Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3299 (Shirts) thumbsup - Type:Mens - Shirts    printable version
Viewed 119 times 28 more reviews
Reviewed by:Audrey B.
photo
About Audrey B.star
TX USA
Member since: 9/3/09
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/12/10 8:28 PM


See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mary in FL said...
I think the hems will stretch less if you fuse them together first, then not stretch them so much when you sew them. At least he looks happy with it, and that counts for a lot!
9/12/10 8:38 PM
Audrey B. said...
I never even thought about fusing. Great suggestion! I will try that next time. Thank you Mary for the tip. :)
9/12/10 9:05 PM
Diane333 said...
I personally find that sewing with rib knits can be frustrating and would recommend using interlock knit and cutting a band the width of your hem out of the fusible knit interfacing (make sure the stretch is the same as your top.
9/13/10 8:41 AM
RLL said...
Every knit has it's own personality. I always have to play with the scraps to find what works best for the seams and hems. Most definately stablizing in some way such as fusible knit...even around the neck line. Depending on the knit you could also try wash away wonder tape or steam a seam to fuse. But depending on what you fuse with, you could lose your stretch completely for wearing purposes.....so just play till you find what works.
9/13/10 11:45 AM
Hilary said...
Great review! I think the shirt turned out well, and I definitely agree the extra stretching was caused by using the rib knit for the whole shirt. It's wonderful for ribbing at the sleeve and neck, but maybe not the *whole* shirt. But hey, your DH is smiling, and his shirt does look good on him (that's a great color!) and I just wanted to add that I really love the lizards on your wall :D
11/16/10 5:25 PM
Judy Kski said...
Using 1/4" Wash Away Wonder Tape by Collins or Dritz will help stabilize the hem while you stitch. When you wash the shirt, it's water soluable so the stabilization "washes away" and you get the stretch of the rib knit back again. Also try using a walking foot when you hem the shirt. This will give you even feeding on both top and bottom. If you happen to have a serger with cover stitch capabilities, that is your best option. You won't get any stretching then. I know it's been a while since you wrote this review, but I just thought I'd add my advice.
1/3/13 1:55 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Jalie 2788
photo
Review by CMae on 5/14/12
Read Review

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)
Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 604 Pattern
Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Mr. Dash Digital Pattern (002)
Simple Things Mr. Dash Digital Pattern (002)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Belle Bow Blouse
Belle Bow Blouse

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5559 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by Sixtiesgir... on 11/25/13
Read Review

McCalls 5775 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 5775 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1019 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1019 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us