SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3299 (Shirts)

28 more reviews
Viewed 119 times 
Reviewed by:Audrey B.
photo

 
 
About Audrey B.star
TX USA
Member since: 9/3/09
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/12/10 8:28 PM


See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mary in FL said...
I think the hems will stretch less if you fuse them together first, then not stretch them so much when you sew them. At least he looks happy with it, and that counts for a lot!
9/12/10 8:38 PM
Audrey B. said...
I never even thought about fusing. Great suggestion! I will try that next time. Thank you Mary for the tip. :)
9/12/10 9:05 PM
Diane333 said...
I personally find that sewing with rib knits can be frustrating and would recommend using interlock knit and cutting a band the width of your hem out of the fusible knit interfacing (make sure the stretch is the same as your top.
9/13/10 8:41 AM
RLL said...
Every knit has it's own personality. I always have to play with the scraps to find what works best for the seams and hems. Most definately stablizing in some way such as fusible knit...even around the neck line. Depending on the knit you could also try wash away wonder tape or steam a seam to fuse. But depending on what you fuse with, you could lose your stretch completely for wearing purposes.....so just play till you find what works.
9/13/10 11:45 AM
Hilary said...
Great review! I think the shirt turned out well, and I definitely agree the extra stretching was caused by using the rib knit for the whole shirt. It's wonderful for ribbing at the sleeve and neck, but maybe not the *whole* shirt. But hey, your DH is smiling, and his shirt does look good on him (that's a great color!) and I just wanted to add that I really love the lizards on your wall :D
11/16/10 5:25 PM
Judy Kski said...
Using 1/4" Wash Away Wonder Tape by Collins or Dritz will help stabilize the hem while you stitch. When you wash the shirt, it's water soluable so the stabilization "washes away" and you get the stretch of the rib knit back again. Also try using a walking foot when you hem the shirt. This will give you even feeding on both top and bottom. If you happen to have a serger with cover stitch capabilities, that is your best option. You won't get any stretching then. I know it's been a while since you wrote this review, but I just thought I'd add my advice.
1/3/13 1:55 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 37509-1005

photo
by: Mufffet

Review
Other Clever Charlotte

photo
by: Alison Cum...

Review
Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Buy Now
THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Buy Now