Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1159 (Misses' Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 599 times 22 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:maybbm
photo
Friend of PR
About maybbmstar
MA USA
Member since: 7/31/02
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/12/10 7:55 PM
Last Updated:9/12/10 8:13 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Marcia R said...
I was wondering how you add the red notation lines and arrows. I would like to also be able to do this
9/13/10 9:54 AM
maybbm said...
Hi, Marcia. I just edited photos I took with a picture editor. It takes a while to get used to drawing tools, but eventually you will get the hang of it. Good luck!
9/13/10 12:04 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Lovely dress. I really appreciate the time you took to detail the mistakes in this pattern.
9/13/10 1:10 PM
latebloomer said...
What a great dress. Thank you for detailing the corrections you made. Also, that fabric is beautiful. May I ask where you found it?
9/15/10 6:38 AM
maybbm said...
Hi, Latebloomer. The fabric is from Fabric.com, but it was many years ago that I bought it. I am afraid it won't be available from the same source. Sorry.
9/15/10 9:55 PM
Athene said...
Great dress and very helpful review. I understand what you are doing in alternate fix on pattern piece 1 for the armholes, but for alternate piece 2 for the arm hole fix - two questions First is this also required with fix 1, and second - do the red lines on piece two mean you would be folding out 1 inch between the red lines to shorten the piece, or are you cutting 1 inch off each side of the piece?
9/19/10 8:30 PM
maybbm said...
Athene, thanks for pointing out my unclear writing. :) In order to match the fix made on pattern piece 1, back's side seams need to be lengthened by the same amount. To do this, move the circle mark, indicating the lower edge of the armhole, 1" upward along the seam line. The red line indicates the shortened back armhole section. May
9/20/10 12:04 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Gosh! I am SO glad I read this Thanks so much for this great review with the corrections. This will be SO helpful when I make this. I love your dress too with your fabric choice.
10/11/10 11:58 AM
kias2 said...
I do wish I had read your review before trying to make this dress. You make it all very clear. Thank you. Lovely dress- but a NIGHTMARE to make. I really feel Vogue have let all of us that have bought this pattern down. I did contract them re all the errors and I do hope they make changes for future buyers of this pattern. Incidentally I was told by Vogue that the folded edge (step 3) is supposed to be on the arm-hole edge as it in their words ' it facilitates the crossed fronts turning to the inside'. Your explanation makes a lot more sense.
6/24/11 2:22 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Other Oop M2241
photo
Review by velosewer on 1/29/11
Read Review

Simplicity 3750 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 3750 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3688 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 3688 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5464 Misses' Blouse
photo
Review by RadarRadia... on 6/19/10
Read Review

Sis Boom Lucy Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Lucy Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern ( XL-3XL)
SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern ( XL-3XL)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us