Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3544 (50's style apron) thumbsup - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 282 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Aroura
photo
About Arourastarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 7/30/09
Reviews written: 137
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 132
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/13/10 8:13 PM
Last Updated:9/14/10 0:02 AM


See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $14.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $14.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aunt Gail said...
This is just a knock out creating you've made. The black background and all the wonderful white accents. I am just so enthused about your work. TY for sharing and the pix were a special reason for this being a VERY helpful review
9/13/10 10:43 PM
Aunt Gail said...
This is just a knock out creating you've made. The black background and all the wonderful white accents. I am just so enthused about your work. TY for sharing and the pix were a special reason for this being a VERY helpful review
9/13/10 10:43 PM
Elke said...
Great looking apron! I like the fabrics you used and all the special details.
9/13/10 11:24 PM
newmama said...
Absolutely gorgeous!
9/13/10 11:29 PM
JillyBe said...
What a great job!! Love your fabric choices, and your details (as usual) are perfect :)
9/14/10 0:27 AM
sewsunny37 said...
Fabulous vintage goodness! It's so beautiful I wouldn't ever want to risk getting it dirty!
9/14/10 1:12 AM
barebear said...
Impressive! I really like it. :)
9/14/10 2:25 AM
arianamaniacs said...
Very feminine and the appliques turned out great! It's wonderful to put so much work into a garment that you end up loving!
9/14/10 4:55 AM
blessedtosew said...
Beautiful!!! That is a work of art!!!
9/14/10 8:42 AM
ALY said...
Gorgeous apron, lovely applique work. I would be afraid to wear something this lovely when cooking for fear of getting food or grease on it. I have seen people who use vintage aprons hanging from decortive hooks as "art" in their kitchens.
9/14/10 9:09 AM
marec said...
Wonderful work Aroura! Wow, the details and workmanship on this are superb. I really like the applique against the black/white print. Oh, and the buttons!!
9/14/10 10:53 AM
pterion said...
What a great retro style. A lot of work clearly went into making your apron and it looks wonderful. I wouldn't want to mess it up by actually cooking in it either!
9/14/10 2:54 PM
Aroura said...
Thanks you all very much! There is a small part of me that is afraid of getting it stained (the white parts), but then I made this one to use, since I don't own any other apron. I've already worn it to make dinner last night, and I felt pretty and it was totally practical at the same time. Can't wait to show it off for company during the holidays!
9/14/10 2:55 PM
Athene said...
Gorgeous apron - I love retro looking aprons and appreciate all the effort that went into making this one look so great.
9/14/10 6:07 PM
Hilary said...
Wow, nice apron!! You did a great job-I think underlining it was a very good idea. It looks very sturdy, and pretty at the same time!
9/14/10 6:08 PM
ryansmumAria said...
Perfection! Congratulations...
9/14/10 9:22 PM
talesofawannabe said...
Amazing apron! This is in my sewing queue and you're review will most certainly be helpful. :]
9/15/10 5:48 PM
JillyBe said...
You know, your review has almost convinced me to make mine again (but do it right this time lol!)
9/15/10 6:45 PM
dukaqwn said...
I really like this apron! I am gonna have to try this pattern. Something that I have entirely been lacking is an apron or smock because I am forever soiling my clothes when cooking or cleaning. I need a separate one to wear just when I plan to pet my 6 babies - cats!
9/15/10 8:25 PM
jannw said...
How wonderful! What a great job you did and thanx for the tute. My Grandmother and Aunts all had "holiday" aprons..used when company was present as opposed to the everyday ones. You made a great example...enjoy
9/17/10 4:48 AM
Kayseri said...
Wow, that's terrific
9/19/10 8:39 PM
Calder and Co. said...
love it!
9/20/10 4:09 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Simplicity 3845 Threads
photo
Review by Tearsa on 12/11/07
Read Review

McCalls 6758 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
McCalls 6758 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6480 Pattern
New Look 6480 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket Plaza Jacket
photo
Review by SueV on 2/27/07
Read Review

MariaDenmark Super Socks Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Super Socks Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $3.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Men's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Men's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern
J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us