SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8670 (Misses' Top)

5 more reviews
Viewed 645 times 
Reviewed by:yorkshire lass
photo

 
 
About yorkshire lassstarstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/23/06
Reviews written: 90
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 51 people
patterns reviewed: 88
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/18/10 4:23 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cindyh1 said...
Thank you for you honesty. I tried to make this view also and didn't get past my muslin, I did use a fabric with stretch in both directions and still the neck puckered horribly when the collar was attached. The problem is the neckline is way too low ( around the collar bone instead of the base of the neck) which produces those puckers....
11/30/10 1:13 AM
Bonnie O said...
Very helpful review. I really like your finished top!
11/10/10 11:08 AM
AuntieShel said...
Your top looks great despite the problems with the pattern. I had thought this might make a cute dress with that collar and buttons, but not so sure now. Thanks for this detailed review.
9/20/10 9:44 AM
Squeezylemon said...
For all the bother I still think it looks great on you Jenni! Worth trying again using the other suggested changes just to make your hard work worthwhile!
9/19/10 4:43 PM
Selina said...
I just finished this shirt (I think we made it on the same day :-) and I cut the collar two sizes bigger because I didn't want a tight neck (16 body, 20 neck). It turned out quite nice. Do you have any leftover fabric to cut a larger collar?
9/19/10 4:08 PM
eugenia123 said...
Excellent review - sorry your top didn't turn out quite as you wanted it - but it does look very nice in the photo!
9/19/10 12:54 PM
0mega said...
Here is a link to Vogue's page on this one: http://voguepatterns.mccall.com/v8670-products-11350.php?page_id=866&search_control=display&list=search
9/19/10 11:33 AM
starryfish said...
I made a muslin of this view, and agree that the collar needs to be stretched an unbelievable amount in stitching. I was attracted by the photo in my sewtoday magazine,in which it looks smooth and comfortable. Mine was trying to strangle me and I don't even have a large neck! I'm not going to make this in good fabric. Too many patterns, too little time.
9/19/10 7:29 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
I enjoyed reading your review!
9/18/10 5:54 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Chelsea

Chelsea

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8667

photo
by: Natasha Jo...

Review