SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8670 (Misses' Top)

5 more reviews
Viewed 630 times 
Reviewed by:yorkshire lass
photo

 
 
About yorkshire lassstarstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/23/06
Reviews written: 85
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 50 people
patterns reviewed: 83
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/18/10 4:23 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Michele Lommasson said...
I enjoyed reading your review!
9/18/10 5:54 PM
starryfish said...
I made a muslin of this view, and agree that the collar needs to be stretched an unbelievable amount in stitching. I was attracted by the photo in my sewtoday magazine,in which it looks smooth and comfortable. Mine was trying to strangle me and I don't even have a large neck! I'm not going to make this in good fabric. Too many patterns, too little time.
9/19/10 7:29 AM
0mega said...
Here is a link to Vogue's page on this one: http://voguepatterns.mccall.com/v8670-products-11350.php?page_id=866&search_control=display&list=search
9/19/10 11:33 AM
eugenia123 said...
Excellent review - sorry your top didn't turn out quite as you wanted it - but it does look very nice in the photo!
9/19/10 12:54 PM
Selina said...
I just finished this shirt (I think we made it on the same day :-) and I cut the collar two sizes bigger because I didn't want a tight neck (16 body, 20 neck). It turned out quite nice. Do you have any leftover fabric to cut a larger collar?
9/19/10 4:08 PM
Squeezylemon said...
For all the bother I still think it looks great on you Jenni! Worth trying again using the other suggested changes just to make your hard work worthwhile!
9/19/10 4:43 PM
AuntieShel said...
Your top looks great despite the problems with the pattern. I had thought this might make a cute dress with that collar and buttons, but not so sure now. Thanks for this detailed review.
9/20/10 9:44 AM
Bonnie O said...
Very helpful review. I really like your finished top!
11/10/10 11:08 AM
cindyh1 said...
Thank you for you honesty. I tried to make this view also and didn't get past my muslin, I did use a fabric with stretch in both directions and still the neck puckered horribly when the collar was attached. The problem is the neckline is way too low ( around the collar bone instead of the base of the neck) which produces those puckers....
11/30/10 1:13 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Vogue Patterns 1174

photo
by: lharpie

Review
PerfectFuse Medium Black

PerfectFuse Medium Black

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Buy Now