Online Sewing Class: Understanding Knit Fabrics
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Wild Ginger> PMB3 Jacket (PMB3 Princess Seam Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1051 times 
Reviewed by:Danvillegirl
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Danvillegirlstarstarstarstar
Member since: 7/6/03
Reviews: 207 (patterns: 194)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 57 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/31/04 4:29 PM
Last Updated:5/31/04 6:50 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Danvillegirl said... (6/2/04 5:57 AM) Reply
Linda D, Patti Jo--I think PMB gives you a good fit based on your measurements. However those little indent curves are still hard to account for in measuring, I think. I have a fairly good measurment with the program, but things still stand out a little at the back at waist line. Thus with center back seam, I can take it up a tad in the waist center and eliminate that excess fabric. Thank you all for positive feedback.
Sew it seams said... (6/1/04 7:59 PM) Reply
Beautiful jacket, Linda. I really like the princess lines and the braid detail.
Patti-Jo said... (6/1/04 7:28 PM) Reply
Nice, Linda! I have to echo Linda D's comment about PMB. I have this also and thought the program took this into consideration. Maybe that's why I am not very successful with PMB! I, too, have the neck "roll" standing out on many of the things I make. I thought I was stretching the neck before sewing, so I take care to bring the iron to the cutting table and without removing the pattern, fuse a stay tape to it. (In some cases, fuse the interfacing). Careful trimming, grading, sometimes stay-stitch plus- I still have the problem. My SO thinks it's because I have a hollow chest-my collar bone (right terminology?) is too prominent. On the other hand, I just may be overdoing it! Love your jacket!
LindaD said... (6/1/04 8:26 AM) Reply
Linda, since you used PMB, what swayback adjustment do you still have to make? I have PMB too, but I'm just learning to use it. Your jacket is very nice.
Danvillegirl said... (6/1/04 5:36 AM) Reply
Marybeth, good suggestions.
MaryBeth said... (5/31/04 7:15 PM) Reply
Very pretty fabric, braid and design, Linda. As to the neck curl: steam with piece lying curved over a tailors ham or rolled towel? brooch pinned across the neckline? great scarf tied and pinned around the neck? OK, I'm out of suggestions :)
jlg said... (5/31/04 7:14 PM) Reply
Very pretty, Linda. I like the lines of your jacket.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8581

photo
by: madbadger

Review
New Look 6258

photo
by: Ilonka

Review
Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
DVD - Will this fabric work for you?

DVD - Will this fabric work for you?

Pattern Details