SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 12-2009-138 (Little Black Dress)

Viewed 1211 times 
Reviewed by:snuzal
photo

 
 
About snuzalstar
NA NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 7/7/07
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 17 people
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/21/10 1:05 AM
Last Updated:9/22/10 10:11 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 27 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
60 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mango said...
Love the neckline! Very flattering.
9/21/10 1:30 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Gorgeous! Very becoming! Thanks for posting so many pics
9/21/10 1:42 AM
sewinglinda said...
absolutely gorgeous, you did a wonderful job on this, well worth the effort.
9/21/10 1:52 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Great job and fit! Love the shoes too! Thanks for the links to the tutorials.
9/21/10 5:48 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Great job and fit! Love the shoes too! Thanks for the links to the tutorials.
9/21/10 5:48 AM
Rebecca D said...
Very flattering neckline and thanks for all the helpful links to sewing tips. Definitely make this again for yourself - you look stunning in it.
9/21/10 6:27 AM
ClaireEmily said...
You look amazing! What a fabulous LBD. Your hard work really was worth it!
9/21/10 7:26 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
So gorgeous snuzal! Fabulous work and I love the shoes.
9/21/10 7:44 AM
Gelbean said...
You look fabulous! I love your LBD!
9/21/10 10:32 AM
RLL said...
You should be so proud of yourself. This looks wonderful on you. Great job!
9/21/10 10:35 AM
unfinishedprojects said...
Great LBD! It fits you perfectly and looks really smart! (Love your hair too...)
9/21/10 12:30 PM
Ruth Designs said...
You did a wonderful job and you look very nice!
9/21/10 12:47 PM
michellep74 said...
Great job! I love all of your changes, and you look smashing in this dress!
9/21/10 12:48 PM
snuzal said...
Thanks so much ladies. I really feel rather gorgeous in it. Now I just need an excuse to wear it. My first LBD, every girl needs one :o)
9/21/10 1:40 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
You look absolutely FAB snuzal, this one is a winner!! And thanks so much for the very helpful tutorials , I will really need those !
9/21/10 1:41 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
You look gorgeous! Love it!
9/21/10 4:48 PM
Sic said...
Totally gorgeous!
9/21/10 11:25 PM
Terri A said...
Just fantastic!
9/22/10 2:05 AM
Auntchelle said...
Great dress. It fits you very well and you would never guess it was the first dress you made. Well done!
9/22/10 4:53 AM
Bunsnpigs said...
This design and color is just fabulous on you! Congratulations!
9/22/10 7:42 AM
Karine said...
Beautiful dress! Kudos for such a professional job. I'm impressed with your first invisible zipper attempt in a tough situation with the lining. Thanks for the links to the tutorials.
9/22/10 7:44 AM
betty bushwacker said...
Wow! Really nice job on this. Don't you just love clothes that you know look good on you? You really shine in this one
9/22/10 8:33 AM
Obrooks770 said...
Great job! It look really nice on you.
9/22/10 10:06 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful - you look so nice in this dress and I am in love with your shoes!! Hope you get to wear this soon!!
9/22/10 5:23 PM
Tearsa said...
SERIOUSLY fabulous!
9/22/10 5:44 PM
snuzal said...
Thank you so much ladies, it's good to hear from an outsiders point of view that it looks ok, I can only see all the bad bits of myself lol. As for the shoes, there's a bit of a story behind them. Go to this link on my blog to see what they were like originally http://snuzalsews.blogspot.com/2010/08/imelda-eat-your-heart-out.html
9/22/10 7:08 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Great job and excellent choice of style. You look beautiful in that dress!
9/22/10 10:14 PM
Schnauzer said...
FABULOUS!
9/23/10 0:13 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Just smashing! Perfect fabric, perfect design, perfect fitting, and you look perfectly chic and beautiful. Excellent review, too, and I love your photo vignette at the conclusion. Lovely, Lily
9/23/10 0:44 AM
Karendee said...
I really enjoyed all the pictures showcasing variations of your lovely dress. This is quite an accomplishment for a first time dress sewist. Congratulations on a job well done.
9/23/10 1:23 PM
Kathy in NM said...
What a great LBD! I really like the neckline also. You did a great job fitting the dress, and learning how to put in the invisible zip with lining! This looks great on you! I like your hair style too. Ok, and the shoes - it wasn't til I read the end of your post that I realized you embellished them! Too cool!
9/23/10 3:02 PM
addicted2fabric said...
Wow! Fantastic work, you have every right to be very proud. Its turned out beautifully. I agree with everyone else, the neckline is particularly gorgeous the the whole dress is very flattering on you. Great job!
9/23/10 4:45 PM
tr1c14 said...
damn, that's fine. beautiful work.
9/23/10 4:51 PM
ChristineX said...
Wow, I love this dress on you! Great work!
9/23/10 6:04 PM
sewnsewtoo said...
You look great in your beautiful new dress. Congratulations on your success.
9/23/10 7:31 PM
AuntieShel said...
Well, you LOOK utterly elegant in this dress. No wonder you love it. The fit is perfect and love the purple lining. And the shoes...fabulous!!! Wonderful all around!!
9/23/10 7:32 PM
cmarie12 said...
What an elegant dress on you! Its the perfect little black dress!
9/24/10 11:47 AM
waikikimum said...
A very glamorous dress and you look lovely. Your fit is amazing. Thanks for sharing.
9/27/10 8:33 AM
KathySews said...
Beautiful dress - also love your hair and those shoes -- wow
9/27/10 8:57 PM
morzel said...
Wonderful dress! Looks great on you.
10/7/10 8:35 AM
mesewlot said...
WOW!~ For lack of a better word. :) This dress is awsome on you~ perfect fit, great style! You should feel gorgeous. It is truly very flattering. You did an excellent job!
10/7/10 5:53 PM
lareine said...
Oh my gosh, you look amazing! What a great job and what a great pattern and fabric choice. Well done :)
10/10/10 0:23 AM
Aroura said...
I can't believe I didn't comment yet. I love this dress on you! Fantastic LBD :)
10/14/10 2:47 AM
Scheryka said...
Very good work! Love how it came out. The neck line is so cute.
10/14/10 11:01 AM
triangles said...
you did a great job, very chic
10/14/10 4:14 PM
AnitaJJ said...
Gorgeous dress.... very pretty
10/14/10 5:47 PM
cloudyhn said...
Love it. You did great job . It's beautiful
10/14/10 8:18 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I LOVE the cardi look. The dress fits and flatters superbly. I hope you get lots of use from this wonderful garment. The shoes are adorable as well.
10/15/10 6:57 PM
snuzal said...
Wow - thank you all so much for the comments. Sherril - I hope I get lots of use from it too, as it is, I haven't worn it yet. I'm considering throwing it on just to go to the doctors this morning haha!
10/17/10 3:35 PM
AnneM said...
Wow, you just must be thrilled! Great style, very feminine and flexible. You could even put a little cardigan over that and wear it all winter (although you won't be thinking about that for a few months being down-under). Funny how such a spectacular dress can look so boring on the hanger, but I also love your lining.
10/18/10 7:53 PM
cfholling said...
Great job. The shoulders and neckline particularly are sheer perfection. I'm guessing that you could easily adapt the pattern to have a swirly skirt that might be more daytime-ish or just for the variety of it. Love the shoes, too!
10/19/10 12:43 PM
iSewQuiltArt said...
This dress is flattering on you and so nicely sewn, you should feel like the cat with the bowl of cream right now!! I wish I had a LGD so nice!
10/19/10 5:56 PM
snuzal said...
Interesting thoguth cfholling - I hadn't considered that before, but it would be very easy to adapt the bottom of the pieces to be similar to my Mccalls jacket I did on another review. Would make a fabulous summer dress like that. The mind is tick tick ticking now!
10/19/10 9:24 PM
Mahler said...
What a wonderful creation you have sewn there !!!!!!!!! You look beautiful
10/20/10 1:39 PM
ElizabethDee said...
Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous! The fit is fantastic -- how utterly amazing that this is your first dress -- and the lines are so flattering. You must want to make that dress again (because I want to see it on you again, in a completely different fabric!). And thank you for all the links to the tutorials, which I will use. Enjoy wearing it!
10/21/10 10:55 AM
JuanitaVA said...
You did a great job on this dress. It was interesting to read about all of the" firsts" you encountered-- no one would ever guess that any of it was new to you. Congratulations on a job well done!
10/21/10 11:36 AM
Karin Mantefors said...
Thanks for showing me a great dress, in the magazine well hidden behing a horrible collar! Well done!
10/22/10 11:37 AM
salsera7 said...
You did a really nice job and the dress looks absolutely fabulous on you!
10/29/10 11:10 AM
manola6176 said...
You look so galmourus!!! Ahd the shoes!!!! Bravo!
5/15/11 3:21 AM
Scheri said...
Great dress. You look beautiful.
3/16/12 2:34 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Vogue Patterns V8151

photo
by: Louweezy23

Review
The Essential Tote

The Essential Tote

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Buy Now
Simplicity vintage 4101

photo
by: oldfashion...

Review