SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 3665 (Infant layette)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1422 times 
Reviewed by:TanyaMT
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About TanyaMTstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/28/04
Reviews written: 250
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 241
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/3/04 1:39 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Baby clothes    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
New2Oki said...
I had the same problem a few years ago with a McCall's pattern. (Before I joined PR, of course.) I made an infant sleeper, and my son was 3 years old before he could wear it! Good thing you've got a toddler who can reap the rewards of 'unusual' sizing. Great review; thanks!
6/3/04 3:11 AM
Elona said...
I also have found that McCall's infant patterns run huuuuge! And no matter how cute the designs are (and they are, these days), the construction techniques will be lumpy and weird. Kwik Sew is much, much better, but even so, what you really need to know is the height (length) of the baby for whom you are sewing, and his chest or tummy girth.
6/3/04 11:24 AM
TanyaMT said...
Unfortunately, this time we don't have the length. I agree it is a better measure. These were to be shower gifts though and the baby is due in July. At least I have time to make something else. LOL. I think I will get Kwik Sew or use the New Conceptions one I already made that came out well.
6/3/04 12:21 PM
Speech girl said...
I have found that all newborn patterns from the major pattern companies run too large. I had the same experience with a McCall s cap fitting my almost 3 year old when I was making it for soon to be born sister.
6/3/04 1:49 PM
debbie.w said...
I love the fabric and it looks so cute -- sorry it didn't work for your son.
6/4/04 9:42 AM
JDpenelope said...
A word to the wise! Hoping for better results from KS, but I believe I heard that KS baby patterns also run a little large!
6/8/04 6:27 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Serendipity Studio 119: Madeline Maxi Dress

photo
by: Saint Nolt...

Review
Japanese Pattern Books Japanese Pattern Books

photo
by: MariannaSe...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

Buy Now