM
Terri A said...
Very nice work. Your fabric choices are perfect. Thanks for the warning about the sleeve cap. I hate it when that happens. I too wd be curious to see how you affixed the pickups. Great photo too.
9/12/10 1:23 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
So very nice! The dress is lovely, despite the pattern. I agree with you about the center seam. Your picture is lovely too. What a great backdrop.
9/12/10 2:43 PM
AuntieShel said...
OMG, this dress, like all your others is absolutely fabulous!!! Please tell us how you did those gorgeous "gathers" on the skirt!! Did you make the skirt longer? The neckline put me off this dress, but it looks fabulous on you. Interesting reading about the sleeves being too big for the armscye. Kathleen, I believe, of the blog "Fashion Incubator" (please forgive me if I did not get that right) had a post about this very subject. She said it is just the laziness of the pattern drafter to make a sleeve that has to be "eased in" and then still doesn't fit. It's apparently difficult to draft a sleeve that fits properly with no ease, but not impossible. And your blog...first time reading about the birth of your daughter. It could be a case study for nursing students. LOVE the little green sweater you knitted for your DD. Sorry, too long, but I'm done :) !!
9/12/10 4:45 PM
emergcy1 said...
You truly made a blah pattern absolutely stunning. It actually makes me want to consider the pattern and try some modifications to spice it up.
9/12/10 5:46 PM
arianamaniacs said...
I love how it turned out despite your troubles with the armhole
9/12/10 6:22 PM
cmarie12 said...
I love how you manipulated the skirt of this dress! Awesome...just awesome!
9/12/10 6:29 PM
becca a said...
Lovely dress! Your version of the skirt is so much more interesting and lovely than the original.
9/12/10 6:48 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
A perfect marriage of style and fabric, and you look adorable in this dress. Excellent and informative review, too. Lovely, Lily
9/12/10 7:37 PM
lesliez said...
This is sooooooooo cute! Very inspiring.
9/13/10 0:26 AM
CynthiaSue said...
great fun dress!
9/13/10 0:37 AM
Annette1 said...
Well, you've made a SUPER CUTE dress with this troublesome pattern, and the slightly puffed sleeves are just another winning design feature. :o)
9/13/10 2:31 AM
Sic said...
Totally gorgeous! Sorry about the pattern issues, but the end result is lovely!
9/13/10 7:58 AM
Erin D said...
You did an amazing job despite the pattern problems. Threads issue July 2010 has an article that shows a similar technique to the gathering you beautifully did.
9/15/10 0:45 AM
Gordita1616 said...
Your randomly gathered skirt is genius. Seriously fantastic dress.
9/19/10 11:22 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Vogue Patterns 2449 trench coat
photo
Review by valerie se... on 7/1/10
Read Review

Oliver + S Bedtime Story Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-3T)
Oliver + S Bedtime Story Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-3T)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Lily's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Lily's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6483 misses top
photo
Review by Nana27 on 5/16/13
Read Review

SewBaby Totpacks Pattern
SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7056 Pattern
Burda 7056 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1918 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1918 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us