Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 12-2009-138 (Little Black Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1197 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 27 people   
Reviewed by:snuzal
photo
About snuzalstar
NA NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 7/7/07
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 17 people
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/21/10 1:05 AM
Last Updated:9/22/10 10:11 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
60 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mango said...
Love the neckline! Very flattering.
9/21/10 1:30 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Gorgeous! Very becoming! Thanks for posting so many pics
9/21/10 1:42 AM
sewinglinda said...
absolutely gorgeous, you did a wonderful job on this, well worth the effort.
9/21/10 1:52 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Great job and fit! Love the shoes too! Thanks for the links to the tutorials.
9/21/10 5:48 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Great job and fit! Love the shoes too! Thanks for the links to the tutorials.
9/21/10 5:48 AM
Rebecca D said...
Very flattering neckline and thanks for all the helpful links to sewing tips. Definitely make this again for yourself - you look stunning in it.
9/21/10 6:27 AM
ClaireEmily said...
You look amazing! What a fabulous LBD. Your hard work really was worth it!
9/21/10 7:26 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
So gorgeous snuzal! Fabulous work and I love the shoes.
9/21/10 7:44 AM
Gelbean said...
You look fabulous! I love your LBD!
9/21/10 10:32 AM
RLL said...
You should be so proud of yourself. This looks wonderful on you. Great job!
9/21/10 10:35 AM
unfinishedprojects said...
Great LBD! It fits you perfectly and looks really smart! (Love your hair too...)
9/21/10 12:30 PM
Ruth Designs said...
You did a wonderful job and you look very nice!
9/21/10 12:47 PM
michellep74 said...
Great job! I love all of your changes, and you look smashing in this dress!
9/21/10 12:48 PM
snuzal said...
Thanks so much ladies. I really feel rather gorgeous in it. Now I just need an excuse to wear it. My first LBD, every girl needs one :o)
9/21/10 1:40 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
You look absolutely FAB snuzal, this one is a winner!! And thanks so much for the very helpful tutorials , I will really need those !
9/21/10 1:41 PM
GodsgirlT said...
You look gorgeous! Love it!
9/21/10 4:48 PM
Sic said...
Totally gorgeous!
9/21/10 11:25 PM
Terri A said...
Just fantastic!
9/22/10 2:05 AM
Auntchelle said...
Great dress. It fits you very well and you would never guess it was the first dress you made. Well done!
9/22/10 4:53 AM
Bunsnpigs said...
This design and color is just fabulous on you! Congratulations!
9/22/10 7:42 AM
Karine said...
Beautiful dress! Kudos for such a professional job. I'm impressed with your first invisible zipper attempt in a tough situation with the lining. Thanks for the links to the tutorials.
9/22/10 7:44 AM
betty bushwacker said...
Wow! Really nice job on this. Don't you just love clothes that you know look good on you? You really shine in this one
9/22/10 8:33 AM
Obrooks770 said...
Great job! It look really nice on you.
9/22/10 10:06 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful - you look so nice in this dress and I am in love with your shoes!! Hope you get to wear this soon!!
9/22/10 5:23 PM
Tearsa said...
SERIOUSLY fabulous!
9/22/10 5:44 PM
snuzal said...
Thank you so much ladies, it's good to hear from an outsiders point of view that it looks ok, I can only see all the bad bits of myself lol. As for the shoes, there's a bit of a story behind them. Go to this link on my blog to see what they were like originally http://snuzalsews.blogspot.com/2010/08/imelda-eat-your-heart-out.html
9/22/10 7:08 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Great job and excellent choice of style. You look beautiful in that dress!
9/22/10 10:14 PM
Schnauzer said...
FABULOUS!
9/23/10 0:13 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Just smashing! Perfect fabric, perfect design, perfect fitting, and you look perfectly chic and beautiful. Excellent review, too, and I love your photo vignette at the conclusion. Lovely, Lily
9/23/10 0:44 AM
Karendee said...
I really enjoyed all the pictures showcasing variations of your lovely dress. This is quite an accomplishment for a first time dress sewist. Congratulations on a job well done.
9/23/10 1:23 PM
Kathy in NM said...
What a great LBD! I really like the neckline also. You did a great job fitting the dress, and learning how to put in the invisible zip with lining! This looks great on you! I like your hair style too. Ok, and the shoes - it wasn't til I read the end of your post that I realized you embellished them! Too cool!
9/23/10 3:02 PM
addicted2fabric said...
Wow! Fantastic work, you have every right to be very proud. Its turned out beautifully. I agree with everyone else, the neckline is particularly gorgeous the the whole dress is very flattering on you. Great job!
9/23/10 4:45 PM
tr1c14 said...
damn, that's fine. beautiful work.
9/23/10 4:51 PM
ChristineX said...
Wow, I love this dress on you! Great work!
9/23/10 6:04 PM
sewnsewtoo said...
You look great in your beautiful new dress. Congratulations on your success.
9/23/10 7:31 PM
AuntieShel said...
Well, you LOOK utterly elegant in this dress. No wonder you love it. The fit is perfect and love the purple lining. And the shoes...fabulous!!! Wonderful all around!!
9/23/10 7:32 PM
cmarie12 said...
What an elegant dress on you! Its the perfect little black dress!
9/24/10 11:47 AM
waikikimum said...
A very glamorous dress and you look lovely. Your fit is amazing. Thanks for sharing.
9/27/10 8:33 AM
KathySews said...
Beautiful dress - also love your hair and those shoes -- wow
9/27/10 8:57 PM
morzel said...
Wonderful dress! Looks great on you.
10/7/10 8:35 AM
mesewlot said...
WOW!~ For lack of a better word. :) This dress is awsome on you~ perfect fit, great style! You should feel gorgeous. It is truly very flattering. You did an excellent job!
10/7/10 5:53 PM
lareine said...
Oh my gosh, you look amazing! What a great job and what a great pattern and fabric choice. Well done :)
10/10/10 0:23 AM
Aroura said...
I can't believe I didn't comment yet. I love this dress on you! Fantastic LBD :)
10/14/10 2:47 AM
Scheryka said...
Very good work! Love how it came out. The neck line is so cute.
10/14/10 11:01 AM
triangles said...
you did a great job, very chic
10/14/10 4:14 PM
AnitaJJ said...
Gorgeous dress.... very pretty
10/14/10 5:47 PM
cloudyhn said...
Love it. You did great job . It's beautiful
10/14/10 8:18 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I LOVE the cardi look. The dress fits and flatters superbly. I hope you get lots of use from this wonderful garment. The shoes are adorable as well.
10/15/10 6:57 PM
snuzal said...
Wow - thank you all so much for the comments. Sherril - I hope I get lots of use from it too, as it is, I haven't worn it yet. I'm considering throwing it on just to go to the doctors this morning haha!
10/17/10 3:35 PM
AnneM said...
Wow, you just must be thrilled! Great style, very feminine and flexible. You could even put a little cardigan over that and wear it all winter (although you won't be thinking about that for a few months being down-under). Funny how such a spectacular dress can look so boring on the hanger, but I also love your lining.
10/18/10 7:53 PM
cfholling said...
Great job. The shoulders and neckline particularly are sheer perfection. I'm guessing that you could easily adapt the pattern to have a swirly skirt that might be more daytime-ish or just for the variety of it. Love the shoes, too!
10/19/10 12:43 PM
iSewQuiltArt said...
This dress is flattering on you and so nicely sewn, you should feel like the cat with the bowl of cream right now!! I wish I had a LGD so nice!
10/19/10 5:56 PM
snuzal said...
Interesting thoguth cfholling - I hadn't considered that before, but it would be very easy to adapt the bottom of the pieces to be similar to my Mccalls jacket I did on another review. Would make a fabulous summer dress like that. The mind is tick tick ticking now!
10/19/10 9:24 PM
Mahler said...
What a wonderful creation you have sewn there !!!!!!!!! You look beautiful
10/20/10 1:39 PM
ElizabethDee said...
Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous! The fit is fantastic -- how utterly amazing that this is your first dress -- and the lines are so flattering. You must want to make that dress again (because I want to see it on you again, in a completely different fabric!). And thank you for all the links to the tutorials, which I will use. Enjoy wearing it!
10/21/10 10:55 AM
JuanitaVA said...
You did a great job on this dress. It was interesting to read about all of the" firsts" you encountered-- no one would ever guess that any of it was new to you. Congratulations on a job well done!
10/21/10 11:36 AM
Karin Mantefors said...
Thanks for showing me a great dress, in the magazine well hidden behing a horrible collar! Well done!
10/22/10 11:37 AM
salsera7 said...
You did a really nice job and the dress looks absolutely fabulous on you!
10/29/10 11:10 AM
manola6176 said...
You look so galmourus!!! Ahd the shoes!!!! Bravo!
5/15/11 3:21 AM
Scheri said...
Great dress. You look beautiful.
3/16/12 2:34 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Vogue Patterns 8776 Misses Cape
photo
Review by valkyrie01 on 11/23/13
Read Review

SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern
SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

10 inch Professional Shears
10 inch Professional Shears

Details
Price: $69.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Chloe Ruffle Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Chloe Ruffle Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Cutie Pie Ruffle Pants, Shorts and Capris Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Cutie Pie Ruffle Pants, Shorts and Capris Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7834 Blouse
photo
Review by yoshimi on 4/15/09
Read Review

Vogue 8950 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8950 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1614 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 1614 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us