SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3544 (50's style apron)

11 more reviews
Viewed 291 times 
Reviewed by:Aroura
photo

 
 
About Arourastarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 7/30/09
Reviews written: 149
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 144
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/13/10 8:13 PM
Last Updated:9/14/10 0:02 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
Available for sale on PR: $14.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $14.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Calder and Co. said...
love it!
9/20/10 4:09 PM
Kayseri said...
Wow, that's terrific
9/19/10 8:39 PM
jannw said...
How wonderful! What a great job you did and thanx for the tute. My Grandmother and Aunts all had "holiday" aprons..used when company was present as opposed to the everyday ones. You made a great example...enjoy
9/17/10 4:48 AM
dukaqwn said...
I really like this apron! I am gonna have to try this pattern. Something that I have entirely been lacking is an apron or smock because I am forever soiling my clothes when cooking or cleaning. I need a separate one to wear just when I plan to pet my 6 babies - cats!
9/15/10 8:25 PM
JillyBe said...
You know, your review has almost convinced me to make mine again (but do it right this time lol!)
9/15/10 6:45 PM
talesofawannabe said...
Amazing apron! This is in my sewing queue and you're review will most certainly be helpful. :]
9/15/10 5:48 PM
ryansmumAria said...
Perfection! Congratulations...
9/14/10 9:22 PM
Hilary said...
Wow, nice apron!! You did a great job-I think underlining it was a very good idea. It looks very sturdy, and pretty at the same time!
9/14/10 6:08 PM
Athene said...
Gorgeous apron - I love retro looking aprons and appreciate all the effort that went into making this one look so great.
9/14/10 6:07 PM
Aroura said...
Thanks you all very much! There is a small part of me that is afraid of getting it stained (the white parts), but then I made this one to use, since I don't own any other apron. I've already worn it to make dinner last night, and I felt pretty and it was totally practical at the same time. Can't wait to show it off for company during the holidays!
9/14/10 2:55 PM
pterion said...
What a great retro style. A lot of work clearly went into making your apron and it looks wonderful. I wouldn't want to mess it up by actually cooking in it either!
9/14/10 2:54 PM
marec said...
Wonderful work Aroura! Wow, the details and workmanship on this are superb. I really like the applique against the black/white print. Oh, and the buttons!!
9/14/10 10:53 AM
ALY said...
Gorgeous apron, lovely applique work. I would be afraid to wear something this lovely when cooking for fear of getting food or grease on it. I have seen people who use vintage aprons hanging from decortive hooks as "art" in their kitchens.
9/14/10 9:09 AM
blessedtosew said...
Beautiful!!! That is a work of art!!!
9/14/10 8:42 AM
arianamaniacs said...
Very feminine and the appliques turned out great! It's wonderful to put so much work into a garment that you end up loving!
9/14/10 4:55 AM
barebear said...
Impressive! I really like it. :)
9/14/10 2:25 AM
sewsunny37 said...
Fabulous vintage goodness! It's so beautiful I wouldn't ever want to risk getting it dirty!
9/14/10 1:12 AM
JillyBe said...
What a great job!! Love your fabric choices, and your details (as usual) are perfect :)
9/14/10 0:27 AM
newmama said...
Absolutely gorgeous!
9/13/10 11:29 PM
Elke said...
Great looking apron! I like the fabrics you used and all the special details.
9/13/10 11:24 PM
Aunt Gail said...
This is just a knock out creating you've made. The black background and all the wonderful white accents. I am just so enthused about your work. TY for sharing and the pix were a special reason for this being a VERY helpful review
9/13/10 10:43 PM
Aunt Gail said...
This is just a knock out creating you've made. The black background and all the wonderful white accents. I am just so enthused about your work. TY for sharing and the pix were a special reason for this being a VERY helpful review
9/13/10 10:43 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Buy Now
SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 6278

photo
by: Sixtiesgir...

Review