SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3544 (50's style apron)

11 more reviews
Viewed 291 times 
Reviewed by:Aroura
photo

 
 
About Arourastarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 7/30/09
Reviews written: 149
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 144
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/13/10 8:13 PM
Last Updated:9/14/10 0:02 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
Available for sale on PR: $14.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $14.95 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Calder and Co. said...
love it!
9/20/10 4:09 PM
Kayseri said...
Wow, that's terrific
9/19/10 8:39 PM
jannw said...
How wonderful! What a great job you did and thanx for the tute. My Grandmother and Aunts all had "holiday" aprons..used when company was present as opposed to the everyday ones. You made a great example...enjoy
9/17/10 4:48 AM
dukaqwn said...
I really like this apron! I am gonna have to try this pattern. Something that I have entirely been lacking is an apron or smock because I am forever soiling my clothes when cooking or cleaning. I need a separate one to wear just when I plan to pet my 6 babies - cats!
9/15/10 8:25 PM
JillyBe said...
You know, your review has almost convinced me to make mine again (but do it right this time lol!)
9/15/10 6:45 PM
talesofawannabe said...
Amazing apron! This is in my sewing queue and you're review will most certainly be helpful. :]
9/15/10 5:48 PM
ryansmumAria said...
Perfection! Congratulations...
9/14/10 9:22 PM
Hilary said...
Wow, nice apron!! You did a great job-I think underlining it was a very good idea. It looks very sturdy, and pretty at the same time!
9/14/10 6:08 PM
Athene said...
Gorgeous apron - I love retro looking aprons and appreciate all the effort that went into making this one look so great.
9/14/10 6:07 PM
Aroura said...
Thanks you all very much! There is a small part of me that is afraid of getting it stained (the white parts), but then I made this one to use, since I don't own any other apron. I've already worn it to make dinner last night, and I felt pretty and it was totally practical at the same time. Can't wait to show it off for company during the holidays!
9/14/10 2:55 PM
pterion said...
What a great retro style. A lot of work clearly went into making your apron and it looks wonderful. I wouldn't want to mess it up by actually cooking in it either!
9/14/10 2:54 PM
marec said...
Wonderful work Aroura! Wow, the details and workmanship on this are superb. I really like the applique against the black/white print. Oh, and the buttons!!
9/14/10 10:53 AM
ALY said...
Gorgeous apron, lovely applique work. I would be afraid to wear something this lovely when cooking for fear of getting food or grease on it. I have seen people who use vintage aprons hanging from decortive hooks as "art" in their kitchens.
9/14/10 9:09 AM
blessedtosew said...
Beautiful!!! That is a work of art!!!
9/14/10 8:42 AM
arianamaniacs said...
Very feminine and the appliques turned out great! It's wonderful to put so much work into a garment that you end up loving!
9/14/10 4:55 AM
barebear said...
Impressive! I really like it. :)
9/14/10 2:25 AM
sewsunny37 said...
Fabulous vintage goodness! It's so beautiful I wouldn't ever want to risk getting it dirty!
9/14/10 1:12 AM
JillyBe said...
What a great job!! Love your fabric choices, and your details (as usual) are perfect :)
9/14/10 0:27 AM
newmama said...
Absolutely gorgeous!
9/13/10 11:29 PM
Elke said...
Great looking apron! I like the fabrics you used and all the special details.
9/13/10 11:24 PM
Aunt Gail said...
This is just a knock out creating you've made. The black background and all the wonderful white accents. I am just so enthused about your work. TY for sharing and the pix were a special reason for this being a VERY helpful review
9/13/10 10:43 PM
Aunt Gail said...
This is just a knock out creating you've made. The black background and all the wonderful white accents. I am just so enthused about your work. TY for sharing and the pix were a special reason for this being a VERY helpful review
9/13/10 10:43 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Ottobre Woman Magazine 05-2010-01

photo
by: Kbenco

Review
Ottobre Design 01-2012-9

photo
by: clij

Review
Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

More Info
Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

More Info