SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5107 (Plus sized separates)

3 more reviews
Viewed 243 times 
Reviewed by:eclair
photo

 
 
About eclair
Member since: 7/18/07
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 3
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/21/10 7:29 AM
Last Updated:9/21/10 8:11 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
I love the fabric color and the simple lines of the pants. Are you sure you got the size correct? I think you are smaller than an 18/20. Good job on your successful foray into commercial patterns.
9/21/10 10:57 AM
eclair said...
Thank you! I went by my measurements but I think I might have to get someone else to measure me in case I didn't do it right or straight. Or maybe I didn't use the whole seam allowance? I'll have to dig out the pattern envelope and do a post mortem I think. They are a bit swamping!
9/21/10 11:26 AM
carolynw said...
I am with Marec - I think the pants look good but believe you are using a size that's too large for you. I also have a tummy and now with maturity (aha) have a flatter bum. If you look at Pants for Real People or Sandra B's Fast Fit or her Power Sewing the advise is to make pants in a size that corresponds to your hip - for me that's a 16 with adjustments for a larger waist. With elastic waist that's hardly ever a problem - just my 10c worth. Good review - thanks
9/21/10 1:49 PM
MNBarb said...
I had this same luck when returning to sewing last spring. I now take out that first pair of pants and see that both you and I could fit in them together. I love the nappy bum comment, it's so true. I've since taken about 4 inches from that pair of pants and have made many more, in smaller sizes, that fit very well. Don't give up. This will be a great pattern once you pare it down a bit.
9/21/10 8:07 PM
Annette1 said...
Great pants AND review. You look every bit as elegant as the pattern model, too. :o)
9/22/10 10:42 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Salme Sewing Patterns 107

photo
by: froggiegir...

Review
SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

Buy Now
Self Drafted Pattern No Pattern Used

photo
by: Holmar

Review