SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8615 (SPEC OCCASION)

27 more reviews
Viewed 951 times 
Reviewed by:jorth
photo

 
 
About jorthstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 3/27/06
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 69
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/12/10 1:19 AM
Last Updated:9/12/10 5:06 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gordita1616 said...
Your randomly gathered skirt is genius. Seriously fantastic dress.
9/19/10 11:22 PM
Erin D said...
You did an amazing job despite the pattern problems. Threads issue July 2010 has an article that shows a similar technique to the gathering you beautifully did.
9/15/10 0:45 AM
Sic said...
Totally gorgeous! Sorry about the pattern issues, but the end result is lovely!
9/13/10 7:58 AM
Annette1 said...
Well, you've made a SUPER CUTE dress with this troublesome pattern, and the slightly puffed sleeves are just another winning design feature. :o)
9/13/10 2:31 AM
CynthiaSue said...
great fun dress!
9/13/10 0:37 AM
lesliez said...
This is sooooooooo cute! Very inspiring.
9/13/10 0:26 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
A perfect marriage of style and fabric, and you look adorable in this dress. Excellent and informative review, too. Lovely, Lily
9/12/10 7:37 PM
becca a said...
Lovely dress! Your version of the skirt is so much more interesting and lovely than the original.
9/12/10 6:48 PM
cmarie12 said...
I love how you manipulated the skirt of this dress! Awesome...just awesome!
9/12/10 6:29 PM
arianamaniacs said...
I love how it turned out despite your troubles with the armhole
9/12/10 6:22 PM
emergcy1 said...
You truly made a blah pattern absolutely stunning. It actually makes me want to consider the pattern and try some modifications to spice it up.
9/12/10 5:46 PM
AuntieShel said...
OMG, this dress, like all your others is absolutely fabulous!!! Please tell us how you did those gorgeous "gathers" on the skirt!! Did you make the skirt longer? The neckline put me off this dress, but it looks fabulous on you. Interesting reading about the sleeves being too big for the armscye. Kathleen, I believe, of the blog "Fashion Incubator" (please forgive me if I did not get that right) had a post about this very subject. She said it is just the laziness of the pattern drafter to make a sleeve that has to be "eased in" and then still doesn't fit. It's apparently difficult to draft a sleeve that fits properly with no ease, but not impossible. And your blog...first time reading about the birth of your daughter. It could be a case study for nursing students. LOVE the little green sweater you knitted for your DD. Sorry, too long, but I'm done :) !!
9/12/10 4:45 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
So very nice! The dress is lovely, despite the pattern. I agree with you about the center seam. Your picture is lovely too. What a great backdrop.
9/12/10 2:43 PM
Terri A said...
Very nice work. Your fabric choices are perfect. Thanks for the warning about the sleeve cap. I hate it when that happens. I too wd be curious to see how you affixed the pickups. Great photo too.
9/12/10 1:23 PM
crisford said...
Beautiful dress, gorgeous photo!
9/12/10 11:01 AM
happytobehere said...
Love the dress too! Curious to know how you did the pick ups in the skirt, was there a plan or are they just random? I'd like to try that with a vintagey dress I made that seems too plain.
9/12/10 9:51 AM
ladylola said...
I love your dress, it's just stunning! Great work, your creativity makes up for the poor pattern... big time!
9/12/10 9:21 AM
BeckyW said...
Very nice dress. Your version is much cuter that the pattern envelope indicates. I would have past right by it in the pattern book.
9/12/10 8:58 AM
nellc said...
Your dress looks great despite your problems with the pattern. I love what you have done with the skirt.
9/12/10 8:11 AM
Rlkataja said...
Soooo Adorable!! Great job!
9/12/10 8:03 AM
Camerio said...
Very nice work with a pattern that is not highly recommended!
9/12/10 7:12 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Colette Patterns 0003

photo
by: Joyatee

Review
Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

More Info
Maggie

Maggie

More Info
New Look 6097

photo
by: imsewcrazy

Review