SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
JStern Womens Jeans and JStern Misses Jeans">Blueprints to Blue Jeans Online Sewing Class

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8670 (Misses' Top)

5 more reviews
Viewed 655 times 
Reviewed by:yorkshire lass
photo

 
 
About yorkshire lassstarstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/23/06
Reviews: 92 (patterns: 90)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 53 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/18/10 4:23 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cindyh1 said... (11/30/10 1:13 AM) Reply
Thank you for you honesty. I tried to make this view also and didn't get past my muslin, I did use a fabric with stretch in both directions and still the neck puckered horribly when the collar was attached. The problem is the neckline is way too low ( around the collar bone instead of the base of the neck) which produces those puckers....
Bonnie O said... (11/10/10 11:08 AM) Reply
Very helpful review. I really like your finished top!
AuntieShel said... (9/20/10 9:44 AM) Reply
Your top looks great despite the problems with the pattern. I had thought this might make a cute dress with that collar and buttons, but not so sure now. Thanks for this detailed review.
Squeezylemon said... (9/19/10 4:43 PM) Reply
For all the bother I still think it looks great on you Jenni! Worth trying again using the other suggested changes just to make your hard work worthwhile!
Selina said... (9/19/10 4:08 PM) Reply
I just finished this shirt (I think we made it on the same day :-) and I cut the collar two sizes bigger because I didn't want a tight neck (16 body, 20 neck). It turned out quite nice. Do you have any leftover fabric to cut a larger collar?
eugenia123 said... (9/19/10 12:54 PM) Reply
Excellent review - sorry your top didn't turn out quite as you wanted it - but it does look very nice in the photo!
0mega said... (9/19/10 11:33 AM) Reply
Here is a link to Vogue's page on this one: http://voguepatterns.mccall.com/v8670-products-11350.php?page_id=866&search_control=display&list=search
starryfish said... (9/19/10 7:29 AM) Reply
I made a muslin of this view, and agree that the collar needs to be stretched an unbelievable amount in stitching. I was attracted by the photo in my sewtoday magazine,in which it looks smooth and comfortable. Mine was trying to strangle me and I don't even have a large neck! I'm not going to make this in good fabric. Too many patterns, too little time.
Michele Lommasson said... (9/18/10 5:54 PM) Reply
I enjoyed reading your review!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
All About Buttons and Buttonholes
All About Buttons and Buttonholes

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Pattern Details